Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12


on 31 July 2017
Good condition. I enjoyed it. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
it is wonderfully acted and i enjoyed in seeing derek jacobi as a horrible one! his acting is brilliant ... of course
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2014
Love Agatha Christie, films, TV or her books enjoy watching my DVD, I like Geraldine McEwan playing Miss Marple, smashing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2014
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2008
This is the best adaptation in the series, so far. Forget Agatha Christie and Joan Hickson (and even Margaret Rutherford) and just enjoy the film in its own right.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2010
What a refreshing version of that often churned out Christie tale. Geraldine M is the best at 'being' Marple. Like Margaret Rutherford films it is so welcoming to have reinterpretations of those often 'done' tales.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2013
Unfortuneatley my brother is blind who I order these films for. He went blind at the age of 38 and loves to watch/hear films he has already seen so he can visualise these.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2006
This 2004 adaption of the classic Agatha Christie is well up to the mark, but I can't help feeling if the 1986 Joan Hickson version was far better, because Stephen Churchett's adaption seems to lose all of its gloss, as with TR Bowen's adaption which was in my opinion, well-researched, and closer to Christie's book.
Geraldine McEwan is excellent as Marple, and the only other notable exceptions are Robert Powell as Dr Haydock, and Stephen Tomkinson as DI Slack.
The other parts are somewhat miscast : Tim McInnery, and Rachel Stirling as the Reverend, and Mrs Clement (the late Paul Eddington, and the wonderful Cheryl Campbell were more suitably cast in the 1986 BBC adaption) . Jane Asher as an unmemorable Mrs Lestrange playing the character somewhat unpleasant making Norma West's original portrayal of the character far more believable, and understandable to viewers which is sadly lacking in Churchett's screenplay.
There are so many incosistencies in the screenplay including Mrs Lestrange's plight with the ITV Version potraying the characters as unsympathetically as possible making the BBC Version compulsive viewing. Although 20 years apart, ITV should have learnt valuable lessons fromm the BBC in adapting the Marple books. The 2nd series of Marple is a marked improvement compared to the first.
So what went wrong? A number of things, mainly relating to the screenplay which should have been researched better, but this is to judge it too harshly, it still brilliant to watch, and Geraldine McEwan is the best thing in it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2008
Robert Powell , Tim McInnery , Derek Jacobi , Janet McTeer and Rachel Tier all do a very good job in a well filmed attempt to update the Miss Marple franchise . Geraldine McKewan is very brave to try and follow on after Joan Hickson and both of them have the merit of looking and sounding like the Miss Marple of the novels . It is a stunning TV Movie but the excecutions at the end are a bit distressing . But it does point out that thoughts of adultery & murder can give birth to death if not rooted out by a desire to stand before Our Lord in good conscience . In a way it is pleasing that Agatha Christie's works are being adapted for a modern early 21st Century audience but the harrowing conclusion of this episode could have been made less graphic by just having Miss Marple reading of the hanging's in the paper and then the end credits rolling as she prays some devotions . You can make a point without resorting to a Channel 4 / Sky style fetish for shocking people . Other than that the TV movie is broadly faithful to the novel and the cast does a great job . I wonder what David Horrovitch made of the re-interpretation of Inspector Slack ? The comic bombast was still there !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)