Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 June 2015
After four years in high school, the time has come to enter the real world of jobs and college. And that's not just true in real life but also on the TV show Smallville. As it entered season 5, the main cast ventured out into the real world. But the show kept producing great episodes as Clark Kent took another step toward becoming Superman.

Once again, we start the season dealing with the fallout from last season's cliffhangers. (At least this time there was a bit of a recap before the first episode to give you some idea what was happening). Clark Kent (Tom Welling) was just discovering his fortress of solitude and still arguing over his fate and purpose here on Earth with his biological father (voiced by recurring guest star Terrence Stamp). Meanwhile, Smallville is dealing with the aftermath of another meteor shower.

As the season progresses, Clark briefly loses his powers and starts a relationship with long time love Lana Lang (Kristin Kreuk). Chloe Sullivan (Allison Mack) finally gets a job at the Daily Planet. Jonathan Kent (John Schneider) takes on Lex Luther (Michael Rosenbaum) for a state senate seat withLois Lane (Erica Durance) as his campaign manager. And politics makes strange bed fellows as Martha Kent (Annette O'Toole) takes money from Lionel Luthor (John Glover) to help.

Meanwhile, Clark, Lana, and Chloe all start college. Lana pledges a sorority of vampires, and Clark gets more than he bargained for with his new professor who is hiding an other worldly secret of his own (recurring guest star James Marsters).

Obviously, there was a lot happening this season, and the first half is very strong. We're introduced to two more members of the DC comics family when Aquaman and Cyborg show up. The campaign makes an interesting story arc that involves most of the characters for several episodes. Plus Clark now knows that Chloe knows his secret, which makes their scenes a lot of fun.

I have to give a special shout out to "Exposed" which reunites John Schneider with his Dukes of Hazzard co-star Tom Wopat. Even though I have weak memories of the show from a few episodes I watched in my childhood, I still got several references to that show that made me laugh out loud.

Then comes the 100th episode of the series. Now don't get me wrong, the episode itself is powerful as it plays out a warning Clark had gotten early in the season - in exchange for something that happened to him, someone close to him would die. The fall out from that is very well written and acted, and I teared up several times.

However, the episodes soon devolve into a parade of meteor freaks of the week. When the show does too many of those, it quickly loses my interest because they are so predictable. A plot thread from early in the season finally comes back into play in the last couple of episodes, and we find out someone else learns Clark's secret, but it's just not up to the level of the earlier episodes of the season.

As I hinted earlier, the acting this season is strong. Everyone truly gets a chance to shine at some point, and whether it's lighter bits or more dramatic, they always hits the mark.

Likewise, the show is filled with special effects, and they always worked perfectly to help tell the story at hand. I was never left shaking my head at something that looked fake.

The 22 episodes from the season are all here in widescreen and stereo on six discs. Extras on the set include lots of deleted scenes, two audio commentaries, the Vengeance Chronicles webisodes, and a look at creating the 100th episode.

Despite a run of several weak episodes in the second half, season 5 of Smallville is still strong enough to give 5 stars. Just be aware that we get yet another cliffhanger that will make you want to watch the next season right away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2007
This season really is value, unlike previous seasons this has an amazing amount of action, characters actually interact with each other apart from fightint the enevetable monsters.

Chloe reveals she knows about Clark, at which Clark reveals his true nature. The long awaited Clark-Lana relationship falls apart, as Clark refuses to share his secrets with her (if he did btw that would be the end of the main premiese of the show.) Lana eventually ends up in the arms of Lex Luthor, who's friendship with Clark finally breaks apart.

The hundreth episode is amazing! With Lana and Clark's father both dying, and Clark's proposal to Lana, along with a little time travel.

The episodes in this series build on the strong points of four, with new superheros introduced, and Chloe working at the Planet, and finding her mother.

Season Five is most definately worth buying, characters interact with each other, while foiling bad guys (mainly Lex's) plans. Although season five does have it's flaws (Lana appears to have a soul trnsplant half way through the season, going evil and bunking with Lex), and Clark's dad running for state senator, which I found immensely annoying, and something that couldn't have been forseen from the pilot.

