Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change

on 24 May 2016
A great album and sadly overlooked by many. Still sounds great 13 years later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
Great album and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2003
It's sad that this album seems likely to be largely underrated by many. The Bluetones are a good band who unfortunately seem unable to inspire much more than apathy from the record buying public. This is a great shame because this album really is good. Their previous album "Science and Nature", contained some gems, but seemed to struggle to keep a healthy balance between serious music and the Bluetones jokey, toungue-in-cheek approach to song writting (songs like "Autophilia - Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love My Car" don't smack of great musical intergrity) But this album is different. With ten tracks in 34 mins, there's no time for messing about with lengthy reprises of half humourous choruses. All the tracks are upbeat and punchy. Just as you're becoming hooked on one, it shoots full pace into the next. This is one of those albums that will have you humming away and tapping your feet long after you've turned the cd player off. The sly humour is still there, lyrics like "Keep hearing/ the same rumours/ about you and/ satsumas" will make you smile, but never compramise the music.
In my opinion this is exactly the sort of album the Bluetones should have released, its a deffinate change for the better, and worthwhile addition to a cd collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2003
First off, it has to be said, that unlike the throwaway pop bands of recent times, the Bluetones have longevity. It's unfortunate that they have also been largely ignored by the general public since their first album release "Expecting to Fly". Still, unlike throwaway bands of recent times, the Bluetones can write a decent tune, and they've got a distinct style that is their own.
Luxembourg shows that the Bluetones in a rockier mood. The character on the cover may not look very Rock'n'Roll, but there's an album chock full of varied influences and cheeky lyrics.
The drums kick in and the guitars are driving through every song. "Here It Comes Again" is a great opener, and maybe too radio-friendly, (for some reason, I kept thinking of the Go-Go's '80's hit "We got the beat", but by the time the chorus kicks in, the Go-Go's are forgotten. It's a song that's designed to stay in your head.
Other contagious moments are Liquid-Lips, I Love the City, Fast Boy, and You're no fun anymore, but really, it's ALL good.
Maybe the abscence of 'filler' is the reason why the album is quite short. 10 songs (the longest being just over 4 minutes) is a bit disappointing, but at least there are 10 different songs, and not a 15 minute song, and a 15 minute dance remix. There are some things you have to be grateful for...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2003
If this album had been released by a new, upcoming band, they would have been rightly acclaimed as the saviours of British music. So why has the album received such mixed reviews? Simple- the Bluetones just aren't fashionable enough to be welcomed in a world dominated by Girls Aloud and the White Stripes. The Bluetones have always been excellent at spinning a fantastic tune (think If, Bluetonic, Zorrro, Solomon Bites the Worm, etc.), and although this album has been described as 'completely different', anyone who rates decent guitar pop will find that this album delivers. Yes, it has an edgier and occasionally electronic feel, but retains the Bluetones' knack of sticking a tune in your head which will remain there for days. 'Here it Comes Again', 'Turn it Up' and 'Big Problem' are simply superb pop songs (and, incidentally, its about time we reclaimed the word 'pop' from the likes of S Club and Gareth Gates- don't forget the Beatles were 'pop'), while 'You're no Fun Anymore' and 'Little Bear' get better with every listen. But the best song on the album is the soon-to-be-single-of-the-year 'Never Going Nowhere'. In any sane, decent country, this simply superb song would be a contender for number 1, but will in fact be doing well to trouble the lower echelons of the top 40. A shame, as the track is worth the price of the album on its own. The Bluetones are to be congratulated on another fine pop album, and on reminding us that quality will always transcend fashion. Why not ignore the critics and give it a try? You might just remember why you bought that copy of 'Slight Return'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2003
After the excellent Science & Nature I was looking forward to this album but I have to say I feel a little disappointed. Where's the fun lyrics and the catchy tunes, Where's the slow thoughtful tracks.
I have all the Bluetones albums, and enjoyed them all, but in my view this is the weakest. It is brave of the Bluetones to changes their sound but I don't really feel it was necessary.
I wish they had carried on where the last album ('Science & Nature') had left off but this album just seems to lack the warmth and charm that their other albums possessed. There are little glimpses of it here and there especially with "Never Going Nowhere" (which for me is the best track on the album) but mostly this album sounds overly loud and garish. At times it almost feels as if all the instruments are fighting against each other to be heard (Little Bear) and it doesn't make for a very pleasant listen.
It's not all bad. The first four tracks are all very good and "Never Going Nowhere" is excellent. It's just, for me, the rest of the album lets it down.

