Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
60
3.9 out of 5 stars
How Do You Want Me - Series 1 & 2 [DVD] [1998]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 October 2017
Some vintage Dylan , still hugely enjoyable . Sadly a third series was not to be .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
great series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Enjoyable, but under Doc Martin standards. Takes a while (3 episodes) to get into the characters. Worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 January 2011
I watched this when it first came out and wondered whether it would stand the test of time. It does indeed. Dylan Moran is superb and the writing is very finely balanced. This is not one for those who like belly laughs and slapstick but, like Simon Nye's 'Men Behaving Badly' there is real truth and pathos beneath the surface. It does feed on city dwellers fear and contempt for the country, but since I share those prejudices I just love this series.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
I bought this for the cast line up but must admit that after the first episode I wasn't thrilled. However, I stuck with it, mainly because I associate Emma Chambers, Charlotte Coleman and Dylan Moran with innovative, quirky comedy and was sure there was more to it than first meets the eye; I was right! I have now reached the end of the second dvd (series 2) and am feeling a little woeful that there can never be a third because Charlotte Coleman is no longer with us; I would love to find out how things go from here. The episode with the horse riding lesson (Derek and Helen)is one I will revisit time and again whenever I need a chuckle!!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2009
How Do You Want Me was a hidden gem and masterpiece from the tail end of the 90s and early 00s.

I was very fortunate to catch it first time round, though it seemed I was in a minority. As such it swiftly became one of those programmes you loved not only because it was very well made and dry and witty but because it was yours and yours alone!

Essentially then, I feel it's either a programme you'll love or you simply cannot take to.

Basically the premise is a shy, bumbling and awkward city boy moves to the country where his new wife was brought up to find he has married into a dominant, prestigious respected and dysfunctional family that rules the village and, in the father's case, despises him.

Think Straw Dogs with laughs.

But these are subtle laughs and moments of sheer joy around some eerie unsettling silence which meets our hero.

Dylan Moran shines as Ian, the fish out of water, whilst the late Charlotte Coleman, who tragically died not long after series 2 finished, is at her kooky and wise best as his wife Lisa.

Frank Finlay steals virtually every episode he appears in as Lisa's father, a man who, it seems, will stop at nothing to remove Ian from his family. Look out for the episode where he stares out his misbehaving overgrown child of a son, played by Peter Serafanowicz, it is a lesson in underplaying malevolance!

This is intelligent comedy that treats its veiwers like adults. There is no canned laughter, no obviously comedic situations and no playing knowingly to any audience as it is lovingly shot on film and superbly directed by John Henderson, with each shot resembling the most beautiful photograph, the kind that hopeless 'pro' photographer Ian could only dream of!
22 Comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2006
Simon Nye, for all his fame, has never written anything quite as crisp, understated and character driven as this woefully little seen masterpiece. Though it is brooding, sarcastic yet basicly panic stricken Dylan Moran that dominates (with a persona he took to the surreal extreme in Black Books), his performance is centred by the beguiling normality of Charlotte Coleman. Also brilliant are Peter 'Darth Maul / Look Around You' Serafinowicz as Charlotte's sadistic brother, and Frank Finlay as her venomous father.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
How Do You Want Me? took me by surprise. I'm going to be honest in admitting I bought it because it had Dylan Moran in it and when I read the summary on imdb I was beginning to think I'd made a huge mistake; none of Dylan's humour seemed like it could be evident.
I'd like to say that I well and truly stand corrected.

The bleakness and bitterness is one of the most prominant features of the teleshow, but combine Mr Moran's usual, bitter schtick with an adorable, sweet affectionateness and you have How Do You Want Me?.

With Charlotte Coleman playing Lisa, a delightfully every-day woman, newly-wedded to Ian Lyons, portrayed by Dylan Moran, a slightly cynical, city-loving, reserved ex-comedy club owner. After an "uncouth" wedding, they move back to the isolated, close-knit village which Lisa grew up in and Ian is thrown headfirst into the country- a place where everybody knows everyone and nobody has a sense of humour. That is providing you don't include Lisa's neanderthal-ish brother and his elaborate "practical jokes". Add to this, a well-respected father-in-law, who despises everything about Ian and is determined to drive him out of the village and away from his daughter, an ever-infatuated, devoted ex of Lisa's and Ian's failing photography business and you'll have the most heartwarming, bleak comedy you'll ever see.

Hilarious. Emotional. And WITHOUT A LAUGH-TRACK! The comedy seems to come naturally ad believably to this programme. A definite must see- not just for fans od Dylan Moran, but for everyone.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 August 2008
This isn't the sit-com you'd expect it to be when you see Dylan Moran, Mark Heap and Peter Serafinowicz in the cast- don't expect anything like "Black Books" or "Spaced".

This is a very subtle character comedy set in a rural English village. It's very warm and believable but it isn't surreal or laugh-out-loud humour. In that way it reminded me of the 80s "Beiderbeck Affair" series.

Dylan Moran is excellent, with flashes of his "Black Books" character beginning to emerge but with a sincere acting talent.

Warm and touching but don't expect your sides to split.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
I purchased this DVD primarily out of my respect and admiration for the cast. I have to admit, after watching a few episodes on Youtube and reading some of these reviews, I wasn't quite convinced it would be any good. I was pleasantly surprised to find that while it isn't quite as razor-sharp as what you'd expect if you're a Dylan Moran fan, the show has an innate likeability reminiscent of the Vicar of Dibley. Its characters are quirky and loveable, albeit slightly two-dimensional, and situations are certainly funny if a little predictable. The writing is not perfect, but certainly very witty and well-crafted. The music and schmalzy opening and closing credits can be quite irritating, and don't really do the show any credit.

However, How Do You Want Me's saving grace is the superp casting, which delivers delightful performances by Dylan Moran, Charlotte Coleman and Peter Serafinowicz. It is certainly worth buying if you are looking for some light and enjoyable entertainment. I love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)