Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2017
This is the one Amicus movie that rarely gets any love by critics, didn't at the time of release and doesn't now. But I love this movie. Stephanie Beacham- sex on legs gets married to Oglivy, great actor and moves into his mansion, this is back in the 1700s. But there seems to be spirits who don't take too kindly to her being there. She can see a face without eyes staring at her, and there is a dismembered hand that likes to roam about the house. Could the woodsman have anything to do with this?

Sterling cast includes Patrick Macnee and Herbert Lom. What makes this a classic for me is that we have to wait until half way into the movie to see the great Peter Cushing, but were never waiting for him to arrive. Solid movie well worth a revisit if you didn't like tmei first time out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
I love this film. No it's not perfect, it was made in 1973 and by todays cgi'd standards looks pretty tame. Yes the hand is clunky but not bad for when it was made. Some of the screaming is over the top, Ian Oglivy's character is irritating and the dog attack hopelessly fake but STILL I love it. It has characters, it has a story which builds as the film progresses. You have to watch it, it doesn't lay it all out on a plate for you and show you the monster from the word go, it takes effort to piece together what's happening to the characters and why and I like that. It's not simplified. Some things are a bit ambiguous, some due to the censorship rules at the time ( you had to be careful showing anything approaching rape ) and some to leave you guessing with the story. You don't get to find out exactly what's happening until two thirds of the way through the story but then your sympathies change dramatically. Like the old Dr Who with rubber monsters and wobbly sets you see the faults and love it anyway. It's well worth a watch. At least you can enjoy a good old fashioned ghost story with characters you can sympathise with and a villain worth hating even if he's not who you think he'll be. Peter Cushing is an added bonus although there's not much for him to do it's always a pleasure to see a gentleman at work.
The house is almost a character in it's own right, very atmospheric, really must visit it some day as it's now the Oakley Court hotel on the Thames. Recommend the commentary with Stephanie Beacham.
Give this a go, it's never going to be as slick looking as a modern horror but that's it's charm.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2008
When Charles Fengriffen takes his new bride Catherine to his anscestral home, strange things start to happen. Catherine seems strangely drawn to the portrait of Charles's grandfather Henry, and also sees an eyeless apparition at the window, as well as being attacked in her bed. Is she going mad, or are there more sinister forces at work? Meanwhile a spectral severed hand is going round strangling anybody who tries to help.
This film has a great cast, and an established genre director, but seems strangely flat. There are moments of great style, but they are few and far between, and it just feels like a mish mash of every British gothic horror from the previous decade. Amicus should probably kept to making horror set in the present day, as this rare foray into gothic territory is not one of their best. Theres nothing terrible about the film, it just feels a bit stale, and fails to either scare or excite this viewer at least.
3 out of 5, but it could have been so much better
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
This is a classic horror in my opinion made in the era of most of the best horror films. The film begins with a Hound of the Baskervilles type of storyline where a wealthy landowner decides to use his power to have his wicked way with a newly wed. The husband, a wood cutter who works on the landowner's land then takes revenge on the family by means of a curse. Set in a typical old manor house the grandson of the landowner falls foul to the woodcutter's curse. Peter Cushing, Stephanie Beecham and that actor who played in the lead role of the seventies series of "The Saint" all star. A few screams take place in this film as the title indicates, although the chopped off hand that moves by itself is a little far fetched. I like this film because I like the typical manor house setting and the fact that its not another vampire story. Not a bad plot and fairly well acted it ticks all the boxes for me. Worth adding to anyone's collection.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
What were British horror films for in the 1970s? I suppose things go in cycles and this comes pretty late. It's interesting (maybe) that the Carry Ons and the Hammer/Amicus breed started and finished around the same time. They are coarse in the main but have some saving graces and some high points like any genre. This is just about watchable for about three reasons. 1. Stephanie Beacham and Peter Cushing are professionals and they know (as most of the cast do) how to say a line without fluffing it, in fact Cushing has a lovely speaking voice. 2. Lurid colour scheme - kind of interesting. I'm struggling now. 3. Err...of its time in terms of final plot-twist although the denouement which includes biblically 'relevant' quotation leaves all sorts of questions about His intentions regarding mankind's behaviour. Less watchable for about 8 reasons but here are three: 1. Not horrific or shocking enough even for this milksop. 2. Plot and script (consequently) so full of holes and absurdities: derivative and lazy. 3. When you chop a man's hand off make sure you can't see his real one strapped inside his shirt. It takes a lot for me actively to dislike a film, so it's watchable but don't expect much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
Charles fengriffen takes his new bride to the fengriffen estate but her happiness is to be short lived, on their wedding/first night on the estate catherine(the bride)is raped by a ghost with one hand and no eyes.She continues to be terrorized by the ghost and is shocked to find that the woodsman who lives on the estate bears a strong resemblance to the ghost but when she tries to enquire about the woodsman she is met with silence even from her husband, but some reluctantly try to tell her and are killed before they can.There is a curse on fengriffen involving the woodsman, everyone knows about it except catherine.

