Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
74
4.1 out of 5 stars
Pearl Jam
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 August 2017
Excellent product & Service, great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2009
Pearl Jam are among my favourite bands; music, charisma, attitude and an all-round down-to-earth nature in being able to make remarkable albums. I've loved every album they've produced, except Riot Act, which was the album before this one. Perhaps this was to be the downturn and finishing chapter/s of an ageing rock legend, and when they announced the latest self titled album, deep down I held negative thoughts. I didn't rush out and listen to it. I may never have listened to it, but for their 07 tour, which I attended at Nijmegen, Holland. I was so insistent to see them, I travelled alone, attached to the inevitable mp3 player. I'm very glad I didn't let the album slip by.

Like most have stated, it's a return to a classic Pearl Jam sound - not really a huge point for me, seeing as Binaural is one of my favourites, but comforting none-the-less.

The album starts nice and lively and breeds enthusiasm, with the catchy single, world wide suicide (track 2). An obvious single when you hear it, but that's ok. I particularly like unemployable and Army reserve both for Cameron's super tight drumming (legend) and Mike/Stone's, as ever, outstandingly rich and unique guitar sound.

The album ends with a delightful epic, showing just how creative this band have always been.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2006
Away from the rock scene for 4 years, Pearl Jam wastes absolutely no time in announcing their return to rock with their self-titled new album, also known as the Avocado album. From the first notes of Life Wasted and World Wide Suicide it's clear that a Pearl Jam that sounds more of the VS and Vitology era than the Yield and Riot Act era has returned. This album has more of the classic Pearl Jam sound and less of the chaotic experimentation that marred more recent albums.

The new album features a stripped down, tighter, and more pure rock sound. Strong lead and rhythm guitar work by Gossard and Stone populate the songs, while Vedder alternates his tightly wound growling vocals with tenderness. Guitar solos, unheard for years, have returned with a vengeance and Jeff Ament's bass lines fit perfectly in the mix. This album is free of the overproduction and samples that passes as rock today, and shows us just how good a band together 15 years can sound.

Standout rockers include World Wide Suicide, Comatose, Severed Hand, and Big Wave. More melodic tracks like Markers in the Sand and Army Reserve fit in nicely without going too soft. Unemployed, Come Back, and Inside Job are more of the Daughter type PJ songs. The only discordant note on this album is the track Parachutes, with its Beatles or Queen like melodies and odd chord changes. Although a good song on its own, it basically stops the flow of the album dead in its tracks and would have been better suited as a hidden track or a B-side. This is an album more geared towards long time fans of rock in general and PJ in particular. It may not have a lot of commercial viability, which to Pearl Jam is a source of pride, but does satisfy a void in rock and roll which has existed for too long. Recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2013
All the tracks are brilliant here! Pearl Jam have really got this down to a fine art now. Severed Hand is a standout track but Worldwide Suicide, Marker in the Sand, Army Reserve & Inside Job are just superb. Lyrics & music just typical Pearl Jam excellence. This is a "must have" for anyone who likes Pearl Jam, or just likes good music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2008
Pearl Jam seems to get a lot of stick from reviewers here for this record.

I actually quite like it. It might not be their best album, but it ís a good one.
Ok, there are a few crap songs on it, like "unemployable"(the opening riff is directly lifted from "driver's seat" by REO speedwagon - no attempt to hide this misdemeanor!) and "army reserve"(Eddie's voice strains beyond artistic expression to become merely unpleasant, ugly, and possibly damaging to the ears). And, yes, there are a few forgettable songs on it as well:"Big Wave" and "Gone"( and "Wasted Reprise" - but this is forgivable: it is a gimmick).
But, hey, don't most albums contain a few duds?

But there are also some good solid, robust songs on it."Life Wasted" and "Worldwide Suicide" are excellent rocking songs with lots of energy and drive (great to listen in your car, if you don't mind chancing a few points on your license);"Marker in the sand" is my favourite and again has great energy. Then there are the slower ballad-type songs "Parachutes" (I've learned to play it on the guitar) and "Come Back" (likewise).

What strikes me about the good songs on this record is their relative straightforwardness and accessibleness. This record is more approachable/easier then previous ones. And, I think it silly to judge the "greatness" of music by the level of accessabilty alone...

