Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
12
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2015
Older book but good conditions enjoyed reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
I bought this book after falling in love with Lady W in Julia Quinn`s novels, however sadly this collection of short stories does not live up to expectations. The premise is brilliant, taking four groups of interconnected characters over a period of several days and telling their individual stories. All the four stories clevery overlap with a few identical scenes appearing in several stories but viewed from a different perspective each time. That is a very clever piece of group writing and must be praised. However good this literary device may be, it is badly let down by a lack of research into the era by some of the writers. Inaccurate diaogue (including phrases that didn`t exist till the 20th Century, such as 'hello' and 'I was just kidding') pepper the text and disrupt the flow of the narrative. Characters act in ways men and women in their situation would never have dreamed of and yet its all rather predictable. I found myself skipping pages with a mixture of boredom and irritation. It`s a real shame as I felt this book had Great potential. That said, if you know nothing about the regency period you`ll probably enjoy this, but those readers who, like me, favour historical accuracy, steer clear of this and read some of Julia Quinn`s own novels, or better still, the well researched Eloisa James.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
Four superb stories in the wonderful world of Lady Whistledown. As always, Lady Whistledown comments on events in her Society Papers and these stories revolve around the theft of a ruby bracelet. Four gorgeous heroes and four beautiful ladies find love whilst the hunt for the thief goes on. This is an un-put-downable book as always when in Julia Quinn's Regency England. I highly recommend it. You'll want to finish it in one sitting and you should!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
If you enjoyed the snippets of gossip from Lady W in Julia Quinns Bridgerton series then you are in for a treat. Shes back! Only now she has much more to say as she heads each of the short stories pouring delicious spite and sparkle into the mix. The stories are highly entertaining and weave together as Lady W takes you on a journey through regency London to discover the ruby thief who is terrorising the terrible ton. With a few juicy liaisons thrown into the mix you cant help but love this collection. Maybe next well see a Lady W novel all of her own!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
This is a light-hearted book directed towards those who have become addicted to Lady Whistledown, who appears in many of Julia Quinn's Regency Romances.

The format is five stories, which overlap in time and characters, with a running thread of comment from Lady Whistledown's column. Ms Quinn supplies the Column and one of the stories, and three other authors contribute an individual story each. I like Ms Quinn's style, but in a multiple-author offering there are usually one or two that disappoint. However, in this book all the authors were quite readable. ( I had not read anything by the other three before.)

There are a few references in passing to characters in other Julia Quinn books (always fun for a Ms Quinn afficionado to pick up), but mostly the characters are quite new. They were all pretty well rounded, and I happily joined in their romantic trysts, although Charlotte could have been a little less proper!

It is not a 'memorable' book, but is light-hearted and an easy read which could easily be returned to at a later date. I would definitely recommend it on this basis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2011
The book is absolutely hilarious, I love Julia Quinn and her co-authors do not disappoint. If you like your historical romance with a lot of laughs and a little bit of zing this is definitely the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
After reading and enjoying so many Julia Quinn novels, I didn't realise that this book is written by her plus 3 other people! I did not enjoy it, and it was very difficult indeed to find one's place on the Kindle touch. Don't bother with it. Disappointing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Even though the whole book is not all written by Julia Quinn the style of writing continues. This is almost like 4 stroies that intertein and well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Haven't read it yet, but it didnt take long for me to get this one from amazon, together with another book that I have ordered at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
delivery was good in perfect condition packed with other books so no damage has should be so 5 stars great very happy customer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse