Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
137
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2017
A film you can watch many times and still enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
looking foward too it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 June 2008
I was quite surprised when I watched this film - why? - well I wasn't expecting what I got.

I watched a well thought out and gripping film. It's a long time since I sat down and watched a dvd all the way through, without moving from my chair.

It is quietly played (rather than the usual bang, loud and in your face style that you usually get these days) by Josh Hartnett (proving that he's not just a bit of eye candy for the girlies in his underplayed lead character "Slevin"); Bruce Willis (who showed that he is more than "Die Hard"), Morgan Freeman (sorry but I've always found him a bit on the wooden side, but he's not that bad in this), Ben Kingsley (I've still not forgiven him for the Americanised Thunderbirds film). It would have been so easy for these roles to be overplayed but their not, with one exception ... I found the Lucy Liu acting for the character of Lindsley over cooked and very hammy.

The story plays out nicely at a good steady pace, and it held me throughout.

The only down side to the film in my point of view is Lucy Liu (I realise that men have to have their totty to look at but the scenes that appeared in seemed to be the only real disappointment, the only bits that seem to drag-on a little and unnecessarily slow the story down and the character was overplayed and irritating).

The down point to the dvd is again the very, very poor amount of extras (2 of them - the making of and a trailer).

Once again region 2 equals second class citizens in the dvd world. Normally I would have reduced the stars given but the film was very good and doesn't deserve the downgrade.

I enjoyed it ... if you're unsure rent it or borrow it from a friend and give it a try. I'm glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 March 2007
...though you can be forgiven for thinking he was relying on his good looks to build himself a career after seeing some of his other films. I don't know how "Lucky Number Slevin" did in the box office, but if there was justice in the world it should have been a hit. As it is... I sincerely recommend it as a rental.

The dizzying interiors notwithstanding, the plot is slick, compelling, and insufficiently shallow to be dismissable. (And if you're a fan of 70's decor, then the interiors will be dazzling rather than as described.) The acting is uniformly convincing -- nothing less than you can expect from such an impressive cast, I suppose, though disappointments have been known -- and the story twists and turns without falling off the rails of its own ingenuity. The violence can be somewhat startling, but if you're in the mood for a thinking thriller, rent this. Or buy it, if you're a fan of any of the cast. It's a pretty good film to include in their CV's, and the plot is complex enough to warrant repeat viewing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
Impressively cast, well acted, funny and cleverly written dark comedy that is definitely worth a look. Keeping company with legends such as Morgan Freeman, Ben Kingsley and Bruce Willis (who has been taking more and more great roles recently), Josh Hartnett takes the lead in the title role and plays it well. Freeman and Kingsley are as ever faultless and brilliant. Willis is fantastic in this kind of role. The dark, understated, non-action-blockbuster, big cast thrillers suit him well. Keep it up Bruce. To top off this top-notcher, Lucy Lui is looking gorgeous in her role as the love interest. Put it on your list.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2006
When a movie is classed as Tarantino-esque I don't get overly excited as Tarantino isn't one of my favourite directors for a `sit and watch and don't think too much about it' kind of movie. But Lucky Number Slevin was getting good reviews so I took the plunge....and was suitably impressed.

Lucky Number Slevin is a mistaken identity gone horribly wrong. Slevin Kelevra turns up in New York to see his friend Nick....but Nick has gone AWOL...and when two goons turn up looking for Nick they decide Slevin is in Nicks place so he must be Nick. Before he knows it Slevin is being courted by not one but two mob bosses who task Slevin with killing the other or taking the bullet himself. Talk about an offer you can't refuse! I won't say too much more as it may give the game away....but this movie is more than it first appears and I was impressed by the twists and turns it took because you never saw them coming.

With an all-star cast of Bruce Willis, Ben Kingsley, Morgan Freeman, Lucy Liu and Josh Hartnett this film was bound to be a good `un. Mix it with the great one-liners and twisting plot and it goes from being a good `un to being brilliant!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Difficult to avoid Tarantino references in any review of this film - not only does it show the same kind of style, it even has some actors QT used in Jackie Brown (Robert Forster) and Kill Bill (Lucy Liu), not to mention Bruce Willis from Pulp Fiction of course. Given the prelude of a family assassination back in 1979 over a corrupt betting ring, it wasn't too hard to figure out that Slevin (Josh Hartnett) wasn't the innocent wrong-place/wrong time victim he makes himself out to be when he's abducted by gangsters and that the character played by Bruce Willis has a big connection with what went down all those years ago. The characterisations aren't quite Tarantino fare but the storyline and overall production design definitely is, and I for one didn't mind it at all. Ultimately it's a tale of revenge and with a liking for the old eye-for-an-eye deliverance. Personally I liked it, although I thought Morgan Freeman was slightly miscast in the role of the big bad gangsta boss. Hartnett impressed more than any other though, as he really showed two different characters in each half of the film: one the nice and innocent good guy, the other a cool and deadly assassin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2008
Intriguing from the start, where a sucession of murders are carried out by unknown assasains, and entertaining throughout.

Bruce Willis explains at the start how story began: with "the Kansas City Shuffle". Slevin (Josh Hartnett) (and his towel) have dropped in to stay with Nick. But Nick has disappeared. Lyndsey (Lucy Liu) is the excellent girl from across the hallway, trying to solve the mystery of what has happened to Nick, whilst all the gangsters - The Boss (Morgan Freeman) and The Rabbi (Ben Kingsley) - think that Slevin is Nick...

The film won awards for the soundtrack, but I would have given it awards for the retro wallpaper and the design of the gangsters lairs, which were very stylish.

The film is really enjoyable, although the DVD extras were disappointing. The "making of" film is a succession of actors & film crew just saying how great everyone else on the film is, although the theatrical trailers are a masterclass in editing, but rather full of spoilers.

Watch and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2007
For the first twenty minutes of the film you'll be sat there trying to work out what the hell is going on and wondering if you're going to have sit through the full 2 hours of the film in pretty much the same state.

Stick with it, the perseverance is well worth it. Bruce Willis, whilst not at his best here, still has enough class to carry the film on his own, but he doesn't need to when he has the support of the supremely talented Morgan Freeman and Ben Kingsley. Lucy Liu is, as always, energetic and refreshing and adds light relief when it is seriously needed as this film would have been a little too dark without her.

My only real complaint is with Josh Hartnett. I'm not a fan, never have been, but he seems to be getting even more wooden with age. Surely they could have found a better young actor for this role?

The plot is excellent, from a slow start it gathers pace nicely and has some decent twist - thoroughly recommend the film to anyone with the patience to let it grow on them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)