If you absolutely love everything the Bluetones have done before then buy this and judge it for yourself.

Overall: 3 out of 5. There is half a very good album here.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2006
This album is upbeat, catchy, and above all oozes quality. The slow-building 'Never Going Nowhere' is one of their finest accomplishments since the likes of 'Slight Return' or 'If', with the demonic-sounding 'Turn It Up' and the cheeky 'You're No Fun Anymore' being my other big favourites. It is a consistently great record, with no tracks standing out as obvious fillers, easily playable from beginning to end.

It should be noted that this offering from the Bluetones has a different feel to their earlier work. It is heavier, meatier; it's an album to drive along to. The lyrics remain as witty as ever, yet the sound is firmer, the guitars louder, all feeling more precise and multi-layered than before.

Whilst their first album, `Expecting To Fly' is a seminal part of the 1990's Britpop canon, containing, ultimately, their best tracks, I would nonetheless still rate `Luxembourg' as my favourite. As a complete package it is a funky, clever, upbeat listen; with a distinctive style that runs throughout. I highly recommend this.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2003
As a fellow Hounslow-ite, I have always had a soft spot for the Bluetones. Expecting to Fly will always find a place on my stereo, and whilst flawed, tracks such as Four-Day Weekend and Down at the Reservoir mean Return to the Last Chance Saloon had enough to make it passable.
Science and Nature, on the other hand was a lacklustre effort, and represented what many thought to be the last Bluetones album. So here we have Luxmebourg (the irony of the title should not be lost), unheralded, unexpected, under the radar. But is it unbelievable or unlistenable?
Well, I'm currently listening to it for the third successive time in rotation and I'm amazed. It's not an album to blow you away sonically, but I have to say I'm already in love with this record. Opener Here It Comes Again signals their intent, upbeat, simple and melodic. Fast Boy, the better of the recent double A-Side release maintains the impetus and sounds as if it could easily become a live favourite.
Standout tracks after two listens are Never Going Nowhere and I Love The City, the first a deceptive ballad that grows into a bouncy pop song with some very 80's harmonies, the second a forthright rocker that could sit happily on any so-called 'new rock revolution' compliation.
The Bluetones have an image problem, they know it, we know it. They're not the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, and as long as you're prepared for that, then you'll probably get along just fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2003
After reading the review from the guy at Amazon I couldn't help but feel like he just doesn't get it. The Bluetones are the perennial underdogs, the small weedy blokes that look like they were always the last to be picked in football but this is a big part of their appeal. The Bluetones have always had a certain tongue-in-cheek quality to their sounds that goes over most people's heads, examples include 'Autophilia' from Science and Nature which is basically a love song between man and motor or the classic 'Cut Some Rug' from Expecting to Fly - a tune about a man's fear of confrontation but ultimate love of dance.
Luxembourg is by no means a ground breaking album, but card-carrying Bluetones fans won't be disappointed. From the S&M rock ballad 'You're no Fun Anymore' to the high-octane pollution praising 'I Love The City' the album is an absolute pleasure to listen to. The only negative thing about the album is it's length. At a shade under 35 minutes it's a little on the short side but the quality definately makes up for quantity. Don't let this put you off though and remember to pay attention to the lyrics, the observant will be rewarded.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2003
The Bluetones have had 11 top ten singles in the past but have been a little quiet since they released their singles collection last year. But now, free from their record contract they release Luxembourg.
The CD is like a slightly more rock version of their old ‘not quite Brit pop indie’ sound, but singer Mark Morris’ voice still sounds lovely, and they’ve still got it.
The singles Fast Boy and Liquid Lips reached number 25 in the charts this week, but although they are average songs, Bluetones fans shouldn’t be disheartened. It is Never Going Nowhere that stands out as the best track on the CD, it should have been the first single ... It’s a catchy song about the quietly sad moment you realise you no longer love your partner anymore. The opener Here it Comes Again is good and I Love the City and the bizarre You’re No Fun Anymore are also highlights, the latter being a strange track about weird sex – “I keep hearing/ the same rumours / about you / and satsumas”.
The Bluetones aren’t breaking any new ground with Luxembourg but have definitley still got it. The CD is really good – well, it is the Bluetones, isn’t it?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)