Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2015
One of Scorsese's best films and a milestone in music films history. The Last walts does not only capture a topical moment of rock and music history, but is conceived and shot like a mix of interviews, BTS, live concert and dedicated music performances that are photographed and staged like a suspended and theatrical dimension like we're in the mind and soul of the Band and his songs.
It is a quiet and reflective retrospective on their music, era, lives and influences, with no footage archive but only words, songs and friends.
Maybe the direction is a little too rational and cold, typical of Scorsese style, but to me it was a big emotion even when I first watch it and did not know anything about those guys, but immediately fell in love with their style and class. That of guys who can play great music and still maintain a discretion and a low-key attitude that unfortunately would not belong anymore to the music generations of the following 40 years.
Unmissable moments: Dr John playing Such a NIght, Eric Clapton Further on up the road, the best cover of The Weight ever done (with Staples Singers) and Paul Butterfield's version of Mystery train. Plus the emotional final songs, with all the artists and friends together on stage. The Blu ray is very good and so are the extras
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
A brilliant film about the Band's last ever concert in 1976 at which they invited the great and good of the music world to join them on stage. Scorsese superbly captures the weariness and road fatigue of the Band in the interview sections, but it's the electrifying in concert footage thats really the heart of the film. There are great appearances from Van Morrison, Joni Mitchell, Neil Young and so many others, but the blues sequence in the middle - with Paul Butterfield, Muddy Waters and Eric Clapton, that really stands out......including one of the great guitar duels ever filmed where Robbie Robertson and Clapton urge each other to greater and greater heights until you can actually hear the crowd going wild as the gunsling it out with their guitars. A landmark (and often imitated) rockumentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
I must admit until very recently I had never heard of The Band. My fiancées father is obsessed and insisted we watch The Last Waltz with him. Needless to say half way through I was frantically scouring Amazon for all things The Band related. A fantastic documentary, personal and insightful Scorsese clearly has a great love of the music, the artists and the moment. You don't have to like Bob Dylan, you don't have to like Scorsese, but this undoubtedly is a wonderful capture of fantastic music and history. I've now bought this for myself and my parents, who incidentally also love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Had this on DVD and upgraded to Blue-Ray. The Band are and will always be one of the all time greats in the annals of American and rock music. With Rick Danko, Levon Helm and Richard Manuel no longer with us, this is a cherished record of The Band together. It may have been their final gig and Robbie Robertson went his own way, but this is a defining record of what these musicians did and the overflowing talent they had. All their classic numbers are here and the special guests add to the occasion. It's a great memory of a supremely talented bunch of musicians who continue to inspire years down the line. A personal highlight is Further on up the Road where Eric Clapton joins The Band and with Robertson, belts out some unforgettable riffs. But perhaps the everlasting highlight is watching Helm behind the drums. When the camera catches him and when he sings those memorable songs - Up on Cripple Creek, The Nighty they drove old Dixie Down and Ophelia - the enjoyment and focus on his face is refreshing and enough to lighten any bad mood. The way he sways to the beat on the Clapton number makes us realise what a character we have lost in the music world. This is a definite addition to any music collection and the sound is fantastic. This is one waltz that will go on forever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
I saw this at the pictures when it first came out, and having rediscovered The Band and their music recently, I decided to get this and watch it again. I wasn't disappointed. Sadly some of these musicians are no longer with us, but it was a great trip down memory lane.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2016
Bought the record in 1979, now i have the film. Its good to have
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
I'ts great music. Fantastic Band. Great Artist, the best and talented show I have seen. You must buy it !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Woderful to see icons at an earlier stage of their dazzling careers. Could have been longer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2004
This is an excellent music film in every way. Historic concert - The Band's last, a glittering array of Rock royalty - Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Muddy Waters, Neil Diamond and more, plus Scorsesi's intimate camera work. The film looks surprisingly up to date and the music sounds as fresh and as energetic as many a current young rock band.
One piece of advice, though... There are two soundtrack options, original soundtrack and surround sound 5.1. Choose the surround sound one regardless of your setup because the other one has not been properly synched with the picture.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Great, love this film, so many great artists. Well worth buying. A piece of music history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)