Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
510
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2005
I have based my star rating mainly upon the value for money aspect for this item compared to the 2 disc version. To get to the point, in my humble opinion it is not worth paying extra for this 3 disc version. The disc comprises several "extras" which on average last about 5 minutes each and in total amount to less than one hours worth of viewing. The "Dead men tell no Tails" extra can basically be watched online and even if you didnt have internet access you wouldnt be missing that much anyway. The longest extra lasts about 13 minutes and a good chunk of this (if not all of it) is actually included within one of the extras on disc 2 anyway. The "Fun look" at foreign dubbed versions of the film isnt fun but does show the skill of the dubbing. Granted, some of the third disc contents is new but bearing in mind that you are paying around £6 or £7 extra for the third disc unless you eat, breath and sleep this film, it is rather poor value for money and after watching the extras on disc 2, disc 3 really pales in comparison. I think that Disney realise this, which is why it has been produced in strictly limited numbers. I also have to wonder whether they could have squeezed some of the contents of the extra disc onto the first two discs if they wanted. The film is of course great and the two disc version is certainly worth paying for.
In conclusion, stick to the 2 disc version me hearties and save some of those hard earned pieces of eight, arrrrrr.
11 comment| 264 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2006
Some may see the Lost Disc edition as a way for Disney to get more money from devoted fans and customers but in essence they are giving us what we want. The film itself is brilliant; fun family entertainment. If you like your extras then this boxset has plenty beginning with a plethora of commentaries on the first disc featuring the cast, writers, producer and director. The second disc has features on everything from the gag reel and the deleted scenes to Jerry Bruckheimer's photo diary and the diary of the ship that 'played' the Interceptor. Look out for the Easter Eggs on the second disc too as there is a brief interview with Keith Richards, the inspiration for Captain Jack Sparrow. The Lost Disc includes more features on the cast and characters with some nice history about the Disney ride that the film was inspired by. In all if you like fun adventure stories then this is the film for you. If you like featurettes, interviews and other extra bits then this is definitely a boxset to invest in.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2006
Good, but there is really no need to spend extra for 3 discs.......
There are tonnes of extras (as you would expect from 3 discs) and they are all very good, my favourites being Deleted Scenes, Image Gallery and Moonlight Serenade Scene Progression. There are only about 10 extras that you would really be interested in or even watch, so there is no point in all of these extras; most of the these are as boring as hell to watch; such as Becoming Jack. The thick box that the three-edition box set comes in is very attractive and feels good.

The story (if you don't already know) *****: Set in the 1700's, Port Royals ships stumble upon a young boy named Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) lost at sea, they save him. Elizabeth (Keira Knightly), the daughter of the governor discovers a golden skull medallion around his neck, she fears he will be executed for piracy, so she takes it herself. The story continues 8 years later. This is a truly awesome film; the graphics, the plot, the acting and well, everything. Johnny Depp plays Jack Sparrow and he is a truly believable pirate. All of the acting is good.

The fighting scenes are awesome. Especially the one when all of the pirates sneak up on the Royal Port's ship. The graphics are excellent for when the Black Pearl's crew turn skeleton-like. The plot is original, and very good. Children under 9ish might not quite follow it. This film, as well as being adventure/action, is also a comedy. There are laugh out loud moments for both parents and children, this is a real family film. This film came 22nd in USA's history of best selling films, and it does live up to its standard.

As I said, you don't really need to buy this three-edition box set; two discs would do you fine. But if you are a real fan (like me) then you should buy this edition, even though you may not ever open the third disc. The film itself earns its 5 stars, and all of these extras are even for greater value,

10/10
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 July 2006
I love this film, easily the best ever based on a theme park ride, and probably up there with the finest swashbuckling adventures ever made. Somehow it manages to take all the old pirate clichés, mix them together and reinvigorate them to create something that's both fresh and fun, yet still endearingly innocent. The story (involving a chest full of cursed Inca gold) is a suitable backdrop to the mostly light-hearted action, the pirate world is convincing and solid-looking, and the effects are memorably grizzly. Anyone lucky enough to have experienced the Disney ride will appreciate the many references and in-jokes, among them the dog with the keys to the gaol and the attack on Port Royal.

It's well known that Johnny Depp steals this film with his outlandish improvised performance, and that Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightley are really nothing more than pretty window dressing, but Geoffrey Rush's Barbossa is more than equal to the hapless Jack Sparrow and chews the scenery with gusto. The final swordfight, in which these two dance in and out of shafts of moonlight whilst battling through a pirate treasure trove, is one of those all-time great movie moments.

