Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 14 April 2017
I was a bit disappointed with this, even though it seems to be raved about by other people. The dancing is very good, certainly; always against plain backgrounds, the pieces depict, in two cases, highly politicised situations, one in Chile after the coup deposing Salvador Allende, the other in an unspecified state, in which two wardens torture a prisoner until he dies. This is shown in fairly abstracted form, fortunately, but there is a sense that the subject is at variance with the idea of dance - it seems naive, even trivial, when you think of the reality it is meant to be depicting. The wardens are shown doing ironic (silent) tap dance moves, and have a gangsterish demeanour, but what is this about? In the end, there is the feeling that the dancers are enjoying the physical movements, trying to create beauty - that is ballet! In the first piece about Chile, there is a grating recital of poetry, by an uncredited author, although the reciter is credited, which comes between the songs, presumably sung to the words we have just heard. We see footage of the coup, sometimes quite unpleasant - corpses being moved, for instance. Again, this jars with the dancing itself. The folk music can be quite grating as well, although obviously this is a matter of taste, but such a dance interpretation seems self-indulgent rather than meaningful. The middle piece, Rooster, is the most effective - a setting of songs by The Rolling Stones; but even here, I wasn't very keen on the swaggering dance moves and rooster gait. Sympathy For The Devil does provide a rousing finale, however.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
I watched this twice in one evening after receiving it. Yes, it was that good. I had always admired Christopher Bruce, and these three pieces did not disappoint. "Swansong" was very powerful, and showed the callous brutality of torture and emphasised the " two against one" scenario to add to the impending doom of the poor prisoner.
"Rooster" cannot fail to capture the interest of everyone as the music of the Stones is so memorable.
I was lucky to buy this as a used copy,so it was even better value. However, I would definitely buy more. The trouble is that dance DVDs seem to be expensive compared with other genres. I shall look for "previously owned" and then I can buy more.
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Christopher Bruce has really taken dance expression onto another plane. Considering some of the pieces are now 20 - 30 years old, they are or were, the vanguard of ballet. For me, 'Rooster' is the best of the 3 pieces because of the Rolling Stones music - an inspired combination.

If you like ballet, even purely classical, you will appreciate how ballet moves have been incorporated into a modern interpretation - the dancers are of course first class too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Positive reviews encouraged me to buy this DVD and how delighted I am with it. Even though these recordings date from 1983/89/94 I love the choreography, which still feels contemporary with a classical dance base. The choreographer, Christopher Bruce, was choreographer and then artistic director of the Rambert Dance Company between 1979 and 2002.

I enjoyed all three pieces – other reviewers have already praised 'Rooster' with music by The Rolling Stones, and 'Swansong'. My particular favourite is 'Silence is the End of our Song', described as “a moving ballet danced to songs from Chile and dedicated to the Chilean people and their suffering”. It sounds grim but the sad parts (my husband looking up from his paper commented on the obvious melancholy being portrayed) are interspersed with pieces of wonderful lightness that make one ache about the denial of freedom and joy caused by war. Christopher Bruce received an Amnesty International award for such work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
This is true brillance in dance. Everyone in our family loves Rooster, including my youngest and he's not easily pleased when it comes to dance! The movement of the dancers really adds to the sense of the music. Swansong is such a moving and poignant piece. Its shows the power that dance has to convey a clear message to its audience
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
I have been waiting to get this ever since i left college many years ago, and now i have it YIPPEEEE!!!. The second i got it i watched it over and over again and i'm still not fed up of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Every one should see Rooster at least once in their lives - brilliant danceall round (and funny!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
Absolutely Fabulous.
Please take a bow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Good quality. Would recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
The ballet on this DVD which I absolutely love is 'Rooster' a series of dances to songs of the Rolling Stones.
It starts with 'Little red Rooster' and ends too with a chicken joke. Hillarious clever and very musical - I cant stop watching it.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)