Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
76
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2010
Please note that this is not a wildlife documentary! The documentary is really about Timothy Treadwell, it uses parts of Timothy's own amazing footage to track his deteriorating mental state leading up to his death. Treadwell was a lover of Grizzly bears and dedicated his life to 'protecting' them, trying to understand and become one of them. Werner Herzog paints a portrait of an extraordinary man who has retreated from human society and found peace in the animal world- for 13 summers he lives closely with the Grizzly bears, and when I say 'close' I mean CLOSE! Some of the footage is awe-inspiring and Treadwell manages to capture many staggering images of these incredible animals. What is really intriguing however is Treadwell himself- we come to realise that he had many problems in his own life, he was unable to cope with human society, his life and his emotional problems; this his has led to his extreme obsession with Bears and living amongst animals. He is like the Michael Jackson of the animal world, frolicking around speaking to the animals, personalising them and making friends with many beautiful creatures- there is a peculiar innocence about his attitude but it is inevitable that is naivety and delusion would lead to serious danger.

Over time, he believed he was trusted by the bears, who would allow him to approach them, and sometimes even touch them. Treadwell was repeatedly warned by park officials that his interaction with the bears was unsafe to both him and to the bears. "At best, he's misguided," Deb Liggett, superintendent at Katmai and Lake Clark national parks, told the Anchorage Daily News in 2001. "At worst, he's dangerous. If Timothy models unsafe behavior, that ultimately puts bears and other visitors at risk." Treadwell filmed his exploits, and used the films to raise public awareness of the problems faced by bears in North America. In 2003, at the end of his 13th visit, he and his girlfriend Amie Huguenard were attacked, killed, and partially eaten by a bear; the events which led to the attack are unknown.

As Grizzly Bear works towards its conclusion it becomes increasingly disturbing- Timothy's seems to descend more and more into insanity and reckless abandon, he seems ready to die and unfortunately in the end he got what he was asking for, such a shame he took his girlfriend with him. Descriptions of the aftermath made feel pretty queasy... This is an unusual documentary- you could easily convince someone it is a black comedy fiction because some of the people in it are truly bizzare characters; Timothy's friends and some people Herzog gets to speak are rather strange (especially the coroner). To conclude; this is a story about a disturbed man who descends into insanity, a Michael Jackson like character but his affinity is with Bears not children. In the end he was deluded but he lived an incredible life and had an unbelievable connection with animals- he made some friends out there, we see him walk with bears who follow him as companions and he befriends foxes, it is really worth watching; surreal and fascinating.
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2006
Werner Herzog is noted for making films that include 'animals doing unusual things' and 'long, extended landscape shots' (IMDB). Grizzly Man fulfills both criteria, but more unusual than the behaviour of the bears that feature in this brilliant documentary, is that of film's protagonist - Timothy Treadwell - an authentic American outsider who spent 13 long summers in a remote Alaskan wilderness documenting these wild creatures. It's an examination of this obsessive, eccentric and ultimately deluded man, who is misguided into the belief that he is able to 'make friends' with some of nature's most fearsome predators.

What makes this film especially interesting is the way Werner Herzog pieces it together as a kind of poem to man's relationship with nature, intercutting Treadwell's own - often inspirational - wildlife footage, his on-camera soliluquies, and interviews with family, friends and contemporaries. What catches the eye the most is the footage of Treadwell himself, ranging from his amusing wildlife 'presentations' to egomaniacal rants against the park authorities, poachers and other visitors to his remote hideaway.

What becomes apparent, and is expertly pieced together by Herzog, is that while Treadwell is selflessly committed to what he sees as the preservation of the bears, he may well be doing them as much harm as good, and he has faslely seen in them a mutual affinity that ultimately costs him and his girlfriend their lives. Is Treadwell's obsession with the bears embelmatic of his more problematic relationship with human society? What is it that he is escaping from? As Herzog himself points out in monologue, there are moments in Treadwell's films that are 'pure cinema'. What makes this film great is that he allows these moments to breath, while building up a sensitive but unromanticised portrait of a troubled soul. Along with 'Etre et Avoir' and 'Capturing the Friedmans' - one of the greats in the current renaissance of the documentary film.
22 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 September 2012
Shortly after watching this movie for the third time I watched online segments from Animal Planet called fatal attraction telling the stories of 10 people who had a fatal attraction for dangerous creatures.

Often it's a moment of carelessness that results in death. People killed by bites from pet bushmasters or mambas or cobras or attcked by Chimpanzees. They trip or fall or are momentarily distracted. Some survivors test their reaction by refusing to take antivenom to see if they have developed immunity to snakebite.