But these flaws are abboritions, leaving a well rounded and action packed season, and well worth the twenty something pounds.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2009
Season 5 is full of highlights: the Clark/Chloe partnership, the Clark/Lois banter and growing friendship, "Buffy's" James Marsters as Professor Fine declaring that vampires don't exist - not to mention the handling of Jonathan Kent's death and the sudden switch of Lionel Luthor's allegiance. There are also lowlights: the seemingly endless Clark & Lana saga receives another outing but thankfully comes to shuddering halt, Lex's sudden romantic pursuit of Lana is sluggish and becomes boring. John Schneider & Annette O'Toole figure more prominently during this season as Jonathan meets his end in the wonderfully constructed 100th episode right in the middle of the run while Martha is targeted by a Kryptonian villain - although she is never challenged by Jor-El as her husband was. Tom Welling continues to shine as his partnerships with his female co-stars develop - with Allison Mack the Clark/Chloe hero/sidekick partnership gains momentum, with Erica Durance the banter nudges up a gear but is softened this year by the growing friendship between the two characters and with Annette O'Toole their relationship adapts as Martha Kent becomes a single parent facing the unknown alone. Welling also assumes the mantle of director for one of "Smallville"'s best episodes which features a story about a little girl with a dangerous power who gives Clark the paternal affection that her estranged - and murderous - father desperately covets. Favourite episodes: Arrival, Mortal, Hidden, Aqua, Thirst, Exposed, Solitude, Fanatic, Reckoning, Fragile, Mercy, Fade, & Vessel. I know people have their doubts about the episode Thirst but the commentary for it on this DVD set is a gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2015
This is a fine addition to the 'Smallville' series. I was forced to buy this Region 2 addition because the American version (the complete 10 season collection in yearbook design plus bonus discs and 'Daily Planet') failed to have subtitles for season 5, All the other seasons do. Fortunately, this Region 2 version does, making the entire series no comfortable to watch.

Some memorable episodes in this one, with Lex turning more into his dark self. The 'dream episode' named 'Lexmas' delves well into how he thinks, with a shock announcement at the end of it. The appearance of Professor Fine (AKA Brainiac) is another highlight. A standout episode for me was 'Reckoning', when Clark has one chance to save the dead Lana, but the consequences lead to a new tragedy.

Chloe Sullivan excels, and fits into her role as Clark's 'sidekick' and protector.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2010
This is the season that the inevitable future of friends then foes; Lex Luthor and Clark Kent's friendship takes form.
As powerful as season 4 was, Season 5 proves to be more adventurous yet darker than the last. Show opens to Clark Kent finally beginning to accept his destiny and takes giant leaps towards becoming the Man of Steel.. Hampered by having faced a difficult decision in the Fortress of Solitude, as he is given the choice of saving Chloe's life or saving the planet. Clark's choices lead him to a life-changing challenge as he is stripped of his powers. Furthermore, Clark later is forced to face up to Lana's new relationship. Clark faces rogue Kryptonians. Lex Luthor (today Kansas, tomorrow the world) launches a vicious political campaign. Clark's love for Lana Lang deepens, and he and Lois Lane remain friendly adversaries. AC (aka Aquaman) surfaces. A spaceship mystery unfolds. A dark tragedy--one even Clark's powers can't prevent--strikes, marking the series 100th episode. These and more key elements of Superman lore fall into place.
This season I thought was extremely deep and showed all aspects of every character come to light and how it affected each one of them. This was truly a milestone stepping that changed the entire series forever. Ironically, the halfway season of the series is that milestone.
Worth a watch if you've followed the series from Episode 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2006
Don't get me wrong. I do really LOVE Smallville!!! But, for God's sake please, please, please, KILL LANA. She is SO DAMN DRIPPY. I am sick to death of the Clarke and Lana love story. It's like a yo-yo, going up and down, side to side, but it doesn't actually go anywhere! BORED NOW.

Plus, why is Lex always at the centre of each villain/kiddnapping/viral weapons? I know he is THE bad guy of the superman franchise, but he's not the full fledged bad guy yet. they keep changing their mind about him. the series won't develope if you can't expand on bad guys! we'll be on season 6 soon! Mix it up!

They have a fabulous cast, they just don't know what to do with them. Lana's always a main character and her character's very 2D! Tom Welling's wonderful! Chloe, who's a brillant actress gets shoved to the back and only in it when clarke wants something! Lois is hardly ever in it, which is a shame! Her fiesty-ness is a welcome change to the predictable formula. Lex is perfect, although i would like it if he'd stop quoting proverds or mythical/ancient stories that tie in with the episode. it's good every now and then, but he does it all the time.

