Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2016
Good movie overrated steelbook
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'THE REBELS CONTINUE TO BE PURSUED BY THE DARK-SIDE',
My quest to watch the saga in the order that 'George Lucas' intended after making the prequels continues.....
With just the one left to watch prior to the Blu-Ray / DVD release of 'The Force Awakens' i have found this to be both an
exciting and enjoyable journey, i can recommend giving it a go if you've not already done so.
To the film - 'The Empire Strikes Back'
MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU
Despite having lost the 'Death-Star' the Empire continue their rule and indeed their pursuit of the Rebel-Forces led by
'Princess Leia' (Carrie Fisher) and assisted by 'Luke Skywalker' (Mark Hamill) and 'Harns Solo' (Harrison Ford)
The rebels have set up base on a frozen wasteland within the 'Hoth' system but will have to evacuate as the dark-lord
'Darth Vader' (David Prowse) and his forces bear own upon them.
'Darth Vader' and the 'Emperor'(voiced by Clive Revill) know they must either dispose of 'Luke' or have him join them on the
Dark-Side before his power becomes a threat to them.
'Luke' has been told by 'Ben 'Obi-Wan' Kenobi' (Alec Guinness) to seek out 'Jedi' Grand-Master 'Yoda' (voiced by Frank Oz)
who now lives in exile on 'Dogabah' in a Hut, 'Luke' needs to complete his training to become a Jedi-Knight.
Meanwhile 'Darth' pursues 'Han Solo's' craft with 'Leia' 'Chewbacca' (Peter Mayhew) and 'C-3PO' (voiced by Anthony Daniels)
as they try to escape and find refuge to repair damage to the craft.
However they walk into a trap, 'Luke' who's training with 'Yoda' goes well senses his friends are in danger, he'll try to save them despite
'Yoda' and the spirit of 'Obi-Wan Kenobi' telling him he's not yet ready, he must try.....
'Luke' in facing 'Darth Vader' will learn a truth he does not want to hear....

Another action packed journey in the Star Wars saga that will engage your attention with it's battle and fight sequences and it's
usual measure of humour.
Given the film is some 35 years old now, the special-effects were way ahead of there time....
The Blu-ray upgrade is Good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
Star Wars th greatest series In history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
The best film of the trilogy in my view. Our characters are damaged, frightened and at their most vulnerable. In contrast to their exploits in the last one, here our heros are running and just trying to survive, at the end they just about managed it, and this feels like the greatest victory possible. Luke doesn't jump into a turret and start blasting tie fighter like the first film, at several points he's metaphorically and literally hanging on for dear life. The conflict is not just between the Vader and our heros, but also internal conflict as well as conflict between our heros.

The role of Darth Vader is really beefed up in this one, when he last saw him he was in a small vulnerable tie fighter and was lucky to survive the destruction of the Death Star. In this new film we first meet him on the bridge of the largest space ship we've yet seen, surrounded by the whole imperial fleet as John William's score booms out. The rebels have no choice, flee and hide or be destroyed, they cannot defeat the armada of battleships heading for their base.

The use of colour and lighting is superb in this film and really helps to emphasize the darker tone. The murky misty conditions on Yoda's planet underline the mystery surrounding Yoda, as the smoke filed conditions of Luke's first fight with Vader surround Vader too in mystery, the smoke later clears though as Vader's true identity is revealed . The bright interior of Cloud City in the day offers a sense of hope and safety to our heros only for them to end up back in the shadows once they're betrayed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
I brought these on the recommendation of another reviewer, saying that these steel book versions were the original, unaltered cut of the movies. So after buying them for my husband for a gift and excitedly telling him that they are the originals, imagine my surprise when we started watching A New Hope to see CGI additions! I shouldn't have taken the word of another reviewer but it doesn't actually specify on the product page which version it is. I think they're all the 1997 additions.
So unless you desperately want the steel book, I'd get the 6 movie pack that comes with lots of extras for a lot less money than buying all these steel books separately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2017
Great watch, only floor is when your internet goes down then you can't access and the company I'm with don't send any one out quickly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
Packaging/Case:
This product (along with the other 5, which I have also) is a beautiful steelbook. the 'STAR WARS' is embossed and the rest of the case has a gloss finish. The spines match up perfectly and look uniform on any shelf. overall a very nice, well made set. Finally these products come packaged in a paper/card with information (not a slip cover).

Interior and Disc:
There is Disc art on each disc, matching the cover. Their is magnificent artowork on the interior of each case, in 'Empire Strikes Back' the battle of Hoth is featured. no manuals or paperwork of any kind.

Contents:
Each movie comes with only 1 disc. the disc features commentary and the movie only.

Overview:
Thke movies themselves look great on blu ray, I will not go into detail here, as they can be found all over the internet.

I can see this set being appealing to only 2 types of people. Individuals who have not picked up the 'Star Wars: The Complete Saga' (Like myself) or collectors who would like these stunning steelbooks for their star wars collections.

For a casual buyer who loves Star Wars or blu ray, as good as this set is the price is very steep for the same movies in different packaging, particularley if you own the blu rays already. For this reason I can't give 5 stars.

Ps: these are the digitally enhanced versions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2017
A Fantastic Film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)