Sometimes these people are thrillseekers, and sometimes there is an arrogance in thinking they are somehow invulnerable to the obvious outcome or there may even be a lofty vanity about thinking they are somehow protecting dangerous threatened creatures from bad people. I mention this because of the parallels with this movie.

I notice when I discuss this movie with people I get a varied response because it's open to many interpretations.

I remember discussing it with one woman who said she found that guy so annoying that she could hardly wait for the bear to eat him. Most interpetations are somewhat more sympathetic than this.

Self appointed conservationist Timothy Treadwell spent 13 summers in the Alaskan wilderness among the grizzly bears until finally he and his girlfriend were attacked in their camp and killed and eaten by a bear.

During his thirteen summers he recorded over 100 hours hours of video footage then passed along to director Werner Herzog to turn into a documentary.

If you're like me as you begin to watch the movie you will be amazed by these specacular grizzlies and the wilderness they inhabit and you may also start to wonder about the sanity of Treadwell. You will also be in awe of some of the footage especially with the foxes. I have never personally faced a bear but when I see a bear appoach Treadwell I start to feel nervous about what will happen.

So you can feel that danger at the very beginning.

Treadwell though is quite a memorable character even if he is deluded about these bears which lets face it are aggressive instinctual creatures.

There are a series of memorable characters who make brief appearances and share their insights.

One is a helicopter pilot who has a very unsympathetic attitude towards Treadwell though he has sympathy for the girl Amy whose death was an unnecessary and unfortunate tragedy. Sometimes people who work in Coroners office or who deal with death can have necrophiliac tendencies. They find death can be erotic.

So the coroner in this case seems a little excited by the lurid tale of examining the bodies, and his account of the audio of their last minutes.

You may discover great irony within this movie as Treadwell films a bear called Olie who may very well be the bear that ate him and describes how he had a confrontation with this bear. 'Is Tim Treadwell going down Olie's gullet?' He actually says that.

I loved for example Treadwell's rant against the park rangers which you can watch on youtube. I particularly loved his interaction and friendship with the beautiful foxes.

I think it's clear that Treadwell did have some skill in surviving so long with the bears. Unfortunately with creatures like this who sometimes even eat their own young it's impossible to forge a human animal bond, the type he did forge with the foxes.

Treadwell claimed to be protecting bears. But from what? Maybe there is poaching, but the population is also culled annually by 6% according to a park ranger. So what difference did Treadwell make? His life may not have made much difference to the life of the grizzly bear but his death certainly has made a difference to our awareness.

It's a tragedy that ideally would not happen and was perfectly foreseeable, yet it has yielded what I consider to be a remarkable movie which I have recommended to numerous people. I think you most people will love it and I hope this was helpful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
I was expecting lingering shots of spectacular landscape and intimate portrayals of this most reclusive of animals, but it soon became apparent that the landscape was a mere backdrop to a character study, the brown bears reduced to lumbering extras with walk-on parts. The character in question is a maladjusted, self-deluding maverick, whom it is difficult to like. He harangues his unseen audience from the grave: he whines, he cries, he brags, he sneers, he challenges his protractors, asserts his moral superiority and displays openly and at length his particular form of neurosis. Herzog comments wryly that sometimes the appearance-conscious Treadwell exits stage left, to adjust his bandana or make some other cosmetic alteration, unwittingly leaving behind him a scene of breath-taking beauty and pure magic; his reappearance to resume or rerecord a rant abruptly breaking the spell. How much better it would have been if Treadwell had merely held the camera, instead of insisting on being in front of it, the better to deliver his tiresome homilies.
Without Herzog’s incisive and compassionate narrative, it would have been difficult to tolerate Treadwell. Interviews with his parents and friends indicate that he was disappointed by human relationships, and he seems to have evoked in others either unfaltering devotion (usually female) or profound dislike. The self-appointed bear protector, with his combative nature, could not avoid confrontations with the authorities and people who, frankly, knew better than he did.
Herzog also reveals that the image of the lone and self-reliant explorer, at one with nature, which Treadwell sought to convey, was not the entire truth either. Treadwell was usually accompanied by one or another woman during the thirteen summers he spent tracking brown bears, and he not only denied their contribution to his project but was as negligent of their safety as he was of his own. They never appeared in his frames, with the exception of Amy H, who was filmed fleetingly twice. Sadly, Amy, who shared his violent end, was already speaking openly about leaving him for good before their last, ill-fated expedition, and lost her own life in a courageous attempt to save his.
Despite all attempts at the sympathetic treatment of an awkward subject, Herzog divulges at the conclusion of the film that he does not share Treadwell’s romantic viewpoint. The bears’ blank stares reveal for him, he says, not the empathy and fellow-feeling of a persecuted species, as Treadwell’s sentimentality allows, but the indifference of nature. Their lives are arduous and brutal. For any animal behaviourist and bear specialist, Treadwell’s behaviour is naïve and dangerous in the extreme. Whilst admitting on camera that it is considered ill-advised to be in less than several hundred yards of a wild bear, Treadwell approaches them whilst they are feeding and actually touches them, with such preening insouciance that it appears he is almost willing them to attack him. What is ordinary to the point of banality about his story is his personal afflictions. But what is miraculous about it is that he survived as long as he did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
This is a fascinating character study of Timothy Treadwell who had difficulties in 'treading well' among his own human race so he decided to tread among the Grizzlies. And he indeed tred well among the bears for decades - giving us the unprecedented amount of close and even face to face footage with one of the most majestic and fearsome animal in the animal kingdom.

