Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
18
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Man-Thing is one of Marvel's great Marmite characters, some love him, others hate him, I did not take to the character at first preferring DC's Swamp Thing but having re-read the original stories many years later I got to liking old Ted Sallis.
Although the film drops plenty nods towards the comic, a missing Ted Sallis, the greedy businessman F.A.Schist (Jack Thompson), a reference to the Nexus of All Realities and characters named after his creators Steve Gerber, Mike Ploog and Val Meyerick it never quite hits the target.
The creature, although it appears to be aiding the native inhabitants of the swamp never shows any of the empathic nature that was essential to the comic, no one here burns at the Man Thing's touch but there's plenty death by vegetation.
There's no background story to the creature itself and only a hint or two at any possible connection to the missing Ted Sallis.
Sadly the two early Swamp Thing movies Swamp Thing [DVD] [1981] and The Return Of Swamp Thing [DVD] [1988] make this attempt look quite shoddy, partly because they were largely played for fun.
As a general swamp creature on the prowl movie it's OK, as an adaptation of a cult comic book it fails but fair credit to them for having an attempt.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
I think if you are a fan of the more successful Marvel movies you should probably ignore this. It's built like a B-Movie as far as acting and storytelling go. It sticks relatively close to the comic stories and has decent special effects considering the time of filming (2003) and sfx artistry in costume (Game of Thrones Conan Stevens who played the Mountain is under the Man Thing costume in his first movie role). It is not a film that hardcore Marvel fans will appreciate. It is completely unlike other Marvel movies so younger fans should likely stay away. It could have been adapted a lot better but stereotypical and cliche horror movie elements ruined the chance of Man Thing being adapted as he was. My impression of these elements was that creators were attempting to appeal to a wider younger audience at the time. Leaving the cliches out and making it a little less Bmovie horror and a little more true to the nature of the comic could have made it at least entertaining for its Marvel fanbase if not for anyone else. It recieved mostly negative reviews with many people walking out before the movie ended at an early screening. Perhaps one to watch late at night on the SyFy channel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
I purchased Man Thing not expecting very much but did so being an avid Marvel/DC Comics fan and have to say was pleasantly suprised.Purists of the Man Thing comics may be slightly disappointed but after watching with an open mind and not too high an expectation i found it to be an enjoying movie.The scenes in the swamp (most of the film)are dark and creepy(ish)and go some way to covering up some of the less than convincing acting.At only 92 minutes long Man Thing's well worth a watch despite some negative reviews and deserves a place in any comic book dvd collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2007
After being a Manthing fan for a number of years, this film is the most dissapointing pile of cack I have ever seen. To say this film is boring and predictable is an insult to every other film that is boring and predictable

The Manthing comics were often intelligent psycholigical reads and the creater wasn't a random killer.....people that touched him just happened to combust. I was expecting more of a Frankenstein appeal to this film with viewers wanting to relate to the doomed creature, how Marvel could endorce this cheap horror as having anything to do with their character is beyond me. I didn't notice Stan Lee have a guest spot in this one and it is painfully obvious why
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
oh my god this is crap, i bought it to complete my marvel dvd collection, the trailer wasnt too bad, but the film is, too much dark green gloomyness in the swamps, the cover art nails the tone of the film, just look at it for an hour and a half, it'll be more fun
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
I bought this DVD because Alex O'Loughlin is in it. I had discovered Alex in Moonlight on TV and I have since collected all of Alex's work. When I watched Man-Thing I had already seen FEED, Oyster Farmer and Mary Bryant. Man-Thing is just what it is supposed to be - a fun film version of the Marvel Comic Book. If I hadn't known before watching the movie, I would have never guessed that this is an Australian film. I live in the southern US myself - the locations they used to shoot at were very believable and Alex O. did an amazing job with his southern accent. In my opinion Brett got it right when he cast Alex as the lead in FEED after doing Man-Thing. Alex is so much better with an american accent (impeccable, actually), and I enjoyed Matthew Le Nevez much more as a co-star with his natural Australian accent. I would absolutely recommend Man-Thing though - Alex shines as Deputy Eric Fraser. The movie reminds me of the kind of sci-fi flicks I used to watch on a Saturday afternoon on TV, and that is just what Brett intended it to be. Nothing too serious, just good old-fashioned sci-fi fun. Buy Man-Thing and while you are shopping be sure to buy the rest of Alex's movies and work on TV - you will be so glad that you did. The man can do no wrong on film!
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
This Early entry in Marvels attempt to take over the Movie Universe is a Very Dull and Badly put together rendering of One of their lesser known Books and perhaps thats the problem,theres little interest to be had in a character nobodies heard of.Dull and unimaginative with Poor effects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Good seller and quick delivery, but the film was not quite what I thought it would be. Not at all like other Marvel films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2006
This is an imaginative portrayal of the Marvel comic book figure of the 'Man Thing'. Unlike the previous reviewer, I did not notice the Australian accents or the fact that the Native American was actually an Australian Aborigine. I also did not think that the acting was amateurish. The industrial swamp was an interesting and strangely beautiful setting. There were some unpleasant scenes in which people were gored to death and mutilated bodies were shown. However, these were kept to a minimum and were a necessary part of the story. In fact, it was possible to distance oneself from the unpleasantness of the 'death' scenes if one bore in mind that the killer was a swamp monster. The characters were suitably hill-billy, thus helping to reinforce the viewer's impression of being in some remote part of America.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Good film hope to buy from you again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse