Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 15 December 2017
A decent, classic game. Not quite as long as I remembered it being, but decent enough for nostalgia. Works well on the 360, with a few issues with the sound going a bit dodgy at times (though this is common with classic xbox games on the 360). Fairly cheap and looks brand new. Very happy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2012
I picked up an original Xbox on the cheap around a year ago and Fable was one of the first games I decided to buy, along with Star Wars Battlefront 1 and 2, and Halo: CE. I had fond memories of staying up late when I was round friends' houses, sitting in the dark and taking turns to complete quests and watch our character grow into a hero of the people or, equally, turn into a crazy demon badass. After playing around four hours this time around, I found myself getting extremely bored, and genuinely having to just turn the console off and switch to something more entertaining on my PC. It's not that Fable wasn't ground-breaking for its time, and it will always hold a place in my mind as one of those RPGs (alongside Final Fantasy IX, Chrono Trigger and The Legend of Zelda: Link To The Past) that really just stunned me when it first came out. Unlike those games, however, it doesn't stand the test of time nearly as well and the gameplay simply feels dated; I can't quite explain why, but the best way to describe it is that it plays like a PS2-era RPG. It's fun, but so, so many of them were exactly the same. Around 18 months ago, a game called Alice: Madness Returns was released on the current generation of consoles, and that similarly suffered from the traits that make Fable feel old. Old in a bad way. It's a shame, but I would suggest that, unless you REALLY ABSOLUTELY HAVE to play the original Fable again, you'd be much better off picking up one of the other games I mentioned, or even Fable 2 or 3 because, to quote a recent meme, if you pick up the original Fable, you're gonna have a bad time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2014
Kids loved this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2014
I got addicted to this and my eldest son kept going evil, this was to annoy me because I wouldn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
This is actually just a more basic version of Fable II, there is not a great deal of difference between them, but is more than worth the money for you to have a go and enjoy the game and it provides something new to the story you may not already have known, but it is not something that you seriously need to appreciate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2008
I mean that whilst the game is indeed very good the fact you can be good or evil doesn't make one jot to the game,you're good everyone cheers and gives you respect,you're bad everyone jeers you a bit,does it affect the game?NO!,you don't get attacked on sight for being evil,prices aren't cheaper if you're good,places aren't inaccessible being one or the other,There was mention at the time about how you could damage a tree and some years later the damage will still be there,same thing applied to scars etc..,can you? NO!,overall a very good game but doesn't deserve all it's praise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2007
Well, where do I start? The game itself has now had 3 editions, the original 'Fable' followed by 'Fable - The Lost Chapters' (Classics range) and is now included in (which comes as no suprise to me)the 'Best of' section of the Classics range.

- This game is phenominal. The story is so in depth and the possibilities are endless! Good or Evil - for those of you that hadn't played the original Fable these are the two choices that face you whilst you play. Will you lead a heroic onslaught of all that is evil in the world? Or will you pursue all that is pure and good, destroying, and creating a reign of terror along your way? The choice is yours. Anyway, onto the storyline - which I must say is superb! The game starts with you as a small child, it's your sisters birthday and your father has asked you to get her a preasent. You have one problem though, you have no money. So your Dad offers you a deal - for every good deed you do around the town he will give you one gold coin. However, there are other ways of getting the money you require. For example: A local bully is threatening a young child for his toy, and the boy cries for help. You are now faced with those two choices again. You could either: defeat the bully and get the gold off your father for performing a good deed...or you could kick the holy crap out of the little kid until he offers you gold to leave him alone. Its quite simple, yet very entertaining! After the gold is gathered for your sisters birthday you buy her a present and just as you go to give her this preseant, bandits raid the town...typical? Your father is killed and your mother and sister kidnapped. You are left alone. That is until a mysterious man appears and explains that he is your only hope of survival. Now this is where the real game starts. This man is infact Maze, head of heroes at the heroes guild. He and the guildmaster(whom you will also meet)train you to become a hero, to fight evil in the world - that is, if you want to of course, lol! You are told that there is a growing evil arising in Albion (the world in which the game is set) and you are given a series of missions besides the main story line to complete. Along the way you will grow stronger and wiser, enabaling you to use heavier weapons and powerful spells to defeat your foes. You are faced with a huge arsenal of weapons and spells to choose from, each with there own unique ability and strengths. There are also many types of clothing, armour and mystacal robes to wear - all of which you will buy with your hard earned cash...and its tuff being a hero! As for the extra content in the game - excellent! Another island to explore more weapons, more armour, more monsters to fight and another chunk of story to play through. There are so many secrets to unvail, so many choices to be made and so many puzzles to be solved that you will simply never grow weary of this game. It can be played again and again. I loved it, so will you! Now go, buy this game, and be faced with the choices that I have...Good or Evil, what will you be? 5/5 - Phenominal!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2007
A truly stunning game, that whilst not a long adventure is absolute class while it lasts. The love and care that has been lavished on creating this game is evident from the start. The graphics are easily the best I have seen on Xbox and the sound is as equally impressive, the game play is as near perfect as you could wish for with intuitive controls and an easily manageable inventory system.

People have complained about the length of the game however, provided you do not rush the game and enjoy the full experience it can easily last 25 to 30 hours, which for me is fine as I would rather have quality over quantity.

I cannot recommend this game enough, I have finished it twice now and although the story was the same my characters had developed completely differently. The game offers plenty of things to do and many choices for shaping your character. I for one cannot wait for the sequel.

Just buy this game and discover the world of Albion.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2007
Originally when i bought fable I thought it was very good, and it is quite fun, but to be honest the way people talk about it is overating it. It is a very small world compared to most RPG's and thw way people often says its better than halo is rubbish, that game started bascially all modern shoot em' ups. Anyway if you want to buy a good RPG get oblivion or jade empire because really compared to most RPG's this is miles behind even for its time, its possibly better for those who havent played many RPG's before, howver.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2007

brill at first it was great i used to come home go upstairs and sit there mesmorised for hours

the gameplay was amazin beacuz you can buy stuff and use it i bought a skirt dark plate and and a stick i went round with a skrit dark plate torso and a stick beatin people to death

quests are good to earn money and get some new stuff i had to get my mum to prize me from the screen i can use my sword to hurt those that offend me and i love the way u can be bad good or just normal ofcourse i chose bad , good and bad both have advanteges like different spells speaking of wich u can chose archer swordsman or magician u even have your ow record sheet that shows how many times you have been thrown out of town or how many people you ve killed and evevn how far you ve booted a chicken and more

after abou thee monthhs ad completion of the game three times it go a bit borin but it great while it lasted.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)