Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
Catch -  Flame [Limited Edition]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£26.86+ £1.26 shipping


on 30 June 2006
For years Paul Weller has been regarded as one of the leading live performers and with such a strong back catalogue has always managed to keep his live shows fresh. Musically his band are fanatstic making a number of the 'live' performances even better than the already excellent studio recordings. Having only got this a few days ago the stand out tracks so far are 'Changing Man' 'Blink and you'll miss it' from his solo material and of course 'that's Entertainment' and 'A town called malice' from The Jam days. With 23 tracks and very little filler this is a great value purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2006
Simply stunning. A great cd that boasts all the hits ranging from the angry days of The Jam, the coffe house infused Style Council through to the modern day anthems of his solo work. This live album is an absolute must for any weller fans collection. It was recorded live at the London leg of his tour to promote "As Is Now" and captures a genius at work. Its hard to believe that someone who nearly a half of a century old can produce such an energetic and awe inspiring performance, but this confirms it can me done. The Mods live on.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2006
I am a big Jam / Weller fan , I saw the Jam live in my youth and have seen Paul solo several times . But this CD disappointed me . I saw him on this tour admittedly not at Alexander Palace ,but at what was probably a smaller venue ( The Brentwood Centre ). Now I know that live CD's are a difficult concept to carry off but I feel this ones missed the mark , it seems over produced , and doesn't really convey the atmosphere there is very little audience participation until the very end when Paul performs "Town Called Malice" , before this you could almost wonder if the audience had been dubbed on later . There is no "banter" from Paul , and almost no track introductions ...Die hard fan's will buy it undoubtably as I have done , but don't expect to be thrilled by it .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2006
This is the ideal album to listen to some of the best records recorded in the last 25 years, with Paul Weller live you always know that you are in for a treat, there is compassion, tight musicianship and hard hitting lyrics,and with this 2 disc cd you get all this in your front room (or i.pod). From tracks from jam and style council days upto songs from his latest studio album, Paul provides proof of why he won a brits award earlier this year. In my view you can only beat the atmosphere of this set by actually seeing him live, the whole band play with style and you can sense the enjoyment everyone is having.If you love live music this is a must have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2006
I have to say that I only wrote this review because the main amazon review irritated me so much. I really don't know what Paul Weller does to deserve such acidic reviews, even when the reviews are positive they seem to be so begrudging in their content that you know the reviewer is hating himself/herself for the good words. I would urge anyone who listens to this to forget who PW is and just listen - its good stuff! He's a fantastic musician and writes some great songs - this alone makes this album worth buying. Now my title probably gives my away my prejudiced but you listen to "town called malice" and just tell me this is not a great album by a great artist!! enjoy!!.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2006
There seems no shortage in releases from the Weller camp - box-sets, reissues, compilations and then live albums.

Weller's "Days Of Speed" was a stunning live album, its acoustic (in the main) setting allowed the strength of songwriting to come through.

Here we have the full live band. There is no doubting the excellent, virtuoso drumming of Steve White and the overall tightness of the band. Steve Cradock for all his backward looking is a fine guitarist and the sound here is accomplished. The songs are mostly fine as well, which is what you'd expect.

Where this album comes apart a little is the tedious extended guitar solos. A 10 minute version of The Jam's "In The Crowd" is self-indulgent and mind-numbing. Weller and Cradock might know their frets but they can't play good enough to keep me interested for that length of time.

Where this album works well is on live versions of "Broken Stones" (always a pleasure to hear), the recent excellent single "Come On/Lets Go" and on the evergeen "That's Entertainment" and "Town Called Malice."

Chuggers like "Blink And You'll Miss It" are best forgotten.

A fine live performance, a reasonable live album with a handful of excellent live renditions.

The wider question is does the man need to find another gear? Another facet? Quite possibly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2006
Anybody who has followed Paul Weller throughout his career will appreciate the special bond he shares with his fans. Weller appreciates their loyalty, the audience his hard work and great songs.

Much anticipated, this album does not tick all the boxes it should. Due to terrible editing there is a total lack of interaction with the crowd with most of Pauls comments between tracks edited out. We are treated to a few Thanks You's, but nothing else. There are even fade outs between some tracks, which completely destroys the flow of the show.I saw him in Brighton a week or so before this concert and he was electifying, this album fails to capture the magic of Paul Weller live.

The BBC broadcast from Guildford festival, blows this out of the water, shame V2 couldn't reach an agreement and release it.

The songs on Catch-Flame span most of his career and are as always wonderful, but the mix spoils it for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
Great thank u
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2013
Paul Weller is a legend of an artist and this is a concert for the fans. An excellent cd that captures the live and intimate performance. Delivered quickly and efficiently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2007
This double live is the second in Weller's solo discography, everithing is fine, old and new classics,the ltd edition comes in a beautiful retro packaging! you will not regreat!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)