Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
71
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2014
This is the old production of the Royal Ballet's Swan Lake,and FAR superior to the present Royal Ballet production.
Natalia Markarova is superb,as is Anthony Dowell. This production uses much more of the Tchaikovsy score,and Act 4 is Sir Fredrick Ashton's choreography which is more dramatic than the new production ( which cuts the score drastically.)
If you are looking to purchase Swan Lake,I strongly recommend this version over the new Royal Ballet "edited" version.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
I cannot rate this DVD high enough as the dancing of Markarova is out of this world. Her interpretation using her acting skills is stunning and her dancing displays the typically Russian style using the backward sweep of her arms producing the arched back perfectly. The prince, danced by Anthony Dowell is a treat to watch and the corps de ballet are well rehearsed. This is a Swan Lake for lovers of ballet and I have no hesitation in recommending this DVD for your collection since it is one that will be played repeatedly.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Delivered very quickly. This is said to be the best production of Swan Lake. Having seen the ballet live twice and one other DVD of it, it is impossible to agree with the statement. However, this production is excellent.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2009
I have seen both the Bolshoi and Kiev companies perform this ballet live and I greatly prefer this classic, elegant version of the Royal Ballet Covent Garden. For me Antony Dowell and Natalia Marakova are an ideal match, ( their long lines are supremely elegant and other-worldly). In this performance you don't see technique (as in the Kiev and Bolshoi versions) you see great character portrayals conveyed by superb technique, and that makes all the difference in the world. The sets, costumes, and choreography are flawless. This DVD is REGION 1 and requires a MULTIREGION DVD PLAYER and NTSC compatable TV/Monitor. Some DVD player computer programs for example Power DVD can play this DVD but only for a limited number of times if your principal region is region 2. They allow you to change the region of play only from 1 to 5 times then nothing more. So be sure you have a multiregion DVD player if you want to always be able to view this DVD. VLC media player will play this DVD without limit. This DVD in Region 2 has been out of stock for a long time.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
A fantastic performance of Swan Lake from the Kirov Ballet, picture and sound is good, plays on UK dvd players.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
The best version of the Swan Lake. Amazing Ballet Dancers. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Great classical ballet and lovely to see Anthony Dowell. It's a pity there aren't more available these days. A must for any ballet lover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
Having ordered this I was a little worried that it would not work on UK DVD players - it being NTSC.

I needn't have worried. It plays perfectly and the quality of sound and performance is excellent. I am very pleased with it.
33 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2017
My friend asked me to buy this for her and she said it was very good with quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Enjoyed very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)