This 3 disk edition certainly gives you a wealth of extras, although the `Lost Disc' is a really a gimmick and a bit superfluous. It doesn't matter, though. This is a fine addition to any DVD shelf.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2006
Brilliant, just brilliant. Like other reviewers I had to wonder at the sense of creating a movie based on a Disneyland ride, but then I thought, what the heck, movies have been made of worse things!

I loved the movie. As I child I was given a copy of Treasure Island at my school's prize giving and enjoyed the whole pirate ethos. Ultimately though, the whole pirate thing fell flat until Johnny Depp turned up as Captain Jack Sparrow - finally a pirate that I could believe in! The movie romped from one scene to another barely pausing for breath and certainly leaving no slack in the tale. If I had a criticism, it would be that Orlando Bloom as Will Turner seemed a mite wooden, although he certainly looked the part. Keira Knightley was marvellous as was Mackenzie Crook. Look for a cameo by Guy Siner as the Harbourmaster - UK viewers will know him as "Allo Allo"s Lt Gruber with his little tank!

A cracking movie and the extra disc adds extras that you'll enjoy. The blooper reel particularly for me!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 July 2006
I love it. The whole thing is hysterically amusing, and simply terrific fun to watch; one of the most entertaining big releases I've seen for years. Total nonsense of course, but massively entertaining; people of all ages can find something to enjoy here, if only to spot how many films the writers have parodied. Tongue in cheek is very firmly the order of the day here.

The acting is of an extremely high standard -Geoffrey Rush in particular does a magnificent job as Barbosa; of all the roles in the film, this one is the true gift, as it's classic, full-on cliche from start to finish, and he goes for the maximum effect in no uncertain terms. Superbly over-the-top, I take my (really big) hat off to him. The end to his first scene is a wonderful example -just watch his eyes move when talking about 'guidelines'.

Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly are excellent in their own roles, Jonathan Pryce has his own unique presence, even in a notionally 'nice' role like this, and everyone clearly had a great time. Even the more minor characters were superb. Beautifully stylised, and beautifully realised by people who believe in a sense of professionalism.

But OK, like everyone else, I'll say it. What really lingers in the mind makes this film is Johnney Depp's magical performance, mincing about in dark eyeshadow and liner, with a South African accent that also blends shots of Irish and God-only-knows what into it. Where on Earth did that come from? It's utterly manic, in the best possible way. Mesmerising. While Barbosa is a gift of a role, Jack Sparrow is not, for the character is a stylised, not a cliche'd one, and as such, is not an easy role to play. Johnny Depp rises to the occasion astoundingly, and takes things to another level, whilst retaining artistic integrety. If Keith Richard's was a pirate...

The direction is very impressive. It helps that the script is good, with tightly written dialogue, and a sense that there was a desire to include everything that could possibly be thrown in to make the best possible entertainment without crippling the story by too many additional subplots.

Pacing is about right, though personally, I'd have actually added some of the deleted scenes back in, particularly Depp and Knightly's extended island pieces, which adds quite a bit more depth to their respective characters. This is one of the very few occasions I can think of where I believe a film, far from needing cutting, could actually support another 5 minutes or so. The benefits would outweigh the drawbacks in my view; they could just have made it an extended edition. Oh well. There's great flare shown, delightful humour in presentation, and it moves fluidly, with little slowing of the generally very brisk pace. The effects (visual and audio) and stunts are frequently extremely amusing, and also invariably of a high standard -very good indeed, as you'd expect from a Disney release: they have a reputation for firing cash at wheir productions to get them looking and sounding right, and this is probably the best example so far. There's huge full-range sound, retaining massive energy down to 20Hz, and great dynamic swings, with little evidence of compression. Oh yes, the score is very well-matched to the film too, superbly played, and loaded with deliberate melodrama. Very entertaining.

The DVD issues are all good, superbly mastered, with a delightfully crisp picture quality, lovely colour, and very nicely mixed sound, with a good balance between music / effects and dialoge, which is usually crystal clear. The 2 and 3 disc sets are best, primarily because they are now very cheap -only a little more than the regular release, so why not. They're stuffed with extras, and very nicely presented. The third disc in the triple disc edition is perhaps going a little too far, but that's the one I bought, simply because it cost me no more than the regular release[s].