All in all, a solid album that might win over a few non-Pearl Jam-'ers, and encourage a further recce into their other material.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2013
Wonderful album. Gets a 5 out of 5. One for fans or for just music friends in general. As a latter, this is an album I never tire of listening to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2011
Being a fan of the band since they began i looked forward to this album to come out. The year is now 2010 and when this album came out a number of years back i listened to this a few times and thought it was well below par and just put it aside. Since buying there latest recording which was amazing i thought i would backtrack through there old stuff and came across this one again and i am so glad i did. For some reason 4 or 5 years later it seems to have been sitting in my collection maturing like a good wine. From start to finish this album has become my favorite pj album even compared to there debut and that is saying something.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2006
Masterpiece. Perfect. Best Album. These words sprang to mind as i listened to Pearl Jam's 13 track self-titled album. This album has all the angry energy of their first few albums (read: vitalogy), but with the music prowess of the last few albums. THe only reason that Stadium Arcadium will beat this album out of the honor of Album of the Year is through the sheer number of tracks. If Stadium Arcadium was only 13 songs, then it would be really impossible to choose. Eddie's voice has never sounded better, and he can go quickly from yelling to singing melodious tunes, and he makes it seem effortless. Although I do not agree with the politics behind the lyrics, I can appreciate Eddie's excellent wordsmithing (is that a word?). Here is a track by track breakdown:

1. Life Wasted - An excellent opener, great energy, with an excellent guitar parts. I love this song 9/10

2. World Wide Suicide - This song is their first single, and Eddie's most political lyrics (coincidence, I think not). A great song, with some excellent drumming and a great bridge. 9/10

3. Comatose - Their hardest song probably off the whole album. Jsut feel like banging my head. 8/10

4. Severed Hand - My favorite track off this album, and probably their second single (if they have another). I love this song. 10/10

5. Marker in the Sand - Probably the weakest track on the cd, but is still very excellent. 7.5/10

6. Parachutes - A slower ballad, that has some excellent guitaring on it. A great song just to chill out to. 8/10

7. Unemployable - A great song that has some of eddie's most impressive vocal work. just made me go wow, he sounds really good in this song 9/10

8. Big Wave - A hard rocker that you need to listen to very loud with a very good amp, speakers, and subwoofer. Just a great song. Has a great guitar solo, with an effect I have never heard Pearl Jam use ever. 9/10

9. Gone - Probably the best slow song since Off He Goes. I love this song, very close to being the best song on the album. Eddie and McCready are just orgasmic on this song . 10/10

10. Wasted Reprise - A filler track, but a very good filler track. 6/10

11. Army Reserve - Great, great song. Great drumming from Matt. 8/10

12. Come Back - Another slow song. Great acoustic song, but not much to talk about. 7.5/10

13. Inside Job - The last song on the album. A breathtaking final song, with some great guitar work, and lovely bass. Eddie seems really emotional. My third favorite song (well, tied with WWS). Great song. Absolutely love it. 10/10.

Overall: 9.5/10

It is a shame that this release is going to probably be overshadowed by Stadium Arcadium, because this is Pearl Jam's best album ever, even better than Ten. Everybody should go out and buy this perfect album. Go get it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2006
A real return to form that shows that Pearl Jam's first two albums "Ten" and "Vs." were not a fluke as this sees them returning to the heights that those albums scaled. Right from the start with the opening salvo of "Life Wasted" and "World Wide Suicide" it is clear that the band is reinvigorated and playing at something like their masterful peak. A newly barefaced political conscience supplements rather than replaces their more traditional emotional songs about the everyday and adds another layer to this record.

Later highlights include "Severed Hand", "Unemployable" and the hymnal reprise of "Life Wasted" which is simply gorgeous.

All in all the quality control issues which have blighted their output between "Vitalogy" and "Riot Act" have been done away with and this album is far from the patchy disappointment that some of those albums have represented. The sound is still distinclty late-era Pearl Jam, so fans hoping for a return the lusher, stadium-friendly production of their debut or the sharp focused raw energy of "Vs." may initially be disappointed, but give this record a few spins and you'll quickly realise that this is their best collection of new songs for over a decade and an album worthy of mentioning in the same breath as the previous highlights of their career.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2007
Riot Act, Pearl Jam's previous album was a hard slog. A few nuggets but mostly uninspired. However where Riot Act had songs such as I Am Mine,& All Or None which could match the band's best writing, 2006's self titled album had no such gems. From all accounts this was a tricky record to make, with many different recording sessions, and it shows. The songs seem forced, awkward, and it's not helped by the worst production of their career lacking any warmth or subtlety. There are a handful of "Ok" songs though. Army Reserve has a cool groove and most of Inside Job is enjoyable, although they could of worked on the chorus a little more. Big Wave has a bunch of infectious energy, and Unemployable has what resembles a melody. I don't care for much else on the album, with a couple of sickly ballads (Parachutes, Come Back) and generic rock (Life Wasted, Comatose, Gone).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)