An energetic film with no dull points, the last third is particularly action packed as this is where all is revealed.
All the cast perform well not least of which horror legend peter cushing, good script and great directing.The transfer is perfect and overall not the best amicus production but very good, well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Great quality 35m Print restored to highest quality. great Region 1 DVD. the disc also has 2 Audio commentarys on it, which is a major plus for me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 January 2014
-- And Now the Screaming Starts! Was an attempt by Amicus Productions to move away from the Portmantaeu movies that was their stock in trade, to make a horror movie of only one story. The reason is not to compete with Hammer Films, since there really was no rivalry between the two companies, but just to show that they could if they so chose to go that route as well. What is evident is that their inexperience in this department shows greatly, making the film an enjoyable misfire, if ultimately a frustrating experience.

Story is set in the late 18th century and newlyweds Charles and Catherine Fengriffen move into Charles' family estate. Almost immediately Catherine starts to have terrifying visions, even experiencing what she feels is definite contact with something not of the natural world. Is she going mad? Or is there something seriously malevolent lurking around the dark corridors of Fengriffen Mansion?

What follows is a number of fun and creepy horror sequences very poorly glued together by a minimalist back story and thin characterisations, the Amicus production team just hurtling as quick as possible to the next scene involving Stephanie Beacham being freaked out and screaming. And of course for us to observe her quite magnificent heaving bosom. On reflection it's a collage of more famous and better movies, so a portmanteau movie that's not actually a portmanteau movie!

The cast list features Peter Cushing, Herbert Lom and Patrick Magee. Cushing doesn't show up until late in the day, and as classy as he was as an actor, he is phoning it in here. Lom only appears in an extended cameo flashback, which is annoying since the character is deliciously warped, sort of what Emeric Belasco was for Legend of Hell House. While I'm still not sure what Magee's purpose in the film was? Seriously!

Beacham and Ian Ogilvy's new marriage just sort of sits there without rhyme or reason, interesting threads such as Cushing taking an interest in sexual relations with demons never get expanded upon, and really there's no big finale to crown the story; though skeleton abuse does hold some macabre enjoyment value. Yet in spite of all its problems, it's still a fun night in with the lights off. Beacham's bosom, severed limbs and a vengeful curse from the past ensure it's worth watching for sure. 6/10
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
For me, this is what British Horror movies are all about. Corny, a bit silly, but at the same time honest enough in their approach not to come across as parodies of themselves.

The acting is just a tiny bit hammy and the whole film does feel a little bit too rushed in places, but these are the only criticisms that I have. It makes you jump a few times, and at times actually does deliver a bit of a chill. Yes, so there's a severed hand roaming the house, but although that sounds like it will be dreadful, it is actually quite well done.

I loved this film and wish modern horror could forget its preoccupation with torture and go back to making spooky stories like this.

100% recommend you buy this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
This film scared me when I was a child and now I am an adult gave me a good giggle. Glad I got it for my collection though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)