Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2013
I bought this type of Beam Rack to fit my full suspension MTB. It is surprisingly strong & you can achieve a good tight fix to your seat post due to the oversize clamp lever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Great post mounted rack. Watch out though as it doesn't come with the sides so if you want to use the sides of a bag you have to buy the optional side panels (only about £15 though).

The bags are easy to fit and secure. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Excellent way of attaching a rack. High quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Great product fits very well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Great bit of kit , highly recommended.
light and strong , perfect :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
I purchased the V-fit MTX beam rack as I have a Tern 26" folding mountain bike; I needed something that could be quickly released if necessary and something to keep the clueless bunch in Evans' quiet with their insistence that a rack couldn't be fitted to my bike.

The construction quality of the rack is excellent, and it comes with numerous shims and fittings. It also comes with an integrated bungee that forms two cords for securing loads. In turn, the bungee features three bulges to allow it to lock into place, also allowing quick adjustment of the tightness dependent on the load. It all sits very neatly around the seatpost and can be tightened or loosened as necessary, making it universal. Much as with many saddles these days, the screw that tightens also doubles as a lever clamp, securing the rack for good... or so you'd think.

Here's where it all goes downhill. No matter how tightly you fix the rack, it swings out of place with the slightest provocation, especially if you have no suspension or are carrying a wider load; and while we're on the subject, it is hopeless at carrying anything with a little bit of weight or bulk. As an example, a shoebox with a pair of shoes proved too much, with the bungees being completely ineffective at holding the box securely in place and pinging out of place as the bike cornered. A bag containing a ringbinder was right out, and yet with smaller loads there is too much slack to hold items down. My best experience with this has been using it to carry a small satchel containing a shirt and a pair of jeans. Even then, the rattle, no matter how tightly fitted the rack is, can be unbearable.

Yes, side pannier racks, fitted bags that slide and lock into the proprietary Topeak slot and a cargo net are available, but, forgive me for being a bit cycnical, is that why the bungee included here is so useless? I had hoped to be able to carry something a bit more substantial than jeans and a shirt with this rack, and it doesn't deliver, or at least, probably won't without hefty outlay on a number of Topeak's other bits and pieces...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
I've had this now for less than three years and am ready to replace.

I've found it has been good for being able to switch between keeping my bike a slimline roadie and being able to take it for longer journeys. However, after a long distance cycle through Eurovelo 6, the tightening bolt completely snapped in half leaving me 10 kilometers out of Novi Sad with a completely unrepairable beam rack and no where to place my luggage. I checked my luggage weight which was under 7kg.

I really love Topeak products, have and always will trust in their quality. I will though be a lot more careful in future when being on long distance journeys as this product clearly cannot stand the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
A substantial and secure carrier that does the job perfectly.
Pros: really well made, secure clamp action, strong, easy to attach and remove, good size
cons:saddle clamp quite wide, so can touch leg;no provision for standard fitting rear lamp, fitting screw at extreme rear soon started to rust.

Jules
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)