Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£18.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2006
To start with the graphics are incredible!!! The ghosting that Liberty City Stories suffered with has (almost) completely gone and the sunshine is blinding. It goes right down the details of the engines. It looks better than ANY GTA before it, mainly due to the very high quality screen. The only draw back with the graphics (and indeed the game) is the pop up but even this is better (you only notice it when you crash into a fence) and on the whole it's a VERY minor problem...and after all it is a PSP ;)

But really you shouldn't be driving into a fence because of the best improvement...the controls, I myself use the "Control Setup 2", which allows for easier handbrake turns and looking left and right. The difference in class is clear when you're speeding down the road, weaving in and out of traffic like Jason Bourne! You couldn't do that in "Liberty City Stories" without clipping at leased one car. It's all down to the PSP's analog stick, which is notorious for being touchy but here Rockstar have managed to make the most of it.

Close Combat is...well, it's good, the triangle button is used to grab your victim and holding him there until he's "done"! Grabbing from behind and your victim is helpless! ;)

The targeting system picks out anyone shooting you, even when someone is standing in front of you. Which is what everyone wants.

The sound is as good as ever. When you shoot a gun you can hear the shot echo around the buildings, incredible!!! The cars roar and the 80s music is great.

The game is amazing, with the police crashing around like nutters, passers by talking rubbish and people running away from you...or attacking you! The best part of the game is the new mode "Empire Building", which is the way forward for this game. By triggering an attack on a rival business (blowing up a car outside), the whole area becomes full of "business" men...gang men, once you've dealt with them, you enter the business and fight off the last of the gang members. Once in the building you (and this is the fun part :)) smash the place to bits until there's nothing left of any worth (I can't wait 'til you can level the building :D), the site is now yours to do want you want with (And how big you want it, right up to "High Roller"). Build a "Protection Racket", "Loan Shark", "Prostitution", "Drugs", "Smuggling"...you get the idea. Each section has their own set of missions, like smashing up a shop for protection money. Unsurprisingly other gangs don't like this and soon you can't move without The Bikers hunting you down!!! Sometimes they don't hunt you down because they're round your place doing exactly what you did...smashing the place up!!! So you have to fight back, by recruiting gang member, just like in San Andreas...but better because you're fighting for something, not just territory! You can stumble on a war between other gangs, which you don't want when you're on your own!

Once you get enough money to build on your sites, the money rolls in and so do the gangs. Bottom line, you could play it like this forever without ever playing the story. Play the story though, the mission where you first met Lance is reason enough :)

Here are somethings I love, when you get "Busted" or "Wasted" you have the option to buy back your weapons, great :) When you're swimming there's a gauge, if the gauge hits zero you're a goner, so swim fast :D The game seems to run on very little power, which is incredible, I played for 4 hours and had 33% left on my battery!!! (this of course depends on screen brightness, volume, temperature and whether you charged your battery fully from the start, which alot didn't!) and my favourite thing, this left me opened mouthed, I had no guns and had no health left...so I stole a bike from the Bikers and drove it into the sea, triggering a war, I was trapped so I jumped into the sea. One of the Bikers saw me...and followed me!!! I don't want to find out if the army can swim! :D

This is definitely the best game in the series but I don't know how this would translate to the PS2 because the graphics might suffer on a normal TV...but I'm sure I could over look that, if they added an online mode. It would sure save my hands :D

If you're a person that doesn't like violence or under 18 then fair enough but for others YOU MUST HAVE THIS GAME!!! :)
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2006
Vice City is one of the best PSP games by far. The gameplay is very similar to San Andreas. The ability to swim, fly planes, and do loads of mini - games. The game has very good missions although I am only on the first part of the second island.

The ability to control your own company is good. It is a good way to earn money. Exept the downside, it gets frequently bombed...

The game is just like San Andreas for the PSP. Making Vice City Stories one of the best Rockstar Games to date

*****
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2006
I have been a great fan of all of the GTA titles, and owning a psp console, I am hoping that this is the game we have all been expecting. Many new features since LCS:

There will be 70 storyline missions in the game

The game takes place in 1984 - two years before GTA: Vice City

Victor and Lance have grown up poor and you start off in a trailer park - a new section in Vice City made for VCS

Victor is a 28 year-old US Marine and is said to be in peak physical condition

[...] confirms that Ving Rhames will be voicing Victor Vance.

