Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 14 April 2013
The Monster Club up until 2008's Stuck was the final film by Amicus. This was their 8th anthology- coming out 7 years after From Beyond the Grave. It is without doubt also their most comedy themed film, although The Vault of Horrors runs it close.

The Monster Club is either loved or hated- partly due to the fact that the film seems a complete different entity to the famous 7 which preceded it. But however silly at times the movie is, it does have it's serious parts.

The wraparound story boasts the supreme talent of both Vincent Price and John Carradine. Price the vampire (his only vampire role) invites Carradine to his club, where there he tells him a selection of stories.

The first segment is fairly effective. A lonely ghoul who needs help with his belongings in his mansion. He receives it, however the scheming woman is really after his jewels and money. Just turn the sound down when he whistels, trust me it's sound advice.

The second story possibly had some potential, but for me, did not work. It's about a vampire dad and the less said about it the better. It does however feature Donald Pleasance.

The final segment, is easily the best story and is quite eerie if not scary in places. Obviously filmed on the grounds of shepperton- you'll be able to recognise a few sights from The House that Dripped Blood. This one involves an American film director looking for the ultimate location- naturally he gets more than he bargained for from the locals. A good story, that works well.

Between stories, we are treated, or treated not to some pop, punk, rock fusion. Very embedded in the early 80s. Whilst no doubt some tracks are catchy, it's nothing more than a goofy venture and a few laughs to be had.

So, Monster Club is certainly a different affair from other Amicus offerings. However with two good stories out of three and the appearances of Price and Carradine, this is good stuff for the horror fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Great release by NetWork, the Blu-ray is really nice, and what a great classic horror with a top cast, all three tales are so spooooky. Once again a brilliant release from network, hopefully more to come. What I love about this release is the art-work, they have done a nice job of the cover and inner slip with a party of Witches, Ghosts, Werewolf's, and all sort of creatures of the night.


Isolated music score audio track
Original theatrical trailer
Textless Material and Promo
Image gallery


review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
Though The Monster Club has a dubious reputation as being a bottom-of-the-barrel horror anthology, if you can look past the budgetary shortcomings, it's a fun film that has a great cast of horror icons and recognisable British character actors, including Vincent Price, John Carradine, Donald Plesance, Richard Johnson, Stuart Whitman, Britt Ekland, Patrick Magee, amongst others.

Network were obviously able to get hold of the negative and strike a new transfer from that, as the image detail is spectacular and the colours pop like never before. The level of detail is such that you can practically see the bored expressions of the extras through the eye-holes in the cheap masks they are wearing.

The only possible issue I have with the transfer comes during the ghoul segment, where the dull grey hue that is present in the village of Loughville seems to have been dialled-down considerably - this is possibly an error during the striking of the new transfer, but considering how amazing the transfer is in general, it's something I can live with.

The extras are VERY sparse, with only an isloated music & effects track, a trailer, a text-less version of the trailer, the text-less opening and closing credit sequences and a rather pointless montage of clips from the film (presumably to try and bolster a fairly paltry extras list).

If you can live without substantial extras, then this Blu-ray release of Milton Subotsky's last cinematic hurrah is something to pick up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2012
An ill-conceived and rather sad attempt to breathe life into the horror compendium by placing the back story in a nightclub and interspersing the stories with second rate music acts of the era. What is so mysterious is that this was made in the same year as the mostly excellent Hammer House of Horror, proof that it wasn't necessary, even in 1980, to introduce gimmicks to produce good horror stories. 'The Shadmock' has its moments, but the other stories are simply dire. Worth having if you collect these films, but you won't watch it more than once: it's a bit of an embarrassment I'm afraid.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2009
I remember seeing this film when i was 11 yrs old many years ago. I hadn't seen it since then till recently when i thought id rewatch it to see if my childhood memories would be the same as today..er..well no not exactly !

