Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
X-Men 2
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.49


on 5 September 2012
Like the previous X-Men Omnibus, this is beautifully presented. I can't get enough of the omnibus versions.
Unlike the previous X-Men Omnibus, the stories are actually great, and hang together pretty well (the only exception for me is the Ghost Rider tie in at the end). All the other storylines were on a par with vintage Claremont.
Don't forget to read X-Tinction agenda before this (and after Vol 1)!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Having really enjoyed X-Men 1, I was looking forward to its sequel but I do have to admit that I did find it a bit disappointing.
It does follow on from X-men, but if you have not seen the first one do not worry as it is very easy to pick. All the main characters are there Professor X, Wolverine, Storm etc, plus some very interesting new characters espically NightCrawler.
One of the main disappointments is the disapearance of Cylops in the first couple of chapters. He does not make an appearance again until the very end and as they were trying to build on the romance between Jean Gray, Wolverine and Cylops this is a bit of disapointment. Also the ending of the book is totally different from that of the Film, which I will not give away incase you have not seen the film.
Overall good story, but could do better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 March 2012
I'll be brief. This book is awesome. It's actually awesome. Like, literally. It inspired awe in me. Why? Because the last Claremont/ Lee Omnibus was so awful, is why. That book stuck a serious boot to my 'read Claremont's entire 16-year run on X-Men' plans because of how terrible it was. I may not have bought this one if I had started reading the other beforehand. Still, I was rewarded for my foolishness, because the stories and art in this book are almost as good as when Claremont was at his best, bouncing off of John Byrne in the early 1980s. As revolutionary as some of his storytelling approaches were, it's for his handle on character that I think most fondly of him for, and what this book brings back to the X-Men is character. Once again, these are people I want to read about. I want to read about how they interact, why they like or dislike each other, how they work as a team. Yes, the X-Men are a team again: apologies to all those who pine for the Silvestri wilderness years of Havok and Longshot meandering about in the desert. No, at long last, X-Men and X-Factor are reconciled under the returning Professor X, and so Beast, Colossus and co. make for wonderful reading alongside realtive newcomers Gambit and Jubilee and the returning Rogue (god, I missed Rogue when she was gone). Magneto returns as a credible threat, Omega Red debuts, and thankfully the appearances by cyborg mutie-haters is kept to a bare minimum (hey, it was still the 90s...)

What's best about this collection, though, is the proof that Claremont can still hack it. All he needed, it seems, was someone to play with, and Jim Lee's emergence as not only instant-influence artist but co-plotter is what really let him leave the book on a high (his last issue was X-Men #3, collected here). The scripting itself is keenly observed and honed human supermelodrama, but the stories are big and brave again. Really, this is probably the best X-Men Omnibus to date, and the others (Claremont/ Lee v.1 excepted) have been no slouches.

I don't really need to say this, either, but the presentation is superb. Now, just in case you're wondering as a lot of folks on the Internet seem to be, none of the issues on this book has been recoloured like last year's Thor Omnibus, though the first seven issues of X-Men are being afforded that treatment in the next couple months. Some of Lee's posters and covers, however, have been given a modern gloss to them at the back of this book's considerable package of supplements. Otherwise, look forward to yet another massive Marvel tome that can lay flat from the middle on out, with quality glossy paper stock and sturdy sewn binding. It. Is. Gorgeous.

As far as those extras are concerned, just south of 100 pages are devoted to Lee's artistry, from interviews to afterwords to myriad promotional pieces of artwork. The whole lot. It's comprehensive and more than any fan could ask for. Even his entire set of X-Men trading cards are reprinted, front and back, not to mention the gatefold covers and posters he did (which are presented both in their original format and coloured with modern tech). There are worse books to have if you're a Jim Lee lover.

In three words?

Buy it, bub.

Omnibus Essentials -

Binding - Sewn
Page Count - 880
Issues Collected - X-Factor 63-70, Uncanny X-Men 273-280, X-Men 1-11, Ghost Rider 27-28
Creative Teams - Chris Claremont, Peter David, Jim Lee, Whilce Portacio, Scott Lobdell, Louise Simonson, Fabian Nicieza (w), Portacio, Lee, Paul Smith (a)
Other Books Collected - X-Men & Ghost Rider: Brood Trouble In The Big Easy,
Extra Content - 96 pages of interviews from Marvel Age, rare promo sketches, posters, covers from other issues and TPBs, trading cards...the works
55 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2003
I've read a lot of movie and TV tie-ins in my time, and this is a good one! With the world of the X-Men being so large after all these years, it's obviously hard to get all the history and development of the characters into the movie itself.
But this novel adds all the character development that the movie was unable to due to time constraints, and for die-hard X-fans, has some lovely little knowing nods to the great Marvel canon. So for all those who wanted a little more on Nightcrawler, Mystique, Jason and the rest - read this.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2003
With returning characters, Wolverine, Cyclops, Jean Grey, Storm, Rogue, Professor Xavier, Mistique and Magneto, aswell as new characters such as Nightcrawler, Ice-man and Pyro. The X-men battle together to fight the new enemy, William Stryker. this book is a great novelisation of the film, it is by far one of the best books i have read this year. It has action, love, and ethics to consider. it also does very well in staying true to the comics. this is a book well worth a read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2003
For those of you who may have read the Marvel graphic Novel, "God loves, Man kills" this may seem a little familiar. For those of you who saw the movie first then read the book. the endings are totally different i wont spoil it for you but it is worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2003
Normally, I'm not a big fan of novelisations. I tend to steer clear of them because they suffer from lack of substance. But this one's a little different. For a start, it's always interesting to read the extra little bits that were in the original screenplay, but dropped from the movie during production. But mostly *gasp..shock horror* this novel actually fleshes out the plot, the characters, and the action. This is a book written by someone who has absorbed the whole X-Men universe and is not afraid to use it. If you're an X-fan, you'll love the knowing little nods to other events/characters in the Marvel universe - and even if you're not, it's still well written and well worth the effort.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2003
I ordered this and it arrived the day the movie was out so i read it when i got back and its brilliant. It adds more depth to the movie as it focuses on some characters a little more and explains things in greater detail which i found very good.
It will spoil it if you havnt seen the film so i would advise you to read it afterwards. Also the ending is VERY different to the film but overall this is a must buy for X-men fans casual or die-hard. The writing is of a very high quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2003
To start, it was action packed,taking you deeper into the movie,explaining what happens.It even contains scenes that are not even in the movie, especially the totally different ending,youll have to read it to find out what happens.I Wasnt really looking forward to reading it because of the 4oo+ pages, but when i did,i couldnt put it down, and i read it within a week.So this is a superb novel to an amazing movie sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

X-Men
£3.74

Need customer service? Click here