Misunderstood by people, he gave these bears all his love, devotion and - in the end - his life.

Different viewers - myself included - will see Timothy as being different shades of crazy. Some will see him as bi-polar or depressed, others as positively kooky and many as a total nut job. Whatever we may think of him, he achieved something none of us had and ever will. And I can't help but ponder that in the end it was not the craziness or the kookiness that was his demise but his arrogance. He lived among the wild bears for years (3-4 months every year for 13 years) with no harm ever coming to his 'crazy' or 'kooky' self. This last footage filmed hours before death shows us that he believed he was larger than life; that he cracked the animal code and that no harm can ever come his way. He broke his own safety protocol: he returned in September despite knowing all his long-life bear friends would be gone and beginning to hibernate; despite knowing that the bears that he would find in the Grizzly Maze would be the less familiar ones and the more aggressive ones desperately looking for food before winter; he set up his tent in hiding rather than in bears' plain sight - despite telling his viewers that it is a mistake and for anyone of us it would end badly.

I like Timothy despite what I wrote above. He was obviously troubled and in the end he became arrogant but his heart was always in the right place. Misunderstood by his own race , sadly he himself misunderstood the bears. I think this documentary portrays it very well - bears are bears; they are animals that will kill their own if they have to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2007
I've just watched Werner Herzog's film Grizzly Man. It's about Timothy Treadwell, an American who retreats to the wilds of Alaska each summer to live with and protect the grizzly bears. Treadwell thought that he could live as a bear, and he was vitriolic about humans and civilisation. It seems to me that he was so emotionally attached to the animals that he didn't have any rationality left when it came to being aware of the risk to himself. He often talked about understanding how the bears behaved, and that if other people had come to Alaska, those people would have been killed.

He normally only stayed there during the summer, but one time when trying to travel back home, he was refused entry onto the plane, so he returned to the wilds again, this time even more hateful of people. Most of the bears he'd come to know had gone into hibernation, and as storms began to build on the coast, starving, more aggressive bears from further inland appeared in search of food, and in the end Treadwell and his girlfriend were killed by one of them.

The film is made up of Treadwell's videos of himself, and his commentaries. Herzog also interviews friends and family, and there's one strong moment where Herzog listens to the recording of Treadwell at the moment of his death, and it's very powerful, more so that the viewer doesn't get to hear it, instead we have to imagine it from descriptions of the recording. At times when watching the footage, you feel that Treadwell is creating a fiction rather than recording fact - he records many takes of himself talking to camera as he tries to perfect it, and he often talks about himself being alone, however on a few occasions he'd been accompanied but he creates a persona of himself as a lone protector of the animals. He also talks about the bears protecting him; from other people but also I think from himself. His history had been self-destructive and he'd had a few knock-backs in life, that he must have felt that by being such on edge with the bears he couldn't afford to let his guard down.

I often wondered who Treadwell was recording the videos for - did he intend them to be seen by a mass audience or were they for himself? I get the feeling that he was aware of his potential fate living in such dangerous proximity to these animals, and that he was shooting the videos to be a reminder of his life.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2006
I not really one for writing reviews but I am absolutely compelled to give some of my thoughts about this particular film. From start to finish Grizzly Man comes across as utterly bizarre and breathtaking whilst demanding your complete focus; there really is nothing to compare it to, it isn't simply a wildlife documentary or a biography, but an assault on our capacity for emotion and compassion.