Is it the greatest film ever? Of course not, and I doubt anyone would pretend it is. 2001: A Space Odyssey it is not. But it is vastly entertaining, and oddly, actually supports repeat viewings, which you can't say about many monster releases. At the very low prices now charged, it'd be a shame not to indulge yourself in a bit of sheer escapism.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2003
This film was a bit of a surprise over the summer because it was so phenominally successful. It lasted for months in the cimema and now will probably do extremely well on video and dvd.
It's a fairly classic pirate story - cursed ship, fiesty lady, man who loves her, humorous pirates with no real harm in them and nasty pirates with lots of harm in them - but it's much more. It's extremely funny and the story does carry a few surprises and an awful lot of nice touches.
The star is Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow, a pirate who turns up in Port Royale, a English settlement in the Caribbean. The same evening the Port Royale is attacked by the Black Pearl - a mysterious ship rumoured to be crewed by the damned who happen to be looking for a piece of treasure. The ship sails away with the treasure and with Elizabeth (Kiera Knightly) the Governor's daughter. Cue the start of an adventure for William (Orlando Bloom) the blacksmith, who is of course in love with her and who persuades Captain Jack Sparrow to help him sail after the Black Pearl.
There is actually a good story in this film, and enough happens that it never feels too long. It twists backwards and forwards, and you're never quite sure who's side everyone is on. Humour aside this would still be a decent film - but with the laughs it's a film I'd watch again and again.
There are also some wonderful effects - the ships are marvellous but the scenes of the cursed pirates (without giving too much away) are really well done, and the swordfights are a lot of fun.
In all, a brilliant film.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2003
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl, based on the famous Disneyland ride, is an exciting, lighthearted epic of 18th Century pirates in the style of Errol Flynn's Captain Blood. It's a fast paced romp that mixes seafaring action, elements of the supernatural, slapstick comedy, and romance. It's not realistic, but thank goodness, it wasn't meant to be.
The plot of the movie centers on a gold medallion (here we see echoes of the Indiana Jones movies) that has supernatural powers. It's being sought by Captain Barbossa (Geoffery Rush) and his cursed crew of ghosts to lift the spell that has doomed them to sail the seas as undead. Chasing them to take back the ship Black Pearl is Captain Jack Sparrow ( Johnny Depp). He is eventually assisted in his quest by blacksmith and expert sword maker Will Turner (Orlando Bloom of Lord of the Rings fame) and governor's daughter Elizabeth Swann (Keira Knightley).
Director Gore Verbinski (Mouse Hunt), working from a screen play by Shrek writers Stuart Beattie, Ted Elliot, Terry Rossio, and Jay Wolpert, gives audiences laughter, excitement, chills, thrills, and even antcipation of further Pirates of the Caribbean movies. For those moviegoers who've visited Disneyland or Disney World, there are several charming references to the ride; my favorite is when the pirates are chasing the women around the port. I broke out in laughter several times, and so did many in the audience. I also found the special effects by Industrial Light and Magic (the same people that do the special effects for Star Wars) are incredible, and the score by Klaus Badelt is lively and stirrring.
For a late summer moviegoing season, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl is definitely worth going to see.
Betty June Moore
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2004
POTC is a wonderful film that manages to appeal to all ages: it's not violent enough to exclude the younger among us, is not vapid enough to make adults turn away, and is simply cool enough to ensure credibility boost when a teenager says they have seen it and liked it. The acting is brilliant. Johnny Depp steals every scene that he is in as Cap'n Jack Sparrow, famous only for being the worst pirate anyone's ever heard of. His blend of scally-wag demeanour, drunken swagger and subtle wit is wonderful and will keep you chuckling for days. Geoffrey Rush is most unscrupulous as Sparrow's nemesis, and he has the pirate accent done to a fine turn! Orlando Bloom is suitably dashing as a blacksmith turned pirate, and Keira Knightley is predictably stunning as the hostage love-interest. A wonderful turn from The Office's Mackenzie Crook as an optically impaired pirate is humourous. However, the real surprise came at seeing Coupling's Jack Davenport playing a more or less straight part and pulling it off!
In short, Pirates is a cracking film, full of humour, action and pirate satire and has a wide appeal. If you haven't seen it yet, which really is highly unlikely, then just buy it anyway because there is no chance that you'll want to send it back.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2006
Brilliant, just brilliant. Like other reviewers I had to wonder at the sense of creating a movie based on a Disneyland ride, but then I thought, what the heck, movies have been made of worse things!

I loved the movie. As I child I was given a copy of Treasure Island at my school's prize giving and enjoyed the whole pirate ethos. Ultimately though, the whole pirate thing fell flat until Johnny Depp turned up as Captain Jack Sparrow - finally a pirate that I could believe in! The movie romped from one scene to another barely pausing for breath and certainly leaving no slack in the tale. If I had a criticism, it would be that Orlando Bloom as Will Turner seemed a mite wooden, although he certainly looked the part. Keira Knightley was marvellous as was Mackenzie Crook. Look for a cameo by Guy Siner as the Harbourmaster - UK viewers will know him as "Allo Allo"s Lt Gruber with his little tank!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse