Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
197
4.6 out of 5 stars
LAMY safari Nib Fountain Pen - Red, Model 016, Medium
Colour: Red|Change
Price:£15.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 April 2016
As an Open University Classical Studies student I can often hand write many pages of notes in a single day. Whilst I’ve tried typing notes directly into my MacBook, I’ve found that I can retain much more if I hand write my study notes, so of course it is very important to use a comfortable writing implement.

About 3 years ago I decided to try a fountain pen in the hope of it alleviating the pain that I have in my arm, wrist and hand when I’m writing for a long while. After much research I purchased a LAMY, and have certainly had no cause to regret this decision. I find that the ink flows very well through the nib, which means I apply less pressure to the page, so the writing experience is far more comfortable.

In addition to this more comfortable writing experience, I also find the LAMY to be quite a stylish fountain pen, the striking colour and design seem to convey a modern perspective on this more traditional writing apparatus.

There are a range of different inks available for the LAMY, which includes erasable (very useful when note taking), and also non-erasable. I usually buy both, and use non-erasable in exams, where my LAMY pen has proved invaluable in terms of increasing the comfort of this already fraught writing experience.

I would make only one improvement to my fountain pen, and this is to include a softer grip, as LAMY do with some of their other products.

Overall though, I think the LAMY fountain pens are stylish, well made, and very comfortable to use. I would certainly recommend them.
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
This is my first ever LAMY Safari fountain pen and I love it. It won't be my last (I have since purchased two more). It comes with a single blue cartridge but you can buy a Z24 converter so you can use bottled ink instead (which I did). The writing experience is lovely - it write as well as significantly more expensive Parker and Waterman fountain pens - and I am quite impressed with the triangular grip that means that the pen is always oriented correctly. An excellent pen for both new and experienced fountain pen users.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Brought for 9 year old daughter as first ink pen for school and is very comfortable to hold and easy to become used to. Infact, suprised how good the quality is for the price. Arrived in an original german box, so initial panic, as it wasn't the same as WH Smith's plastic packaging we'd seen on their shelves but pen exactly the same. Superb website for LAMY too - very design conscious and they seem to have an ethos of keeping pricing low so open to all. I think if i needed a fountain pen i would buy one for myself. Cartridges can be picked up cheaply too, as well as the option to convert into a non - cartridge pen.Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
These Lamy fountains pens are the basically pen porn. My only problem I keep having to replace them because I keep losing them. My bad. I will however continue to keep replacing them because they make me happy. So happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
I love, love, love buying new stationery and this is my second Lamy fountain pen. It has to be the extra fine nib for me as I like my lines thin. The pen in nicely balanced - good for either men or women. The ink flows well and, thanks to the handy viewing window, you have an inkling (ha! ha!) of when it's going to run out. This isn't in the same league as your Mont Blancs or Pelikans, but for a good, durable, hardworking pen, you won't get better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
My 8 year old needs a fountain pen for school now and Lamys are sooo good. My other 2 children have always used them. Work easily and we'll. She's over the moon and feels very grown up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
I really like lamy products. The are all well made. This is my 6th lamy fountain pen. I still use the pen I bought for school 7 years ago, it still works really well. You can't get better than a safari pen, far better than Parker.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Great pen. I use them all the time but usually manage to loose or misplace them.
Works better than my very expensive Mont Blanc which leaks over my fingers everytime I use it (so I no longer do).
You can't go wrong here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
the nib isnt very good its is very thin and hard to write with. as well this picture makes it look like its matte and it isnt a very nice shade of blue. i would not recommend anyone to buy this product. here is a picture of the actual colour.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Favourite school pens for my children. Good quality help the hand writing. I have also invested in a new nib also from Amazon, yet to try, but may help the continual replacement of pens every year or so for children.
Great blue colour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)