Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Tsotsi [DVD] [2006]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 2 May 2006
"Tsotsi" won the Best Foreign Film Award at the 2006 Oscars, so it is worth watching if only to see why it is so highly rated by the critics. It is a film about redemption and "the power of love" ,which transforms the heart of a callous and vicious Soweto gangster; the "Tsotsi" of the film's title. This takes place gradually following his unwitting kidnapping of a young baby after stealing a car and shooting a woman in a wealthy part of Johannesburg. Assuming the role of father , the experience of looking after the stolen child triggers memories of his own traumatic childhood and helps him come to terms with it, as well as opening his heart to the possibility of developing constructive, loving relationships with people. Presley Chweneyagae puts in a stellar performance as Tsotsi and he is ably supported by a fine cast. The film possesses a tremendous amount of intensity and emotion and it's message that "there is good in everyone" ,even amongst the most hopeless of cases ,is a positive and life-affirming one. The cinematography in "Tsotsi" is admirable also and the storyline provides interesting insights into relationships between social classes in 21st Century South Africa, where life for the majority of blacks still appears to remain nasty ,brutish and short.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Great quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Very unusual story nasty in parts with a good ending worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
VERY GOOD,WILL HAVE TO WATCH IT AGAIN...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
School project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2006
So you may have missed Tsotsi when it was in our cinemas this winter/spring and may have thought that wasn't much of a loss anyway. It's not Mission impossible nor is it Sophies choice- its not "hollywood" and that may have led you to believe you didn't miss anything significant, a feeling that i probably would have shared if i hadn't been forced to see this beautiful southafrican made film.
I fell instantly in love with the amazingly acted characters of tsotsi and the visual style of the film equally. So much so, i bought this dvd. This film is a gem. An absolutely beautiful story which captivates and transends geographical boundaries, race and class
I guess the point of this review is to make sure that a least one other person out there may see it, buy the dvd and hopefully see what i saw. Or at least something close to what i did. thanks
22 Comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Violent but it fits the plot. Good plot and well acted until the end scene which drags on too long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Good story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Really nice and touching movie.
Gave 4 stars only because it is not in English and you have to read the subtitles throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Delivered and packaged as promised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)