The series always has really good season premiere's and finale's. yet manages to undo everything thats happened in 1 episode. I would love it if they had a storyline stretch over multiple episodes!

I hope Smallville tries to revamp itself a little. I think it would be interesting to have a series where Lex and Clarke are finally enemies. Maybe, Lana could die, leaving Lex and Clarke each, believing each others responsible. starting their eternal hatred of each other! YEY!


0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2006
I am a major SMALLVILLE fan and have been for ages, but now I must speak out!

Smallville is losing the plot. By the end of this season, it's clear it's NOT about what it originally was. The main culprits are the writers who have given time to useless 'spectacle' moments while leaving characterisation to the changeable and weightless wind.

As a Clark/Lana fan, I enjoyed the first few episodes, though in a wider general sense, they lacked gravitas and verged on absurd, ie. episode 'thirst'. After 'Reckoning' things take a turn for the worst and Smallville becomes like a bad bad soap opera with recycled dialogue and issues, everyone stalling.

Lex gets more 'evil', though the shows writers have yet to take his character to somewhere really dark - its hinted at many a time, but he has yet to be 'the villain'. Chloe is solid as ever. Lana sucks, her character doing a complete 180 half way through the season, you're left blinking and wondering what show the writers were watching all this time and thinking 'can this get any worse?'

Many of the episodes were nigh useless. Martha and Lois are great throughout. Some episodes tried to go back to the tried and tested formulas with 'freak of the week' strands but again, this is drawing thin and tiresome. The show needs a serious injection of class. So much of it is now cheese.

The Cw needs to bring back the original writers so we can have progressive CHARACTERISATION.

(don't get me wrong, the cast can act, yet they're all stuck in a loop of the same dialogue and same expressions)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2009
In the fifth season of Smallville, one chapter ends as another new and exciting chapter begins as Smallville is taken to new heights as the DC Universe is finally blown open as new characters make their appearances felt.
In season five, Clark's relationship with Lana is at its peak, his friendship with Chloe has never been stronger, and he is finally coming to terms with the discovery of his Kyptonian heritage. But things in Smallville are about to change with the arrival of the mysterious Milton Fine (James Marsters) along with 2 Kryptonians bearing the symbol of ZOD. Whilst his relationship with his friends has never been stronger, Clark finds himself in direct confrontation with Lex Luthor as he is now forced to question whether he and the younger Luthor were ever friends.
Alongside the great contiunity drama with the regular leads, this season also sees the arrival of 2 familiar faces from the DC Universe in form of Aquaman and Cyborg who cameo in this season alongside DC villain Brainiac.
James Marsters is a very welcome addition to the cast and plays Fine with confidence and arrogance while Michael Rosenbaum continues to steal the show. The pinnacle moment of the season also sees the very sad departure of a long staning term cast member in what still rates as Smallville's saddest moment and greatest tear-jerker.
Season five however has proven to be the most important seasons so far and can be officially viewed as the main divide in the shows story. As it stands, it improves from the tiring repetitiveness of season 4 and the season genuinely takes the show to new heights. Season five however is absolutly essential for any Smallville fan hoping to watch the season from this point onwards.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2012
I purchased Smallville Season 5 and was looking forward to it arriving, I even signed up to Amazon Prime so it would arrive the next day. When the Dvd's arrived I decided to check them for scratches, as the box was a bit bashed. As I was doing this I noticed that the boxset has disc 1 & 2, and then 3 & 4 twice instead of 3, 4, 5 & 6. I called customer service and there is nothing they can do other than accept a return on the item. These things should be checked before they are posted out to avoid unhappy customers. My first time using the 2nd hand service on Amazon so I am reluctant to use it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2008
I agree with a previous reviewer that the box spoils the presentation of our Smallville collection a bit. I don't know if the later seasons are going to be presented in this newer (cheaper looking) packaging, but I was liking the style they had going with the previous seasons. I think that maybe they chose this more compact (cheaper) style because they were wasting far too much money printing those nice little insert booklets for us that contained the episode summaries. We aren't getting one with this set. The episode summaries are printed onto each side of the slim DVD cases instead. These money saving methods can be kinder to storage space though, because this is a slimmer season set. Just display it by its spine, as the edge showing the seperate DVD case spines looks horrible. But, at the end of the day, it's Smallville, and I am sure this season is as good as all of the others have been to watch. The cheaper packaging doesn't really change the content or quality of the individual episodes, does it? :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)