Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who: Series 2 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 May 2017
who doesnt like doctor who fab show with who i thought the best doctor David Tennant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
It's Doctor Who. It's David Tenant. It's great and you already know it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Good dvd happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I like the new show of Dr Who and this episode with David Tennant is fantastic. I only give four stars because of French soundtrack and subtitles are missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2006
Having been an avid fan of Doctor Who in the era of Tom Baker I was a little sceptical about a "new Doctor Who". I must say I shouldn't have worried wow this is great.

It has the feel of the original series without the Blue Peter type props. It has grown up and gone into the electronical age - sonic screwdrivers and all. If you have any hesitation in buying this as an old Doctor Who fan don't its new, original, fresh and well done Doctor - the only strange thing being that Doctor Who is actually good looking!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2006
I bought this DVD as a big fan of Dr Who original and new I missed these episdoes so I needed some way to catch up and this DVD was perfect I must say the Chisetmas Speical was unbelieveablely weak and boring and I'm not conviced David Tennant was the right choice for the latest Dr Who and he hasn't used his sonic screwdriver once in this series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2006
This DVD contains the first two episodes of Series 2 of the revived television classic 'Doctor Who', starring David Tennant and Billie Piper. I confess that I was somewhat apprehensive about the new series, because Christopher Eccleston's portrayal of the Time Lord was quite simply sublime, so I was worried that Tennant would not be a worthy successor. I am glad to see that I was wrong, because the Tenth Doctor has charm, wit and can range from happy, to playful, to furious, etc. Although this first installment of 'vanilla' releaes contains no extra features, it is still well worth buying because both episodes are hugely enjoyable. However, there is a 6-disc boxset to be released in November, which is going to be crammed with special features.

The two episodes on this DVD are:

The Christmas Invasion

Written by Russell T Davies

Directed by James Hawes

Originally transmitted 25/12/05

'The Christmas Invasion' was the greatest piece of festive television ever, and David Tennant's first proper outing as the Doctor managed to capture an audience of almost 10 million people. This a very entertaining episode, filled with humour, action and excitment, and definitely contains something for everyone. An alien invasion by the evil Sycorax puts the whole world in danger because the monsters are using blood control to manipulate the planet, but with the Doctor still recovering from his regeneration process, Rose is left to defend Earth alone. This episode is notable for David Tennant's swashbuckiling debut as the Doctor, and his 'what kind of man am I?' speech is just perfect. A truly wonderful episode.

New Earth

Written by Eussell T Davies

Directed by James Hawes

Originally transmitted 15/4/06

The first episode of Series 2 received a mixed reaction from the fans, but personally I loved this episode, and thought that it was exciting, energetic and full of life and character. David Tennant and Billie Piper show how well they can interact together, and both put it very humurous performances (such as the bodyswap for example). In this episode the Doctor goes to the year five-billion-and-twenty-three where he is reunited with the Face of Boe who is ill, whilst Rose is re-introduced to the 'naughty' Cassandra (played by Zoe Wannamaker) who is obsessed with plastic surgery and has a score to settle with Rose. Add in some cat nuns and an army of diseased patients, and this episode is pure entertainment all the way. There are some great scenes throughout, and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

A great start to Series 2 then, and this DVD is definitely worthy buying. The new series of 'Doctor Who' has maintaned its hugely high callibre, and is still a great treat to settle down and watch on a Saturday night.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2006
David Tennant gets off to a good start as the Doctor in these two episodes. In the Christmas Invasion he has to deal with the threat of the alien Sycorax and their attempts to invade earth. However, he must first recover from his recent regeneration.

Although Tennant only really comes to the fore during the last half of this adventure, he still manages to make a formidable impression. A superb debut story, with a nice twist at the end.

The second adventure, 'New Earth' acts as a sequel to previous season's 'The End of the World.' In it, the Doctor and Rose travel millions of years into the future and discover a hospital, which is run by a group of cat-like creatures. Behind the scenes there lies a dark and shocking secret, and to make matters worse, the Doctor is confronted with his old enemy Cassandra. This episode has received mixed reviews, but I found it a real creepy thriller, with good performances. The highlight has to be Billie Piper's wonderful turn as the 'possessed' Rose.

A very good start for the Tenth Doctor. Two very entertaining adventures, which are worth watching.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2006
15/4/2006- Doctor Who series 2 begins!!!!

What a brilliant first episode, the 10th Doctor's first journey is absolutly fantastic! David Tennant and Billie Piper produce some fantastic acting, especially Billie Piper's performance which is the best so far (including series 1), coupled with the Christmas Invaison, this would be make a great first DVD of the second new Doctor Who. "Sorry thats the Lion King"

Fantastic!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2006
Two brilliant episodes introducing David Tennant's Tenth Doctor. He's settled into the role without a hitch, and was the perfect choice to take over from Christopher Eccleston.

These episodes are fun, exciting, stylish, imaginative, beautiful... everything Doctor Who should be.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse