Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2006
If you liked the first album no doubt you liked it for its mixture of complexity, 'heaviness' and its intoxicating melody, simply put 'Death of a Dead Day' takes these and pushes them to quite impressive heights. Every member plays there hearts out (Foord now using even more complex drums and a lot more double kick) and the whole album seems to gel together regardless of the contrasting speeds and form each track takes. A criticism of Sikth is that upon first hearing new material, it can sound, well, a bit like noise. After first flicking through the album I thought exactly this, but after the first 3 listens the album revealed itself for what it really is, a really good listen. Real effort, real passion, real talent, the best album of the year so far for me and certainly one I wouldn’t be without. Buy if you like heavy complex music, just give it a chance.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2006
I also have to agree with the person who stated this is better than the first album. "Trees.." in my opinion had a few weak points - namely the re-recorded versions of some of the early songs (which lacked the bite of the originals) and some of the more indulgent songs like Can't We All Dream. Death of a Dead Day is better produced, flows better and is technically more accomplished. It's such a heavy album yet melody weaves it's way into each and every song. And wait til you hear the juddering riff that begins Bland Street Bloom. A++ Sikth for sure!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2006
This is sikth's Second full length album, A slightly darker sound than "the trees..." but still very much sikths own distinctive sound, combining the scatty and manic with some great grooves, worth every penny and more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
Wow, well being a SikTh fan for a long time and having downloaded parts of the album I decided to purchase it in pysical form.
Well am I happy I did, I purchased the CD from all your music through amazon, US to UK shipping was very cheap and only took just over a week which is great considering the price. BUT WAIT, THERE'S MORE... after I opened up the CD I found that there was the original signed poster with all six signatures from 6 years ago, talk about a lucky find. As for the CD, creatively it may not be quite in the same league as wait for something wild (nothing is, frankly) but it's as good as modern metal gets and is somewhat a precursor to the recent phenomenon of "Djent" of which I am a fan. Overall, great price, relatively quick delivery, epic album and a very nice surprise in the form of some memorabilia for the grieving fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2006
The inevitable second album problem! The first thing you notice going through it, is what you feel it is missing. In my case, I missed the sense of humour of tracks like Such the fool and hold my finger. I miss the catchy choruses of scent of the obscene and poppiness of peep show. And I swear it's harder to tell what they are saying on this album.

But!

It offers a lot of great new stuff. Sikth have managed to get faster and more complicated (sometimes I think at the expense of songmanship) which once you learn the songs a bit you really start to nod your head to :)

There are solos! And they are damn good, esp in In this light, and sinking ship.

The songcraft on the songier songs has changed a bit, and 'part of the friction' is really a great example of what they can do when they tone down the craziness a bit. Although in a frustrating sense of deja vu, I preferred the non-album version!

All in all I don't think they can ever recreate the magic of the ep's, but this is still a damn good album that gets a little better each and every time you hear it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2006
Obviously, everyone is entitled to there opinion, but i disagree with those who think this isn't as good as "The Trees are Dead and Dried Out, Wait for Something Wild" Both albums are exceptional but both albums are different. This album is alot heavier, due to the fact that they have started using 7 string guitars, also from a purely technical point of view this album is streets ahead. The interplay between the guitars is incredible, and some of rythmic displacement used buy the drummer is awesome. There is some guitar solos included too, nother over induldgent, just a display of how good these guys really are. Fans of Meshuggah and Mnemic will absolutely love this album. This album is just a natural progression for a very talented metal band, who have improved in leaps and bounds since the last album, mainly due to the fact from all the touring has made them tighter and more advanced not only as individual players, but more importantly as a band. I see this album as a positive step forward for the band and i can't wait to see what they come up with next.

Well done Guys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2008
This is SOOOO much better than "...Trees"...the mixing is much better with a fuller, subbier sound, which is good as they are de-tuned to the floor on this one (Ab in some cases belowe low-B!!!).

The album is just track after track of masterpieces.
From the melodic to then mental opener of "Bland Street Bloom" to the Mental and then melodic (see what they did) ending track, "As the Earth Spns Round"...and unfortunatly that's where they left us...listen and you'll swear it's a good bye track...ends the album flawlessly.

I could go on all day but this Album is 10x better than thier first and has EVERYTHING in it.
It's mental Prog-Metal but with added melodic and ambient parts which could make you cry they are that beautiful.

Something for every Prog-Metal fan here.
BUY IT NOW!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2006
if you've ever seen sikth live you'll know that they are precision masters of what they do, this album is just spendid to listen to as either chill out, thought provoking (like their previous album...can't beleive its been 3 years since it was released!) anywho, i know loooooads of people who found this catchy, relaxing, heavy, technical, influential and loved it. there are many many other moods that sikth define. get your ass out there and buy it! i'm the first to review it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 March 2008
Sikth's 2003 debut The Trees Are Dead And Dried Out, Wait For Something Wild was an insane, eclectic, preposterous masterpiece, and laid out Sikth as one of the bands set to define heavy music in the 21st century. But the first album was so chock full of ideas, it was difficult to see where the band could go next, and it took them three years to figure it out.

