Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2017
His lordship needs a wife. Luckily he falls upon one, literally. Out of a tree. Ellie needs to get away from her stepmother-to-be. The answer is obvious. There are plots and conspiracies, none of them difficult to work out, but that's not the point. It's all a bit of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
The second in a two-part series. Great Characters and Storyline. Witty, romantic and fun. I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Witty. Julia Quinn is marvellous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When a young, drunk, highly eligible earl falls out of a tree and onto one's foot, what's a young woman to do? Well, being ever practical, Eleanor Lyndon helps him up, dusts him down and takes him back to the village where he's left his carriage. The last thing she expects to recieve is a marriage proposal when a simple thank you would have sufficed.

But Charles Wycombe, Earl of Billington, is desperate. He has two weeks left until he turns thirty, and if he's not married by then, he'll lose his fortune. There's no one in London he can bear to marry, but Ellie seems intelligent and witty enough - she'll do. After all, who'd refuse an earl?

Ellie would. Ellie would absolutely love to, except her father's about to marry the gossip from hell, her sister is abroad and her hard earned investments are out of reach. The future looks bleak, so she has no alternative but to accept.

All thing's considered, Charles is quite delighted with his spur-of-the-moment wife - apart from when she sets the kitchen on fire, kills the roses and causes some unidentified stench that covers the south wing. In fact accidents seem to follow Ellie around where she goes, and for a woman who is the epitome of capability she can't understand how. All she wants is to carve out a place for herself in her new life. Surely no one can argue with that, can they?

This tale is an utter delight. Charles and Ellie are a wonderful pair. sparking wit, tension, frustration and excellent one-liners with every encounter. Some of the situations they encounter are nothing short of farcical, and always carried out with JQ's irrepressible sense of humour.

A wonderful novel that definitely ranks as high as the 'Bridgertons' for me. Read it, enjoy it, then smile.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
I loved, loved, loved this book. It was so funny and so romantic and my heart melts thinking about it. I can't stop smiling. Buy it now!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2004
When I read I like to escape into the book, these books are for entertainment. Thinking too much will spoil the enjoyment of the book. Brighter than the Sun may not be completely historically correct but, it gave me a few hours of reading something that I can enjoy, maybe not a keeper but certainly one I would reccomend to people who like their books fast paced, thier heroines fiesty and characters who aren't concerned with rules of society governing their lives. A good book, but not Quinn's best. If you want that read Splendid, or Dancing at Midnight.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2005
"I always used to think it was the exact color of the sun at sunset, but now I realize that I've been wrong. It's brighter. Brighter than the sun."

- in reference to Ellie's red hair

This WHERE'S MY HERO?-type sequel to EVERYTHING AND THE MOON very carefully does *not* feature Victoria Lyndon, but her sister Eleanor ("Ellie"). In fact, if Victoria were in England at the start of this story, it couldn't take place; Ellie would then have options other than seriously considering the Earl of Billington's proposal of a marriage of convenience as an escape from living with her appalling stepmother-to-be. (He for his part had a cameo in MINX.)

The initial focus is on Eleanor's situation that makes such a marriage a consideration, since that's comic and no longer a factor in the story once the marriage takes place, at which point other factors come into play. Charles Wycombe's situation is explored more fully a bit later on, but thanks to his father's will, he has to marry by his thirtieth birthday or he'll lose most of his fortune to the next heir in line.

Eleanor's father has supposedly learned a few lessons from his mis-handling of Victoria in EVERYTHING AND THE MOON, but nevertheless he is almost absent from this story as his fiancee-to-be, the widowed Mrs. Foxglove, prepares to ride roughshod over Ellie, who doesn't even try to spike Mrs. F's guns by revealing the woman's *written* plans to her father. (Nice touch that she's even *named* after a heart poison.)

After introducing Charles to Ellie as the opening scene by having him fall out of the sky in front of her - he was drunk and up in a tree at the time - Quinn gets matters underway quite rapidly by having Charles propose as soon as he notices that Ellie's presentable and fun to talk to. After a brief brush with her stepmother-to-be and a failed attempt to extract her own savings from her man of business - Ellie having outsmarted herself by setting up her stock investments in her father's name so that she can "relay" orders to play the market - Ellie calls on the now-sober Charles and accepts his offer.

The bulk of the story after this ruthlessly efficient "courtship" deals with the first few weeks of Ellie's marriage to Charles, when the real courtship begins. Her initial settling in at Wycombe Abbey is at first a comedy of errors, when her ordinarily efficent competence can't seem to prevent a series of ridiculous incidents from happening that lead Charles to think her accident-prone in a cute sort of way. The comedy of errors eventually turns into something of a mystery as the accidents escalate in intensity.