It does become apparent that Treadwell is indeed quite a naive man who applies an all to simplistic and romantic outlook towards his beloved subject (and, one could say, life in general); but this is what makes this film so great. I really believe it has the ability to stir the soul of even the stoniest character. I found myself at times disappointed that Treadwell betrayed the way I wanted his character to behave and the sensibilities I believed he held, but ultimately found his outlook refreshing and intriguing and certainly valid in a world of scrutiny and scepticism. This is a film about big brutal wild creatures who don't operate in the human world, but even more so it is a film about human society and its limitations.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 May 2015
First off this is not a documentary about bears; neither is it a natural history of Alaska or anything much related to this. There are bears in it as well as foxes but it is the examination of a disturbed individual who documented much of his experiences living in close proximity to bears. The documentary is about Timothy Treadwell, an unremarkable person in many ways who attempted to stand out in life by putting himself in a uniquely precarious position.
I very much suspect from the footage shown that Treadwell was bi-polar or something akin to that. He was very grandiose in the way he talked about himdelf and what he felt he had achieved. He also presented as unstable in mood, going into long-winded rants and rages. He obviously felt very disaffected with his life outside of being the self proclaimed bear saviour and that was the big shame for me that Herzog didn't provide us with more of an understanding of what Treadwell actually did outside of the 13 summers he spent in bear territory.
A lot of the footage shown and filmed solely by Treadwell makes Treadwell appear as if he had a death wish though he clearly believes he is able to manage situations with bears and it is on film to see that they often approach within reaching distance without any disasterous consequences so he was either unbelieveably fortunate or he knew that certain bears learned to tolerate and ignore his presence. Herzog provides his usual measured and thoughtful commentary over the film and also speaks to friends of Treadwell's as well as others who were not as agreeable with what he was doing.
Treadwell's demise is mentioned early on so there is no false dramatic conclusion. The circumstances leading up to it are quite interesting. It seems that upon leaving the National Park he had a row with airline personnel whereby he plumbed to go back to the bears instead of 'civilisation' It struck me that he must have been ill prepared to make this last second decision, lack of provisions etc which strikes me as being reckless in the extreme. He went back to the bears later in the season than he would normally be when it seems the existing bears would be going into hibernation and unfamiliar 'wilder' bears would be entering the territory searching for food. One sad aspect is that a young woman went with him for reasons which are difficult to comprehend given the unpredictability of Treadwell as well as her apparent well documented fear of bears. It all ended terribly for them and one of the most dramatic sections of the film is when Herzog listens to the last moments of their lives on tape. The lens cap was on the camera but the audio was on. Herzog is quickly very affected by what he hears and asks the woman who has the tape, a friend of Treadwells, to turn it off. He then advises her that she must never listen to it and urges her to destroy it. I think it's a very good thing that the tape didn't constitute any part of the programme. From the descriptions from coroners, Park staff etc we know what happened and the gruesome details of what was found after as well as paraphrasing of the last audio recording.
Treadwell seems to have believed he would have his work turned into a tv programme and also made audacious claims and lies about other elements of his private life. The truth is he was not charasimatic enough nor balanced enough regardless of some of the amazing footage he captured. He over sentementalised events also. It was very sweet the footage he captured with the red foxes and they clearly trusted him but his regular declarations of him being the master and protector of the animals provided more of an insight into his psyche.
Did Treadwell achieve anything as far as helping/saving bears? Not much if anything I'd say. I suspect he was too far regarded as a joke figure or a 'loon' by most. I know of a more scientifically minded man who works very closely with black bears (far less dangerous than grizzly's though can and have killed) who does a lot of important research, radio collars bears, educates people etc. Treadwell did go into schools and spread his love of bears but goodness knows what the content of this was. It's a good film of a subject that deserves to be covered. It's filmed very sensitively but it's a sad tale on many levels.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Anyone who hasn't seen this is missing something very special. Timothy Treadwell, a lovely, eccentric, crazy fellow with a passion for bears goes off into the wilderness to live among them. The attraction of this true story is partly Werner Herzog's brilliant direction, partly the incredible scenery and photography but also the outrageous extrovert characteristics of the 'Grizzly Man', and his passion for bears (and all wildlife).

He claimed that he would gladly give up his life to feed a starving bear and, indeed, that seems to have been his eventual fate. He was killed, along with his girlfriend, by a rogue bear and both were found by the pilot of his helicopter taxi, partially devoured.

He spent 13 years doing what he loved most and it was inevitable it would eventually cost him his life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
We had a lot of discussion after watching this film about whether it was a modern freak show or a touching and human portrayal of a person who seemed to feel whole only when in the company of wild animals. Whatever the film is It is unfailingly engrossing and moving. My own view is that Herzog brings a level of humanity and empathy to the portrayals of the outsider in his films which we can lose living our narrow and stressed modern lives. Herzog's film shows the Grizzly Man as ridiculous and truly odd yet admirable in living his life on his own terms and losing his life due to that. I was left with very mixed feelings indeed, but that is the mark of a great documentary. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)