Due to mobile phones not being a common thing in 1984, Victor will be making use of a pager to receive text messages (This feature was also in GTA III)

Lance Vance, Victor's Brother, is a ''drug addicted wreck''

Phil Cassidy has been seen in the Vice City Stories load up titles

Vice City Stories will feature more characters, mostly being new to the series

The animations are more life-like and are "a step-up from previous titles in the series"

New animations which give both the lead characters and pedestrians a whole new degree of humanity

Time-contextual NPC behaviour is now included, which indicates major events, like hurricanes, may be part of the storyline

A multiplayer feature similar to the PSP version of LCS is in the game

There are said to be some ''innovations'' in the multiplayer mode.

VCS is said to be "much, much bigger than Vice City"

There are new or altered locations and buildings

Some landmarks are half-built or yet to be refurbished to their state circa 1986

Vice City will have a new surrounding area

There are more poor neighborhoods (slums) in the game

The Magazine confirmed that Leaf Links will be in the game

The game will feature golf caddies, which further suggests that the Leaf Links golf course has not been removed from Vice City

There are all new vehicles and weapons

You can fly helicopters and the sea plane again

Helicopter missions would be a common thing in the later part of the game

A Hermes with flames has been seen, indicating that the Cuban gang may return.

Bikes handle better than before

Players can now take to the waters of Vice City with jet skis

You can swim in the game

The silenced pistol returns

Silenced SMGs have been seen

A new type of rocket launcher

New weather effects that could include hurricanes

The water of VCS is now much more realistic, behaving more like a real ocean with upgraded tide and current handling

The water physics have been overhauled and handle very differently than land physics

Radio stations from Vice City make a return

Rockstar Custom Tracks will be reappearing, allowing you to play your own music once again as a radio station

More interiors than its predecessors

There is also no more seamless exterior-to-interior gameplay as seen in LCS (there will be a slight loading time)

A new addition in Vice City is a Ferris Wheel, which you can ride in first-person view

Trip skips make a return (If you die or get busted a taxi will take you back to the location where you received the mission from)

Binoculars are in the game

Draw distance has been improved and is said to be better than the original Vice City

Far richer color palette that brings sunsets to all new levels of beauty, and realism

Pop-up of map models is now minimal

The version of the game that they saw showed pop-ups and fade-ins, but Rockstar Games assured this will be solved in the final version.

Increased density of pedestrians, cars and objects

Explosions not only consist of a circle of fire, but also of hissing fire jets and individual parts flying around.

Reduction in clumping (where groups of the same people appear together) for pedestrians and vehicles

Controls are the same as Liberty City Stories.

The developers promise a more intelligent targeting system, which avoids you from shooting at civilians during large enemy engagements.

I personally cannot wait for this game, and have already preordered a copy, like most psp owners! There are many rumours circulating, but none others than those that have been mentioned in other reviews. Just a month and a bit left........
0Comment| 97 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2006
I'm a big fan of GTA and not only was GTA: Vice City the greatest in the series but it was also one of my favourite games of all time.

Then came along Vice City Stories. Put simply, it's a superb achievement and a fantastic game. How on earth can a PSP title look better then its PS2 counterpart? Well, whatever the reason, it is true. Vice City is now blur free, sharp and even pulls of a fantastic draw distance on the tiny machine. The game is a technical masterpiece, with short loading times in between each island and I could even turn my PSP onto sleep mode and come back to were I was exactly with less than a second load. The game plays just like any GTA and I had no problem adjusting to the PSP controls. The soundtrack is brilliant - another GTA triumph with some superb music with various genres and VCPR to supply the humour!

