Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2017
Superb value for money cd real bargain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
another brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
A good addition to my collection - love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
5 star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Good value and good mix of names and the more obscure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
excellent will order again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2016
Taking a slight deviation from it's sister volume (Stompers, Floaters and Floorshakers), this compilation of Northern Soul concentrates more on deeper cuts, restricting itself somewhat on acknowledged classics of the genre, which I would classify as:

Carstairs - It Really Hurts Me Girl
Father’s Angels - Bok to Bach
The Javells - Goodbye (Nothing To Say)
Lorraine Silver - Lost Summer Love
The Showstoppers - Ain't Nothing But A Houseparty

There are also covers of famous Northern soul hits by other artists, with Gil Scott-Heron's The Bottle tackled by Brother To Brother; Little Anthony & the Imperials Gonna Fix You Good covered by UK Blue-eyed soul ensemble The Alan Bown Set; and Cindy Scott's I Love You Baby here sung by Joya Landis.

However that gives you a deeper look into a genre that purportedly contains 25,000 recordings. And that's what makes this compilation worthwhile. Rather than tracks commonly found on a multitude of readily available releases here you find some deeper catalogue tracks. Blue-eyed soul and UK recordings pop up from artists such as Petula Clark, Jackie Trent and The Mike Cotton Sound. The 1970's Modern Soul updating is more generously represented than on the sister compilation. But it's all good to these ears and has deepened my appreciation of how wide and inclusive Northern Soul can be. Buy it if you are looking for deeper catalogue stuff and have listening tastes wider than the genres Mid-60's Motown style. However if you are a purist looking just for that original mid-60's driving beat ersatz Motown sound you may find quite a number of tracks here to skip. Nevertheless at just £4 for 40 tracks I'd class this as a bargain.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
poor it was up for sale as a 2cd set when it arived it was only 1cd so in sted of 40music tracks there were only 20 sent back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
I have a lot of Northern Soul compilation CDs in my collection. I am very pleased with this one as it is a great "listen" with no what I would call "wasted" tracks. If someone was a complete newcomer and they wanted their very first Northern Soul compilation they would perhaps be better with another CD such as Move on Up or Classic Northern Soul in order to get the really well known floor fillers such as Judy Street, Tobi Legend, Frank Wilson and so on. Having said that, they wouldn't be disappointed with this one. There are some well known floor fillers such as Frankie Crocker's Ton of Dynamite and The Carstairs' It Really Hurts Me Girl. There are some really good home grown tracks that are less often found on compilations such as Lorraine Silver's Lost Summer Love, Petula Clark's You're The One and Helen Shapiro's Take Me For A While. There is also a version of If This Is Love (I'd Rather Be Lonely) by Gino Washington rather than the arguably more familiar versions by Eddie Spencer or The Precisions. I can highly recommend this CD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
There is a glut of cheaply-priced, if not particularly attractive-looking, compilations available celebrating the Northern Soul movement. Therefore, it isn’t surprising to find that there is often overlap in the selection of material. This double CD digipak shares over 25 of its 40 tracks with Keeping the Faith - 30 Stomping Northern Soul Classics. That isn’t a particularly big issue when you have songs of the calibre of Father’s Angels' ’Bok To Bach’, Kim D’s 'The Real Thing’, Lorraine Ellison’s ‘Lost Summer Love’, and The Playthings’ ‘Stop What You’re Doing’.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)