Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
131
4.3 out of 5 stars
Shadows in the Sun [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 April 2012
I enjoyed this film. Its "nice". Technically the direction is good the acting is great and the setting is beautiful. The story is a story, about a writer who has stopped writing and how he is encouraged (or not) back into writing. I actually felt myself being pulled into the scenes where, as a writer, Harvey Keitels character describes things. Those parts are almost educational if you are learning to be an author. Its a funny film in parts with characters you actually like. Which is a credit to the acting, even the ones you are not supposed to like, they do it well. Its easy watching, a film you dont have to think about but can just enjoy.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Such a great feel good film, makes you long for the sun and travels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
FAB !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
A lovely romantic story and such a change from the sex, crime and violence that we see in so many films.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
What can I say about this absolute dog of a movie. Let me start with a positive, it is filmed in Tuscany and you can't ruin the landscape. My wife and I are passionate about Tuscany and regularly visit friends who live there, so any movie set in the region is high on my list. But this is not the one to select (go for Under the Tuscan Sun, A Room With A View or even My Umbrian Home - all of which feature actors and a script worth making into a film).

First, I believe it is always a mistake to let a writer (Brad Mirman - who?) direct their own film (just look at the terribly over-rated La La Land as proof). However, when the writer has so little talent and lurches from one cliche to another then it is the producer's role (probably lying drunk in some taverna - drinking out of despair) to call time. There are many truly awful moments, the one I can't shake out of my mind is where the young (good looking) hero of the story is leaving by train and 'the girl' rides along side on a white horse with a second horse in tow; he stops the train and they ride off into the sunset (we are still trying to clean the vomit off the carpet).

Still some films can be redeemed by the actors - sadly not this one. Joshua Jackson (romantic lead) obviously skipped acting classes to spend time in the gym. Looks good (so my wife tells me) but shouldn't give up the day job - all them tables to wait on. Claire Forlani has no personality (or acting skill) and there is no chemistry between these 'star crossed lovers'. Check out the equally embarrassing fantasy dance sequence in the town square.

Finally, we have Harvey Keitel. I was a fan once upon a time, that was before he started appearing on British television selling insurance. Clearly the experience of working on this film convinced him just take jobs for the money.

Don't waste either your time or money on this 'train crash' of a picture (a train crash might of been a better ending for the film - Jackson dies in the arms of Forlani as the film dies at the box office). The same story was filmed 30 years ago by Bill Forsyth and it was called Local Hero. It was set in the West of Scotland and was about oil rather than publishing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2006
I watched this film last night with my 'other half' and we both enjoyed it so much that we decided that we must have it in our collection.

The acting is great and the locations in Italy are fantastic. If this film doesn't make you want to get on the nearest plane to Tuscany nothing will.

Yes, the film is a little predictable, cliched and corny as an earlier reviewer says but it loses nothing because of this. It is charming and lovely....just allow yourself to get swept away by it.

This is the perfect film for romantics and those wanting to escape everyday life for a couple of hours. Cynics need not bother.
11 Comment| 167 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
A lovely gentle movie, a well told story, beautifully filmed in a fantastic location, just the thing for a wet Sunday Afternoon in October, when you want to bring a bit of sunshine into your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
If you buy this film for what it is - a gentle feel-good film set in an idyllic picturesque location; you will probably not be disappointed. If you buy it with high expectations then it is easy to critically tear it apart. Yes, the story is predictable and the comic moments could have been much better. However, there is much to enjoy and every now and again it is good to watch a film that is pure escapism - lovely scenery, enjoyable music and a happy ending.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2006
I thouroughly enjoyed this film,so much in fact that I will watch it again in a few days.

Joshua Jackson is superb and appears in every scene of the film which is set in the lovely Tuscany countryside,great views.

If that was not enough to wet the appetite then the adorable Claire Forlani also stars along with the very fine Italian actor Gianluca Gianni.The story is about a young budding writer being sent to Italy to track down and convince a once sucessful author to start writing again and to then sign him up for his London based publishing company.This inevitably takes a lot longer than at first expected,and the brooding Harvey Kietel takes some time to come round,long enough for Tim to fall in love with Isabella and to rediscover his own passion for writing.

An excellent film,well worth a viewing
11 Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)