Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Big Cat Week: The Complete First and Second Series [DVD] (2004/2005)
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 15 July 2006
The release of this has obviously been timed to coincide with the end of the latest Big Cat week, or if you prefer Big Cat 3. This is a daily drama well worth investing your time in and it's a great shame it's only on our small screens once a year.

For anyone unfamiliar with the concept of Big Cat week three presenters follow three sets of big cats around for a week and see what happens. It's that simple, but some of the drama that unfolds is mesmerising and buttock clenchingly tense. Before the end of the first episode you are hooked into caring what happens to these animals and worry almost as much as the presenters, who let me, tell you worry a hell of a lot, every time something seems to be amiss.

We follow the pride of lions dubbed the marsh pride because they live near a marsh handily enough with Simon King who is probably the most dispassionate of the presenters. Saba Douglas Hamilton (driving her Big Cat jeep in bare feet) is attached to a leopard called Bella and her cub Chui while Jonathan Scott tracks the cheetahs. Hamilton is passionate and articulate but rarely gets overly emotional which is more than you can say about Scott who spends every episode getting in a right tizzy about something and is weirdly camp with it. The cheetahs though are the most at risk of the three groups so in a way it's understandable.

Series one has Scott following Kike trying to raise her litter of cubs , something she has never managed successfully before and for series two he follows up to see how she is getting on. King after following the marsh pride for the first series turns his attention to a couple of lions - Chezah and Sala- for the second while Hamilton stays with Bella for both.

There is around 8 hours of footage here, which for the price is a bargain plus there are two additional documentaries centred on Bella and Cheza & Sala. Big Cat Week is one of the TV highlights of the year and in my opinion should be on everyday, or at least as often as the soaps that clog up the schedules like moss in a drainage culvert. Exciting, emotional, nerve-racking, even funny, everything you expect from a soap. The only problem I can envisage is that Jonathan Scott would probably have a nervous breakdown within a month.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2008
Big Cat Week is a brilliant show, and these two series are no exception. You really go in depth into the cat's lives, and experience the ups and downs of what they go through each and every day to survive. You simply become so attached to the cats that the constant action will have you on the edge of your seat all of the way through the series. A definite must!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2006
I bought this DVD having watched the 2006 Big Cat Week on TV. This is a fantastic DVD with great camera work and the stories are really well told. It brings back great memories of my safari in the Masai Mara, where we were lucky enough to see Kike sitting on a truck and it makes me want to go back there again as soon as possible!

Great DVD, well worth the money!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
Hello Everyone,
I just wanted to suggest this DVD series for any wildlife lover of any kind. I live in the Unites States of America, and unfortunately we over here don't have the opportunity to buy these DVDs in America. Our local DVD retailers don't even know what the show is when I ask them, and they are only available on the European Region DVD players (which an American must have to play these DVDs). I took my search across the Atlantic to Britain and found them here on Amazon. These DVDs are just fantastic for those of us that can't afford to go to Africa at the moment. The narrators, are just great. One can tell that they really enjoy being in the Masai Mara and it just makes for a great viewing experience. I honestly would prefer watching this some nights over regular movies. The reason being is because the viewer gets to know the different cat's on a personal level because they follow the same group around on a daily basis. By the end of the show you will find yourself aligning yourself with the different cats. These truly are amazing and the best $14USD I have spent in a while!!

Blessings to all of my British Friends across the Atlantic
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
We bought this for our 8 year old son who is a big cheetah fan. This is by far his favourite wildlife DVD (and he has many). What makes it so different is how you get to follow different characters and become completely fasciated by them - a big hit with our son but also with his parents, I'm not crazy about wildlife movies but you just cannot stop watching this one. You just have to find out what happens to the lion, cheetah and leopard you are following - and meanwhile you learn a lot about these beautiful cats. The presenters are fantastic.
Great entertainment for the entire family!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
Having watched them on TV the first time round and then having recently visted the Mara , it was wonderful to watch. Notch is still going strong !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
something i remembered watching years ago so thank you for this great item really great stuff this is couldnt be happier
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
Leopard cubs, cheetah cubs, lion cubs, wow... I love this show. Fantastic footage.

Unfortunately, they keep talking about cubs dying of hunger or being killed by adult males or by hyenas. It could be a bit disturbing for little children, so be careful.

English subtitles are available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
I loved these dvd's it gives a wonderful insight into the lives of the big cats. Great footage and stories, really well put together. I would highly recommend watching for anyone with an interest in Africa's big cats. Fantastic watching. . .really enjoyed :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)