Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
88
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2009
When it comes to portraying the gritty reality of the 'other side of the street' the British leave the Americans in the dust!

No high tech palaver or cute one liners given by people who have just walked off a catwalk at a modelling show. Vincent is about real people in real life situations. The series is as much about Vincent as the situation in each episode. The suporting cast round off the quality of this itv production.

Ray Winstone is superb as the lonely PI, dedicated to doing the right thing by his clients, never letting his staff down while desperately trying to get a life. Hard as nails on the outside but soft marshmallow on the inside.

Worth every penny and now at a bargain basement price.
22 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
The only reason I hate it is because I saved this series to watch on holiday and started to enjoy it when episode 4 on series 1 failed to work no matter what I did with the disc.
Be careful people out there and check your discs for playability or you could get engrossed and end up being disappointed.Shame really as my wife and myself really enjoy Ray Winston and his acting
Disc still does not work properly and sound tends to drop out. checked my player and everything else, definitely a 'Duff Disc'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Very good dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Excellent stories and great cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
With the actors and actresses starring in this Vincent was always going to be a hit, and Ray Winstone is brilliant in any role that he plays again another programme you can watch again and agains
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2008
I never saw this series when it was on TV and ordered it on the basis of the other reviews. I am so glad I did. The acting is excellent with realistic captivating stories. I watched all the episodes back to back as I thought it was so good. This is real value for money.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
The first series of Vincent begins with a real punch and the team of characters are wonderful. I wish I could have given it five stars and if the performances were my only criteria I would. The problem is that the TV company didn't really nurture and develop the concept to it's full potential.
As so often in British series characters drop out from series one to series two. The absence of the divorce saga and Phil Glenister in particular is a real loss to the shape of the programmes.
Ray Winstone is wonderful as the sympathetic hard man, a private eye fighting vested interests(god knows how he manages to pay his staff!) He shows perfectly how good men end up acting in irrational revengeful ways.
Manchester provides a brooding atmospheric backdrop,some of the storylines are intense and moving, others seem just a bit too tired and formulaic.
I can`t help feeling that if this had been an American production it would have had the TLC it needed to make it into something really fantastic. As it is, it is damn good tele but not life changing like The Wire or the first two series of Trial and Retribution.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
It is now some time since these few episodes were made and released in the UK. They show how good TV drama CAN be as opposed to so much of the so called "entertainment" churned out with apparently little thought in ANY area - plot, casting, soundtrack, camerawork, etc. Vincent still ticks all the boxs for entertainment for grown up viewers. Highly recommended once again as has already been shown by the other reviews.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2008
This is what excellent UK TV is about gritty,passionate characters and there is no better than Vincent. Ray Winstone is a gem & worth the price of the boxset alone.Solid storylines with a great support cast leaves you wanting for more. It is a tad disappointing that UK programmes series run so short as most are around 8 episodes compared with a USA drama of around 20 to 24 is typical. Hope to see more in the future with Vincent as I will be happy to pre-order it. No reservations with this set and should be an instant purchase for anyone who likes quality TV.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2007
Ray Winstone is an absolute gem in this role. I have never really been a big fan of his but now I am sold. The beautifully crafted acting from all the players sets the tone for this series. Gritty, disturbing to watch and emotionally raw in some scenes I was absolutely hooked from the first episode, so much so that I purchased from England the Series 1 & 2 Box set because the second series has yet to screen here in New Zealand. Please let there be a third as I am anxiously waiting to see the future development of all the characters involved.

Kiwi fan
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)