Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Bird - The Charlie Parker Story [DVD] [1988]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 7 September 2007
"Bird"(1988) directed by Clint Eastwood (Unforgiven,1992; Mystic River,2003; Million Dollar Baby,2004) is first and foremost a great 1940s period drama. Secondly it just happens to be about one of jazz's great musicians, Charles "Bird" Parker. Bird was a great jazz innovator with the development of Bebop which really moved jazz on from just being mere entertainment toward art, drawing heavily on the music of Stravinsky and Varese. Sadly Bird died just as jazz beginning to feel the threat of Rock 'n' Roll although jazz would continue to evolve further into the 1960s.

Clint Eastwood's direction can't be faulted in this loving portrait to Bird who is performed by Forest Whitaker (Platoon,1986). The film uses stylistically a lot Film Noir elements and at times resembles films of the period. Even if you're not a jazz fan check it out because it's a good film and that really is Bird playing on the soundtrack.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
An interesting insite into the work and life of Bird. The 1940s are shewn as a time of war and chaos, Many jazz clubs are recreated and "Dizzy" is shewn as a sobering influence on Parker.
Highly recomendrd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
this was brought as a gift it arrived on the date stated and was well received by the person i gave it to
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
This is a good story and great music of the time. It is worth watching if you enjoy that jazz period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
GRIPPING STORY OF JAZZ,FOREST WHITAKER AT HIS BEST,AND EXCELLENT DIRECTION BY CLINT EASTWOOD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
Absolutley brilliant. Although this film is over 20 years old it is still heart wrenching. I orignally saw this film in the 90's when i was in my teens and loved it then. I am now in my 30's and remembered the film my partner had not seen or heard of it so purchased it from amazon. This bird really does hold you. Charlie parker (Bird) paved the way for all the greats.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 November 2006
I've just bought this in HMV so I don't know why Amazon can't supply it (update they can now)!

Anyway its a very good biopic of the great Jazz Alto Saxophonist Charlie Parker. This is a warts and all film, so all the bad things in Birds life (drugs etc) are covered as well as his marvellous playing. For the film his original sax playing was used, but new backing was put to it using modern musicians (such as Herbie Hancock). I imagine this was done to improve the overall sound quality.

In many ways its a very sad story, but Eastwood shows a steady hand and does a good job balancing the great music with his troubled life. Well worth getting.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
the dvd is in excellent conditions. Thank you very much. KR
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
Been after this for years. Very pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
Atmospheric and bleak but some great nightclub scenes. Could've done with more recording and performance scenes but well acted and the spirit of the man came through. Heavy tone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)