What we end up with on the difficult second album is essentially a more refined SikTh - their disparate influences now streamlined, the album is tighter, sharper. The sprawling, almost classical composition of the first album as a metal symphony is gone, replaced with individual songwriting; the black humour of the latter third of the first album is gone too. This means that above all, the album is a lot darker, not quite as much fun, and not quite as good.

It's still great, however. At their worst, SikTh still run rings around a great deal of modern bands - and even 'Part Of The Friction,' here presented in a slightly tarted-up version inferior to the demo put on the web, is a masterpiece. At their best, as I've said previously - they sound like the future of music. Album highlight 'Way Beyond The Fond Old River' rattles along on a skittering rhythm and countless superb riffs; but the album is most aptly characterised by the claustrophobic 'When The Moment's Gone,' a song about obsession which feels like it's closing in on you as it continues.

Finally, album closer 'As The World Spins Round' is probably the most musically accomplished they've been - not as far as musical skill, as it's almost certainly impossible for the band to get any better, but as far as its arrangement and composition, its six and a half minutes unfolding majestically and without the jerking time signatures normally associated with SikTh. Whether it's a portent of the next album remains to be seen - but with both vocalists having quit, wherever SikTh end up next, it will be very interesting indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2006
It has been a while since the 'Trees were Dead and Dried out' and the new release by one of the most creative, and possibly derangeed, bands around has been a highly anticipated afair. So what's it like? Well, I think i'll split the album in half as that's how it naturally seems to play. The first six tracks are exactly what you'd expect/hope for from a new album by this band. When 'Bland Street Bloom' kicks off you'll get that little smirk of appreciation that, yes, this is going to be as good as it should be. The music is fast, crushing and intricate, brilliantly and tightly played, the vocals as charismatic and powerful as ever. The sound is a progression from the last album though, it's actually heavier (bonus!) and as well as the typical fast sections it slows down considerably at times; not just for the melodic bits but for some pretty seriously grindy sections, which incidentally work really well. Something else to notice about the first six tracks is that Sikth were paying attention when Beecher ditched the emo melodic choruses, realising that the music was actually more powerful without them. Not that Sikth have gone all in for that ideology and scrapped melody entirely by any means, but it is dispersed much more inteligently i find, in backing tracks or some really nice sweeping atmospherics, rather than relying only on the more predictable clean-vocal choruses. That is of course aside from 'In this light', the obligatiory emo track. However it is better, darker and more interesting than 'Peepshow'from the last album. So all's good. After six tracks i'm in heaven and this really is looking like a cracker.

Now the second half. Firstly comes Mermaid slur, seperating the two halves, and ill be honest, it's crap. I loved 'When will the forest speak...?' at the the end of the last album. Some hated it simply becasue it was a poem, which was pretty short sighted i thought. It was mad as hell, brilliantly read with all the different voices and sounds, and really quite powerful. A nice unsettling way to close the album out. Mermaid slur is the latest offering and i think they should have left it at the one poem. It's short, monotonous, there is little in the way of manic changes of time and emotion and it just sounds generally contrived and dull. Plus it puts a big hole in the middle of the album. Maybe that was the point, to split it in half, who knows? After this the music takes on a slightly different face with far more soft, melodic sections, more clean vocals, and yes another emo track with 'Where do we fall?'. And unfortunately this one's pretty poor, sounding like any old naff emo act. A fairly hardcore one admittedly but still not Sikth at all. The whole album slows down around this which is a disappointment. The last album slowed down in the middle but in an entirely diferent way, becoming awe inspiringly beasutiful and eclectic, whereas this one just sounds a little weary at times. The other odd thing ive noticed about some of the latter tracks is that there are sections that sound earily like Korn. Untouchables/Take a look in the Mirror era Korn. Not a big thing, and only really short sections but a little odd certainly. There are a couple of potentially the best tracks on the album in the second half, 'Part of the Friction' and the excellent finisher 'As the Earth spins Round' which shouldn't be ignored, but the weaknesses of 'Mermaid slur' and 'Where do we fall? along with the slow pace of 'When the moment's gone' are enough to disjoint the whole second half slightly', not to mention the whole album, which is a shame.

So all told i'm having to give this a four rather than a five, which i am honestly a bit upset about, but the couple of weak tracks and the way the album slows down in the middle just takes the edge off it for me. Still Brilliant, particularly the first half, and should certainly be bought by anyone who liked the first album, or any other noisecore stuff, but unfortunately it's not as good as it could have been.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)