Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
36
4.1 out of 5 stars
The Warning
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 June 2006
Like my title says, this was a pleasant surprise.

I bought this on the strength of hearing Over and Over on the radio and seeing the video to Boy from school (it's an Art Attack!!!). It was a risk but luckily it payed off (I've been burnt too many times recently by albums that have 1 good single on and the rest is RUBBISH!!!).

I'm pretty sure that if you like Beta Band or Postal Service then you will probably like this (If you like this you will prob like Beta Band and Postal Service, check them out!).

The reason I give this album 4 stars is that the quality of the songs seems to tail off at the end, but they could be growers (i've only had it a week)?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
I went into Virgin the other day heard the first minute of a song from the album being played. I asked a staff member what it was and they of course said "Hot Chip". I instantly bought the cd and before this cd i had never owned another of the electronica/rock genre [other than massive attack and portishead but Hot Chip are completley different and i struggled to get into those artists].

This has opened my eyes into a whole new wonderful genre and im loving it, also listening to simular artists such as Postal Service.

If you want something new to listen to and you dont mind this type of music GO FOR IT.

If you are involved in music engineering of any sort this can be a great inspiration!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2006
After seeing Hot Chip supporting Goldfrapp and hearing 'Over and Over', I was instantly hooked on their mixture of quirky melodies, beats and vocals. Now having bought this album, I'm hooked all over again. It hasn't left my car stereo since I got it and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something a little different from the mainstream. Highlights? 'Over and Over' obviously, but the title track's garage-esque beats and lyrics about how 'Hot Chip will break your legs, smash up your head' is fantastic and a good laugh considering how nondescript they all look!

Buy it, and you won't regret it. Fantastic album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
Now a band perhaps more renowned for being used on BBC soundtracks, Hot Chip's most emotionally engaging and interesting work is their sophomore 'The Warning'
The tracks on the album have a real sense of intimacy and frailty which blends well with their electronica influences, most notably seen on tracks like 'So Glad to See You' and 'Look After Me'
There are also the more danceable singles like 'Over and Over' and 'And I was a Boy From School'.
There are few better albums for post going out relaxing and it is also good travel music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2006
You're probably familiar with Over And Over by now. I first encountered this band courtesy of The Blue Room on Radio 1 - they played No Fit State, which has become my "latch song" for Spring 2006; the melody and vocals just get under your skin and temporarily replace motor functions... It's extremely - unusually - well arranged, with one of those mantra-like outros. And interesting lyrics too, well sung. (Want a summer hit? Re-release it as a single, go on!)

Hot Chip aren't "wild" - reminiscent of early 80s electro pop like Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark - though there are some boundary-pushing tracks, for example the opener, Careful. Hot Chip are a headphones band too, full of musical ideas like The Beach Boys at their peak - behind all the catchy pop tunes are lurking a lot of hidden, playful sounds. I haven't heard the whole album yet, so I gave it four stars on the strength of the tracks mentioned, as well as Boys From School and Colours.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2006
Think of squarepusher, think of Aphex Twin, Beta Band, now think of a sprinkle of offbeat melodies from various styles of musical influences and you are presented with the sound of Hot Chip. Ive heard one reviewer desrcibe them as sounding like the Boo Radleys...ha ha ha....fear not, thats just plain ridiculous. One reviewer said stick with Depeche Mode and Kraftwerk because Hot Chip are just a poor version of them?? Well yes, i am sure Hot Chip are influenced by such artists but come on, Hot Chip create a sound which has evolved from such pioneers, a refreshing, challenging band for the year 2006. Give it a try.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
Another fantastic by Hot Chip.Yet to find something by them,or that they are linked to,that I don't like.Brilliant!If you like them,and do not own this album then add this to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
bad mistake buying this. don`t get it. not one decent track. listened to every track. utterly depressing . one for the garbage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2006
I got tickets to see Hot chip at liverpool and wasn't too keen on going, i had the fist album and wasn't that impressed as all the songs felt - empty. Bands like fischerspooner can use this to their advantage but hot chip seemed to fail. Luckely 'the warning' is alot better, complete with funky songs that have plenty going on. 'Over and over' is amazing and sounds like a band who's realised their mistakes and started afresh while 'the boy from school' and 'the warning' take the band to new levels.Buy it - its actually rather good this time around.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Good album. Heard hot chip at Glastonbury and hence the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)