The situation as the story opens is within the bounds of possibility (if one doesn't expect the characters' dialogue or behaviour to fit the historical context), but the author's plotting to close off the two leads' alternatives to marrying each other has weaknesses in terms of plausibility. Since all that is cleared out of the way by the end of chapter 3, leaving most of the story to deal with the subsequent relationship issues, I don't think it greatly weakens the story as a whole, but it will annoy readers with tidy minds. Charles, for instance, is crazy to have left finding a wife to less than three weeks before his deadline, not to mention remaining holed up in Kent rather than in London where he'd have better chances of finding somebody. Ellie is intelligent enough to have at least *tried* a few more alternatives before accepting marriage of convenience as her best course of action, but I can see that had she done so, the opening of the book would've had to be rewritten rather carefully to avoid the generally cheerful tone; Ellie's more resigned than despairing at her situation.

The story predates Quinn's development of LADY WHISTLEDOWN'S SOCIETY PAPERS, more's the pity; if she ever creates a revised edition of this book, Lady W would have a field day with Charles' situation and with the subsequent marriage, once it came to her ears.

Points of interest:

- Charles is an inveterate maker of lists, and his irreverent sense of humour can get him into trouble (e.g. when Ellie runs across an old list detailing the ideal characteristics of a wife, which include remaining faithful to him until they've at least had an heir and a spare).

- Ellie's favourite pasttime before her marriage was to work with her financial investments, but we don't see a lot of that even though Charles keeps his word and sees to it that, as he puts it, she gets her money from her man of business in exchange for having allowed him to keep his inheritance.

- The comedy of errors aspects of the post-marital courtship include not only Ellie's sudden accident-prone experiences, but incidents that seriously cramp Charles' style in attempting to seduce her.

Cheerful little romp that may give the reader a few laughs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2008
Our hero, a rake, must marry before his 30th birthday, which is imminent. Circumstances prevail which encourage our heroine to marry this almost stranger. A recipe for love? Of course. I could only give the book a 3 star rating as I had a problem believing Charles had ever been a rake (I have only met one truly rakish rake in all the books I have read, he was marvellous). Also, the contrived circumstances which stop the couple consumating the marriage got tedious and I very nearly skipped chapters to get on with the story. Not to get to a bedroom I hasten to add, simply because Julia's is stories are usually fast paced but well thought out with surprising but believable twists. I knew before he fell Charles would fall from the ladder, the kitchen would catch fire, something would happen to Ellie's plants and stew. I also found the sub plot involving the nefarious cousin tiresome. After reading Everything, and the Moon, I was mildly disappointed. That being the case, the american grammar was even more irritating, english readers will know what I mean, ie, fix (not even used today much, we say mend), the bone jarring story stopping 'gotten' (we use got), the hiring of people (we employ), people being smart (in those days they would have been clever), we are not 'sick' (we are ill), we're not fine (in those days, 'quite well' or 'perfectly all right' or 'perfectly well') I know these words are creeping in to our vocabulary but they were certainly absent a hundred or so years ago and they just made this story harder to believe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2007
Julia Quinn's books are all very appealing - she has great characters whose verbal fencing is generally very amusing. You don't read her books for historical accuracy - this is certainly not her strong point - but they are fun and enjoyable reading.

"Brighter Than The Sun", like her other books, has a feisty heroine, Ellie Lyndon, who finds herself in a marriage of convenience with handsome rake Charles Wycombe, Earl of Billington. But can she reform him and can they learn to live together happily despite some strange occurrences that seem to be causing them danger.

The overall plot of this book is pretty thin - the marriage of convenience turning to love, and various acts of sabotage against both Ellie and Charles - but that's not really the point of the book. Julia Quinn seems to delight in writing amusing dialogue between her characters and this book feels almost as if it's entirely made up of conversation; there's very little description, we learn about most things through our characters' words. Of course they're speaking in a 21st century voice most of the time, no Georgette Heyer-esque Regency accuracy here. Still, it's fun to read and both characters are very charming, Charles particularly. I think the earlier Bridgerton stories are probably better than this (which is, I believe, an older novel reprinted) but this is still an enjoyable read for a lazy afternoon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 1997
In 1817 England, the Earl of Billington, Charles Wycombe, needs to be married within fifteen days or watch his cousin Philip inherit all the money that goes with the estate. However, every female he has met in the marriage mart has been an air head and he would rather spend his life in abject poverty than with an insipid companion. Feisty Eleanor Lynden struggles with the intolerable rules being established by her father, the vicar, ever since he became engaged to the morally correct Mrs. Foxglove. Eleanor realizes that she must find an escape very quickly before they crush her elan.
When Charles falls from a tree and meets Eleanor, he realizes that the intelligent young lady is the answer to his problems and quickly proposes to her. She reluctantly agrees that the notorious rake might prove to be the only viable solution to her current situation. They get married and surprisingly fall in love with each other. However, some unknown assailant is unhappy with the nuptials and plans to put an end to them as soon as possible by any means necessary.
BRIGHTER THAN THE SUN is a typical Regency romance that fans of the sub-genre will enjoy. However, what makes this novel live up to its title is the growing relationship between the charming two lead protagonists. Their witty interplay is extremely jocular as both adapt to love, turning Julia Quinn's book into a wonderful historical romance worth reading.
Harriet Klausner
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse