Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
70
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2006
I love this series. The boys clearly love what they do and their confidence infront of the camera, (and behind the wok / saucepan / griddle), grows with each episode - you really feel like you're going through this experience with them. Yes it's rough and ready stuff - but that's the point isn't it? If you got on a bike and went to Vietnam and started to cook by the side of a building - you're not going to have your copy of Deila to hand - or all those fancy Nigella utensils you don't really need.

This is as much a travel show as it is a cookery show. The boys take you to these places and cook - but also show you the culture and history and talk and share good times with real people; giving you a true sense of the places they visit.

Their website has just announced a new, third series which is great as I can't get enough of these guys - let's just hope that someone events smelly-vision soon. :)
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2007
I guess the problem with doing a thing that is new and unique is that it has little in the way of direct comparisons. If you compare this to other TV chefs, and you are judging upon the mastery of the art of food creation, then you might say that it doesn't always match up as an out and out food creation show, But its so much more than that.

From my perspective, I have found this a most addictive, exciting, refreshing, humorous and yet innocent and personal program about a couple of blokes passion for food, travel and life. As you watch through the DVDs you see the guys start to find their feet as their confidence grows. This is, perhaps, one of the most warming aspects of the show that it is so easy to identify with Si and Dave as you feel like they have been genuine, vulnerable and entertaining throughout.

The only disappointment is that the book has the first trip as being Portugal which does not appear in the DVDs. I think this was filmed by the looks of their website (I never saw it when it was on TV save one of the shows in Turkey)

The book is feel-good reading and the DVD is feel-good watching, and what is wrong with feeling good once in a while?
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2007
If you like a good laugh, haven't been, or can't afford, to travel to other countries around the world and like to cook, or just eat, something a bit different, then this is for you.

This is not a lesson in how to cook, nor will you find the 'Nouvelle Cuisine' favoured by the pseuds who have more money than sense, (American comedian Jackie Mason said it was French for 'No Food')!

What you get here is a travelogue with a basic instruction on how popular local dishes are cooked and enjoyed.

Those of you who believe good food only comes in tiny portions on a large plate with artistic decoration will hate it. The majority of Brits will warm to Si and Dave..two non-manufactured TV personalities who just exude natural warmth,humour and enthusiasm for something that tastes great!

At the time of writing (April 2007), the third series is being shown on BBC2. Even better than the first two!. Sit back and enjoy a trip round he world with two mates and enjoy a bite to eat along the way!
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2007
I watched this programme for the first time on the evening of 29th March 2007 and thought it was brilliant!!

So refreshing and humourous to watch.

Si and Dave were travelling through Southern India and tasting Indian doughnut snacks in the street areas. Then visiting the tea grown high in the lush green hills and talking about which teas they particularly liked.

They also got dressed up and very intricately made up; to have a go at Kathak dancing (they did quite well actually.)

They also went to a fish market Paradise with a huge range of all different types of amazing fish.

I love the way their spontenaity and the way take the micky out of each other. Throwing in one liners here and there.They really get right into the culture of a place and make friends with the locals and are always polite and open minded.

Obviously they cooked up of some traditional Indian dishes in a laid back easy going manner and then tuck in afterwards.

I would definately recommned watching them.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
The hairy bikers are amusing and full marks for entertainment. \they keep your attention and do such interesting and do.able dishes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
I bought this DVD as a birthday gift for my American partner,a biker/foodie himself, who fell in love with the shows concept last time he was in the UK. Really this is a food travel show and not a "how to cook" instructional....which to my mind is the best thing about it!. The boys love of food and sence of freedom are deffinately catching, they encourage you to try new things and not to worry too much about the correct recipe or fancy presentation. Its all about pleasure, and its a pleasure to watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
I love these cheeky lads, who always look to be having a great time wherever they go.

Yet another very watchable cookery/travel series from which you learn lots about both the dishes and the places Dave and Si visit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2009
I brought this book for my girlfriend for Christmas and she loves it.
These two cheeky blokes really do have some good fun with a bit of good food thrown in for good measure.
I'm not so sure how helpful the dvd is compared with the books mind you, this dvd does teach you to experiment a bit more and stop being so careful about measuring ingredients.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
It's more about their travels than cooking and they cook stuff you won't easily be able to get anyway like kangaroo crocodile etc. Am relieved I didn't pay full price but to be honest it wasn't worth the postage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
Bought as a Christmas present for my wife, but also because I love these two guys as presenters and as cooks. The package arrived promptly and was perfectly presented. What more can I say?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)