Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2013
Even a detractor could not deny the specialness of Dylan in his time in this pretty amazing cinema-verite masterpiece. Beyond the music and the personality, the most arresting moments are seen in the sense of drossy post-war England in the 60s before it really started swinging and the way that Dylan is so cruel to outgoing squeeze Joan Baez at her most unpleasantly shrill. A great 'document'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
Interesting view of Dylan's first trip to England. Look out for the scene with the High Sheriff, will make you smile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Seeing Bob Dylan again was mind-blowing. What a man - true to himself, careful and free to speak. I loved this film, its music, and especially the poetry. It took me back to that time, and the recognition of how brave it was to cut loose from convention and say and speak as you really believed and felt, at that time - post-Beat Generation and in the middle of the social and cultural upheaval of the 1960s. And the filming style was amazing - b+w, hand-held camera, behind the scenes, unrehearsed. Definitely worth viewing, and why not re-view too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2004
This documentary starring Bob,Joan Baez and others is revealing indeed.Although trough most of the film I had the feeling that in this case what you see is not entirely what you get.
What this docu. does is portray Dylan in the worst possible way...you see him in interviews and on the road , most of the time being a complete prat.When Joan Baez is in the film,Bob barely pays any attention to her and never recognizes that she is even there.This strikes me as a bit odd because the two have worked together on many occasions and reportedly had quite a long time affair.After seeing the film Dylan himself said in an interview that the film included a lot of materiel that was filmed when he himself had no idea that the camera was rolling.
Ofcourse this doesn't excuse his behavior but it does show the intentions of the director I think.Nonetheless this documentary gives you a realistic peek into the world of one of the greatest musicians of all time and the atmosphere of being on tour in the sixties.All in all this is a must see for any Dylan fan.If you wanna see what the forever young prince of folk-rock was like back then I reccomend it.There are also a lot of funny moments with baby-faced bob (sometimes on the edge of rudeness).
I give it a four out of five due to the fact that this was made when there was no MTV,no Big Brother and still comes out as being ten times better then all of the modern "reality show"
nonsense that is on TV nowadays.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
This is an interesting documentary about Dylan's 65 UK tour. Not recommended for a non Dylan fan as he comes accross as a bit of a brat. This is not the same film as 'eat the document', although Amazon points you to this if you search for eat the document, which was what I was actually looking to buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
I am a big fan of Bob Dylan I love his music. Such a pity that they did not have the full version of the concert some of the artist were left out but other than that
I enjoyed the Concert very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
An up close insight into the mediated vortex of being Bob Dylan.
Some nice views of sixties Britain out of the window of Bob's car. Looks like the Pennines, Scotland & "swinging" London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
Reminded me of early Dylan when I was in my twenties. Great to see him naturally going between concerts. Also Baez and Donovan and Price. I felt I was really there. It captured the origianl Dylan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
A DVD to have one's collection, dylan was the beacon of light of a generation, then came neil young and others but he was the trailblazer, woody guthrie was a strong influence on his songwriting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
Got good review in Dylan magazine " wanted man " they were correct especially liked the extras DVD with fan footage and complete concert songs
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)