Why four stars? It would have grabbed all five except for the niggling technical faults (sometimes objects can appear in front of you, especially at speed) and general lack of anything that is really that new to GTA as a series.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2008
I was actually really looking forward to playing this game having enjoyed the original Vice City immensely but I found it a bit of a let down myself. This game isn't really suited to the psp because it's not the type of game that you can just pick up and play on the bus due to some overlong and extremely hard missions, I did complete the game but I found it much more frustrating than any of the other GTA games and the Empire building is very repetitive and also get's very annoying after a while, if you're on your way to start a mission and one of your empire's comes under attack then you have to stop everything you were doing to go defend it and then once it's defended and you resume what you were doing another Empire'll come under attack, I ended up doing this 5 or 6 times once on my way to a mission, once i'd finally done I then had to go back to top up my weapons and armour and save my game just so I could get back into actually doing a mission, I found this more annoying than fun and it ruined the game for me, the Territories in San Andreas were nowhere near this annoying although they did have their moments.
Overall I think if they'd got rid of the Empire building rubbish and added more side missions instead then this game would've recieved a higher score from me, but as it is I think Liberty City stories was much better due to it's shorter main story missions and better side missions.
But hey ... that's just my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2007
if you have a psp you must have this game, yeah there are some slight glitches involving objects appearing, and garages not saving your cars, oh and the main character is a bit of a pussy... but come'awn people vice city in the palms of your hands!!! the missions are short and sweet making it ideal for a train commute or car journey. and the main thing i love about this game? THE MULTIPLAYER! its absoloutly awesome!! for those of you who dont like this game.. try the multiplayer.. the game modes include - race to the hunter (helecopter) and then stalk down the other players; kill the marked man (everyone except this person is visible on the map); and just plain racing among others. Its just brilliant to be playing muliplayer GTA, which apart from san andreas's crappy 2 player, is a first!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
Brilliant PSP game with multiple layers enjoyed by all players. There is simulated violence on it hence the 18 rating, which is a shame because the car scenes and challenges are brilliant for younger players too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2007
my sister recently bought a PSP and the game itself and when she let me have a go i was addicted which has prompted me to save up hard and get my own PSP and the game itself.

Back to the game its graphics are awesome depsite being contained in a small hand held system somthing which many critics may eat their own words since they feel these hand held devices will never hold their own against the big consoles that are more advanced and faster i remember having the sega Game Gear when i was eight as its draw back was it ran out of battery juice in a short space of time so it can only be played with the lead.

anyway this game gets 5/5 and is awesome
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2006
The first thing I did as soon as I popped this game into the UMD holder for the first time was to just explore. And explore I did. Although the money you spend on this game wont go to the map designers, as it's almost exactly the same as Vice City but with a few un-finished buildings and the ability to swim on the water, it's still the best free-roam game on PSP.

You now can fly helicopters and seaplanes, ride amphibious transport and jet-ski's, go practice golf at the driving range, enter lots of extra shops, run your own buisnesses, do life guarding missions and even play huge multiplayer battles against your mates. All this makes for great gameplay and will last you for hours playing the main 70+ storyline missions, ambulance missions, air rescue, police and fire engine missions.

But, I only gave it a 4 star overall rating because of a couple of things. First of all, the amount of glitches in the game is appauling. The game will sometime just freeze on you without warning, leaving you to switch off your PSP and lose all unsaved data. And also, the music on the radio station will sometimes stop and skip for no reason, and the garages in the game WONT save your cars watsoever. Place your car in the garage, go and save, come back to the garage and the car is gone. But the main downfall is the storyline itself. This isn't a problem for someone who has never played the origional Vice City on PS2 and who is just looking for a great free-roam game, but for the true GTA gamers it will get on your back. Although there are some great surprises like the introduction of Phil Collins to the main missions, others aren't there. Tommy Vercetti doesn't even get a mention and Ken Rosenbourg has also made himself scarse, along with 'Big' Mitch Baker. The main missions also don't really make sense. You suddenly just meet other people with no real reason behind it and start to do missions for them at their place.

But overall, this is the PSP's best game without a doubt. Yes, there are better one's coming, but, for now at least, this one is the only game you'll need for your PSP.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
Just wanted to share some opinions having actually played the game today.

Firstly, if you've played Liberty City Stories, you'll be right at home with the controls. In fact, much of the gameplay remains unchanged from the last PSP incarnation (as have the load times), but this probably won't surprise anyone - there's no point changing what's not broken.

Anything that has changed has generally improved. The graphics are noticeably better, and the draw distance is greater than before, even when racing down the streets at full speed in a Comet. And even with the enhancements, the framerate is largely more stable and smooth than in the last game. Vice City Stories is definitely one of the most technically impressive games on the PSP to date.

The only thing I don't like so far is the story. I didn't do that many missions on my quick play through, but I did find it odd that this game's main man (Vic Vance, brother of Lance Vance) was so adamant about avoiding any wrong doing in the FMVs, but was still willing to run drugs, guns and other such contraband for the random, unscrupulous characters he ran into. It's hardly a deal breaker, but I've come to expect a more coherent storyline from GTA games. NPCs are just as stylised and exuberant as ever though.

Aside from that, VCS is a brilliant game that exceeded almost all of my expectations. Highly recommended.

(I didn't get to try the multiplayer, but there are plenty of positive reports on this feature, so I trust it's as good as it was in VCS).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)