Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2013
this book seemed to cover most topics of a SEAL, not a bad read to be honest, worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2007
I was very surprised by the author's objectivity as well as his writing skills. Soldiers are not know for their ability with the pen, especially special forces soldiers. The book is very well written, evenly paced and, even though it is told from a first person narrative, incredibly objective. There is no grandstanding or ego trips (compare this to a Dick Marcinko book for example), just the author's experience and his views, related as disspasionately as possible. Yet it manages to be a very interesting and thrilling read. So the objective tone does not detract from the experience at all, quite the contrary, it helps enhance it through its honesty. My only complain was the the book ended too soon for me (even thought it's 314 pages long).

The author tells his stroy from his training in the BUD/S program to his deployment in different parts of the world such as Beirut, etc.

I recommended this to anyone interested in the SEALs or special forces, or just military action in general.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2004
Many books about special forces tend to be gung ho Rambo like,not this one.If you prefer a feet on the ground,real world story by a former Navy SEAL,with no need to overdo his story, then this book is highly recommended.I would have liked to rate this book 4.7 stars.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2011
This was an excellent biography--inspiring, entertaining, and insightful. I was always eager to pick this up and read another chapter. From BUDs training to overseas missions, Pfarrer opens the doors to one man's experiences as a Navy SEAL.

Roger Weston, author of The Golden Catch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
This had the potential to be a great book with some fantastic insights into the training regime that a prospective seal goes through. However, I got the feeling that a great deal of what the author experienced he held back because of the classfied nature of some of the work he undoubtedly undertook. Therefore the book felt that it had been dumbed down somewhat. I also got the feeling that the author was being extremely modest in his achievements and never really gave the incites that I was craving into his operational deployments and the skills that he employed. Huge respect though for his undoubted intelligence and tenacity he displays in the most difficult of circumstances. Good luck Chuck.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2005
Loved it very much. The whole unusual story of life, with all the ups and downs, with all the perspective that the authors puts to himself. Excellent read. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
In the early 80s, navy brat Chuck Pfarrer dropped out of uni and decided to join the Navy SEALs, an elite unit not known outside of military circles. On every other year, you needed to serve in other branches of the military before applying. That year, they took civilians as an experiment...
Chuck Pfarrer recounts his years on and under the waves, in Beirut, South America and any number of nameless, dusty places in a way that's neither humble nor bragging. He gives credit where credit is due, recalls cowardice in others and failure in himself. Above all, he comes across as a real live human being rather than a two dimensional warrior cliche. Which is odd because he went on to write the movie Navy SEALs, a gung ho hunk of junk about two dimensional warrior cliches. I forgive you for the movie, Chuck. Your life story more than makes up for it. Should have made a film out of this instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
It is the type of book you start reading and want more and more. I will highly recommend this book, as it provides a different view on this type of life. It gives inside on how people react in extreme situations, and also shows that even seals have real feelings. A must read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
I really enjoyed reading this book, i just wonder how much more chuck would have been able to tell us if he didnt have politics to deal with. I recommend this book to everyone, it gives a great insight into what war is really like! and not how tony blair or G.W. Bush see it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
I was a bit dubious about picking up this book, but after reading a few reviews, I decided to give it a go. In short, I couldn't put it down and read it cover to cover in record time. I liked the authors down to earth style, insight and wish him all the best with his writing career and health going forwards. Cheers Chuck, a good read and all the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)