Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
Keep On Crinting - The Liberty/UA Years Anthology
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£23.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 April 2008
I would recommend this unreservedly to anyone who is even remotely curious about Wales' finest, and indeed to anyone who has surrendered or consigned to the attic their original hash scorched LP's.

This ridiculously good value 2CD artefact is remastered and researched to the highest standards by EMI, and covers the band's glory years in full. The track selection is tremendous and it's sprinkled with rarities for the diehards too.

Special mention must be made of their finest hour `Spunk Rock', available in full here in it's original 20 odd minute `Greasy Truckers' glory (it was poorly remixed for the recent re-issue, for reasons best known to themselves the person responsible didn't think both guitars should be equal or that the powerhouse snare of Terry Williams should be comfortably audible) anyway I digress....

This compilation serves up highlights from best known albums such as `Be Good To Yourself' and `Rhinos, Winos and Lunatics' as well as live selections where they really always shone brightest and best.

For some this could conceivably be all anyone needs of The Man Band, but for those totally hooked on their curious and totally original blend of 13 bar boogie, there is an ongoing and stunning selection of re-issues by Esoteric Records to sink your teeth into as well. Happy days !
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
Great collection, all the tracks you need ( minus a couple due to each CD being about 70 mins + long) without buying all the albums, fantastic sound quality, remastered and with a great booklet, well recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
This is a great overview of a great rock band. West coast (California via Wales) rock, good songs & extended instrumental guitar & keyboards. This is as I remember them & a bargain at the price. It's probably all the Man I will need, but then again perhaps not, who knows
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
A good overview of some classic days in Man's career. Not for the casual visitor to Mandom or that useful for the serious fan who will have all of the albums which time has removed from my collection but well worth it as a record of some great days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
I hadn't heard Man in many a year, until last w'end when I got talking to a friend's partner who's a total hardcore Man-fan - turns out they're still gigging, but now its mostly their sons playing (which I rather liked). As a lad I saw Man gradually climb from support act to big names in their own right (hailed as "Britain's [not Wales'?!] Allman Brothers" in a '73 Melody Maker coverstory). Starting off as West Coast Wannabes in the vein of Quicksilver, Man were a great alternative to the increasingly dominant Heavy Rock sound of the UK scene. Man were indeed 1 of the best live acts of the time. I saw them untold times, culminating in the Roundhouse Cipollina gig (see Maximum Darkness). Long hair, denim jackets,greatcoats, flares & "plimsoles" thick hash fug - you were definitely at a Man gig... Always used to like their Glasto '72 side + Rhinos, Winos & Be Good sets hugely.

Alas, sometimes the past is best left undisturbed. I've given this 3 stars for being music I once loved (& there's clearly still big love for Man out there, judging by the reviews of their other albums). But, tbh, "Keep on Crinting" demonstrates just why Man are the classic example of a group blown out of the water by the advent of punk & a changing musical/social climate. Of course Man have their moments - "Spunk Rock", "C'mon" - but too often promising trax are let down by weak vocals ("Silks'n'satins" dire CSN attempt, for example) or incredibly dated widdly synth breaks (too many offences to mention). There are times that Man soar - but just as often the music reverts, autopilot-style, to stodgy Brit Blooze or pub rock. Sensing the changing climate, Man did manage to get their songs a bit shorter by the time of Slow Motion, but it was already too late. Man were always abt great live shows, where vocals/lyrics were a chore to be got thru a.s.a.p. so the real work of extended stoner guitar jamming could take over. I'm sorry to be so negative abt music I used to love. There's nothing wrong with the album, as such: it does what it says on the label. And good luck if you are still going, guys...
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Great band, great album, great memories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
Another great compilation of Man music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
fantastic band and fantastiv cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
BRILLIANT ALBUM BY A EXCELLENT ROCK BAND OF THE SEVENTIES THERE MUSIC WILL LIVE ON FOR YEARS TO COME AND GO
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse