Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11

on 3 February 2012
Got vols 1 & 2. Only had a best of before. Its great getting all Als early work on 4 cds. He is SOO good, if you like the man and his music, or 60s/70s soul thoroughly recommend this. Ive also bought some of his later works, from the 80s and 90s and that is also well worth listening to. Someone once said Al Green was made by God to put a smile on your face and this music sure does that. God bless ya Al.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2015
Fantastic Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2013
Only had two of the four albums on vinyl (Explores and Al Green Is Love). If I already had them all it is still a worthwhile purchase and excellent value. Al Green at the pinnacle of his career (but his recent stuff is also worth buying).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2016
all ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2013
The best of al green in one place - excellent. In the past you either buy the occasionally greatest hits which some but not all the good tracks. This album combination gives all the good tracks in one place and good for those long car journeys
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2013
I absolutely love Al Green ! This CD has all the golden oldies. I originally bought it for my son, but then I just couldn't let it go! Now I can play sweet tunes anytime of the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 October 2017
Al Green's 9th-12th albums for Hi Records and his 10th-13th overall see him end his association with his long-time label and abandon secular music. Covering the years 1975-1977, Al's personal life had passed the pivotal point of having hot grits poured over him and he had found his calling to God, evidenced by the lead track in this collection Glory, Glory. Further this period also saw a split from producer Willie Mitchell and the murder of rock steady drummer Al Jackson Jr. The coming of disco also saw Al's style being seen as past it's sell-by date in the public's eye and consequently there are no giant hit singles which are sadly absent from these four albums: Full Of Fire, Have A Good Time, The Belle Album and Truth N' Time.

The first two of those albums, which comprise disc 1 still feature the remaining members of the Hi Rhythm section but Al Jackson Jr's peerless drumming is sorely missed, and whilst very, very good these albums aren't great like their fabulous predecessors. This brace also mark the final use of the Royal Recording Studio. The latter pair which comprise disc 2 see an entirely different backing crew with Al himself taking on production duties at New studio American Music Recording Studio, Tennessee. With hindsight it's almost like Al sensed things were getting a little tired because this latter pair are certainly a step up in quality. Whilst by no means bad albums they aren't the exceptional ones covering his period as a major hit maker, evidenced in Volumes 1 and 2 of this hard to find series. Don't get me wrong, Volume 3 is well worth owning, but by the exceptional standards Al set this comprises a slight tailing off, but would still trounce the majority of his peers' output. Al still bleeds soul from every pore. The whole package is well put together with an authoritative essay in a well-designed booklet. Al pulls at your heartstrings on a predominantly self-penned set of songs, although fine interpretations of To Sir With Love and a radical reinterpretation of I Say A Little Prayer are included. Whilst Al's religious conversion is apparent in some tracks it's certainly not in your face, and the majority here is still secular. Worth buying for any fan of Al Green, especially if you are fortunate enough to own Volumes 1 & 2 and are looking to complete the set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2013
Very happy with the price. Came in good condition. Haven't listened to all four albums yet but happy so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 October 2006
Starting with "Call Me" this set tracks Al Green in the middle phase of his Hi career. As a huge fan of the man I collected all these on Vinyl (and still have them), and for me he represents everything that was good about Soul in the late 60's and early 70's.

By this stage, he had established something of a blueprint for an Al Green album - the loping relaxed rythym section and the metronome beat, courtesy of the Hodges Brothers and producer Willie Mitchell.

"Call Me" is a Soul album, but shows a very clear link to Country music, not surprising since both have their roots in the South. Al is on fine self pitying form on "So Lonesome..." and "Funny How Time Slips Away" . There are a couple of hits here, but no showstopping cover, something that had been a feature of previous albums

"Livin' for You" has such a cover - Al Greens version of "Unchained Melody" is a masterpiece, with drums, strings and guitar used sparingly to point up the double tracked vocal. In truth the rest of the album struggles to live up to this, but there a couple of worthwhile tracks, like "Free at Last" (rare social comment from Al here) and the title track.

"Explores Your Mind " finds him back on top form. There is "Take Me To The River", and the single "Sha La La" and the quality is much more even. Tracks like "Hangin'On and Hooked On You" stand comparison with his best.

"Al Green is Love" continues the rich vein. Once again, every track deserves attention and there is more variety than you might expect, from Funk on "Love Ritual" via a semi blues "Rhymes" to a the more standard Al on "Oh Me Oh My" - this vies with "Still In Love With You" as my favourite Al Green album.

Incidentally , ending the set is the ballad "Strong as Death" which featured as a "B" side to "Oh Me Oh My" and did not feature on the original album - worth the admission price on it's own, this is a piece of Green at his most quirky, but somehow it works brilliantly.

At the price this set is an essential purchase for anyone interested in exploring the Soul music of the era.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
GREAT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)