Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Riot City Blues
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 April 2014
This should have six stars, their best for a while, and dare I say, a return to form, though their albums do tend to vary. The country emphasis works great on the two tracks it's applied upon, some of the others rock tremendously. If you're new to the Scream, start here, work backwards, then foreward.
Nearly something for everyone here, and in a P. Scream release, that's rare.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2017
Awesome album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2011
I have been aware of the existence of Primal Scream for quite some time, but know very little of their output apart from what has been aired on radio. It would be probably fair to say I paid very little attention to their music until I kept hearing the superb track 'Country Girl' (apparently being the default choice of BBC Radio 2 DJs). Even if the remainder of this album 'Riot City Blues' had been poor, which it certainly is not, I had decided that at least for that song it would have been worth the money. This album has turned out to have been one of my greatest finds of recent years. I don't believe there are any poor songs presented throughout the 10 on offer here. Style wise I can hear strong Rolling Stones influences, particularly within the 7th track (We're Gonna Boogie) which harks back to The Stones early 1960s heyday of blues orientated rock. There are also hints of early mid 60s Dylan within track No6 (The 99th Floor) at least musically, and song No9 (Hell's Comin' Down) has the feel of The Faces when Rod Stewart was at the helm with its use of the mandolin. If 60s style classic rock is your thing, then this album may well please you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2016
I am fan of xtrminator, more light, vanishing point but cannot listen to this stuff. I would rather listen to exile on main street, sticky fingers, goats head soup by the stones. I cant help but hear it as a pale imitation of the stones. I should have known this before I bought it and saved my money. Iuv the electronica stuff but this is just not my thing at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 May 2006
When Primal Scream followed "Screamadelica" with (the completely underated) "Give Out But Don't Give Up it" it was generally considered to be too massive a change of direction. Riot City Blues dwarfs even that as a radical departure, but fortunately this time there can be absolutely no denying that the move is 100% successful. The album is their most cohesive yet and is the best, uncomplicated, euphoric, party record made for years and years. It's the record they should have made when Mani first joined (a stunning free transfer comparable to Ronnie Wood joining The Stones - can you imagine The Scream without Mani?) and features songs that will blow the roof off any venue when played live; "Country Girl", "The 99th Floor" and "Hell's Coming Down" sound like an unholey union of The Pogues, Clash, Stones and Stooges (fighting in a drunken hoare house), "Little Death" is sex between Jim Morrison and John Cale, and "Sometimes I Feel So Lonely" keeps all the Bobby-G-in-Fragile-Epic fans happy, what a gorgeous song. Anyway, RCBs is just fantastic and as a life long fan I'm over the moon. Bobby and Mani have been telling anyone that they are the best rock 'n' roll band in the world - now they've got the album to back the statement up. Buy it and TURN IT UP.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2006
this has to be one of the most entertaining no nonsense albums released in 2006 with all the emo bands around now days it's nice to have an band,venturing back into the days gone..
I.E beggar's banquet, or more correctly as some have stated in reviews the stones 1969 classic "let it bleed" yes i can see the simualar musical styles that primal scream present, but it's still their own work, and it's a foot stomper, rock and roll album they've left behind the electronic sound of their 2002 album "evil heat" and given us an scorching slice of rock with an hint of country,

reccomended if you like you're rock scolding and in the vein of the great rolling stones
also features the single "country girl"

we're gonna boogie"
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2013
Critics like to bash this because they like to use a band's past glories as a stick to beat them with. Nobody said they had to make Screamadelica 2. The fact is, if the Stones had made this, the music press would have bowed down at the alter of Mick'n'Keef and rightly so. It's far superior to A Bigger Bang for one thing. Bobbie is classicist and a Stones junkie, and we are all the better for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2006
Primal Scream's new album Riot City Blues shows primal Scream doing what they do best, good old rock and roll at lightning fast speed. Bobby and Mani and Co have hit the nail on the head once again, no more experimental techno beats instead a mix of country rock and roll guitar crunching sounds with a suicidal headonistic swagger. This album flows like every Primal Scream fan wants it to from start to finish a delight, long live the Scream.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2011
In my opinion a return to good form. Some great tracks, some good ones but overall a good rock album that would not look out of place in any collection of above average rock music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2013
Very good scream album....rock n roll and bluesy..
rolling stones defo a infulence...prefer this to scream dabble in dance/rock
four out five
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dirty Hits
£5.97
Chaosmosis
£5.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)