The monster club is a truly truly awful movie from start to finish. What the hell vincent price and especially donald pleasence were thinking agreeing to this is unbelievable ! Pleasence famously didnt want to appear in horror classic Halloween and had to be talked into it by his daughter..so it beggers belief what possesed him to do this! maybe he was possessed !

First off the scenes in the monster club have a certain kooky charm. The monster masks though are some of the most ridicluous and fake masks ive ever seen..really they are that bad..just watch the trailer for it and you'll see what i mean ! they could have been rented out of any fancy dress shop and just plonked on an actors head..really pathetic.

The 3 stories have more in common with tales from the unexpected rather than creepshow or tales from the crypt. The first story is pretty avearge indeed but its the 2nd which is truly diabolical. The 3rd story is definately the best and one scene in particular is very chilling but even this is spoilt by a ham ending..all that was missing was a nudge nudge wink wink at the end.

If your bored one sun afternoon and are desperate to watch something then this passes the time to some degree but even by horror standards of 1980 when i was made it is pretty bad. This one is best left to rot in peace i think !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
The best quality version of the best horror anthology of all time.
The stories that unfold here range from terrifying to outright hilarious as a well established horror writer is invited to an underground London night club frequented by every monster conceivable to get inspiration for his next book.
In between each story he is told we are treated to the entertainment in the club, great music from The Pretty Things, BA Robertson and even a stripper who peels off more than her clothes!
I have loved this fun movie ever since I was a wee boy and will probably watch till I'm a wee old man.
This Bluray presentation does it more than justice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2018
Loved this when I first saw it as a kid. But this movie has not aged well at all. The HD transfer reveals the awful makeup effects for 3 average horror tales told by Vincent Price. The Monster Club setting is fun and Werewolf manager is quite funny but the annoying pop songs that play between the stories are well past the sell by date. The finale scene from the last story when the two policeman turn around and look at Stuart Whitman in the back seat of the police range rover remains an hysterical highlight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
A writer of horror stories is invited to a "monster club" by a mysterious old gentleman.

There, three gruesome stories are told to him; between each story some musicians play their songs.

In the end, it's recognised he's the greatest monster of all....

Anthology movies were rife in the seventies and early eighties, but none more is as camper as this very peculiar gem.

I have never seen a movie where they play some utterly bonkers Ska music between stories.

And those stories, just beyond bizarre.

The best one has to be about the shadmock, a guy who lives on his own and can turn cats into cheeses on toast with just a whistle. A couple of crooks con him by getting the woman to pose as help, so she can get close and take everything.

After a musical interlude, we are taken to the funniest story, involving Donald Pleasence, Ketchup, and a gang of mustachioed vigilantes.

The poorest story is ironically the eeriest, but it feels out of place compared to the other stories, involving a film maker who somehow gets transported to another time.

It's ludicrous, with silly wolfs and even cruder masks, but it works, thanks to the film being tongue in cheek and knowing it.

well worth checking out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2017
...but great fun! As I get older, I prefer my horror to be more subtle and 'gentle, leaving my gore hound days behind me. "The Monster Club" is horror-light with some great comedy thrown in for good measure. A typical portmanteau - with a comic central tale - using the club as the wraparound, this film is great fun with a beautifully measured performance from Price. His final speech is chilling and oh-so true. An OK Blu ray presentation of a fun film, perfect for this time of year as we approach Hallowe'en.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2015
Carradine, Pleasence, Price on last hurrah for the greatest horror film actors that celluloid ever witnessed. Released at a time when movie studios were making slasher movies and very adult horrors this film was released and was widely disregarded. Yes by this time all the actors were well into their twilight years and it was another horror anthology based in a club were two men were discussing stories about various monsters that frequented the club. The stories were ok and some more atmospheric than the other. Was nice to see the main actors for what would be the last time in lead roles and the direction from a Hammer director was ok but it did not stand up at all to the other horrors that were being released at the cinema at this time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)