Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
110
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Transporter / Transporter 2 (15) (NEW DVD) (2 Movie Collection)
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 July 2017
This film set contains the first 2 offerings from the Transporter series.

The Transporter films are action films based around Jason Statham (playing the role of Frank Martin) who works transporting challenging cargo's that others would not want to or could not handle (like people, money, explosives, etc). Both films are full of amazing driving, fantastic fight scenes and great action that keeps you captivated throughout.

These films are among my favourite action films and I highly recommend checking these out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
5*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
My boys and I loved sitting down on a Sunday afternoon with these films and a bag of popcorn. Funny with great stunts, fast paced and funny with comic book style violence. We loved them. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2016
Lots of action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
Brilliant. Both movies are great, even if some of the stunts in #2 are a bit unrealistic (watch the bit when he gets the bomb off the bottom of his car). Apart from that they are both great action movies with a bit of romance in the first one and the makings of a great movie boxset.

My verdict: Buy this set
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2006
Not being a tv addict, infact being a social reluse i have to say i dont really watch much tv at all,its all doom and gloom, but i watched both of these films on a 'girls night in' and have to say they are superbe and absolutuley refreshingly different. The Characters, the acting, the fight scenes, the car chases, you're thinking 'oh ive seen it all before' and i thought that too, but i was suprisingly shocked at the fact i actually pressed the pause button to make tea! Im not big on buying DVD's, very few make it into my small collection, but these two are a must have and the type you wont tire of watching time and time again.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2012
In Jason Statham's first starring role he plays Frank Martin, an ex-something or other who now lives in the sunny French Riviera delivering packages for shady gentlemen. He likes the quiet life and has imposed a set of rules upon his underhanded deals to maintain the tranquility.

His latest package contains Lai, an Asian lady who can only speak in broken, phonetic English. For whatever reason he opens the package and throws his work ethic into turmoil. A million bad guys with a bad aim come after him but he always manages to come out on top despite the fight scenes being a blur.

The plot is nonsense. The only thing worth watching (or so I used to think) are the fight scenes, but they are so poorly edited (as is the whole film) that you never feel the impact or the excitement.

The Transporter is good enough if you want to switch your brain off and veg over some tame action against a scenic backdrop. It certainly ain't no classic.

For number 2 the action is relocated from the French Riviera to Miami, a city often featured in bad sequel movies (2 Fast 2 Furious, Bad Boys II, Police Academy 5). Frank Martin (a skin-headed, forever grimacing Jason Statham) no longer takes dodgy package from A to B, instead he's temping as a chauffeur for a wealthy family. But when the kid is snatched by stereotyped Colombian villain he springs back into action, kicking ass in his own special way.

It turns out that the kid has been injected with a deadly virus. And everyone he breathes on will catch it. And so on and so on. An interesting plot device that soon crumbles into a massive pile of plot holes.

The action doesn't have the same edge as it did before. I can appreciate far-fetched action films as long as they stay within relative distance of reality. Transporter 2 goes way beyond reality in well into stupidity, turning Frank Martin from delivery man into indestructible super-hero. After a while you'll realize this man can do anything and will always walk out of the worst scenario alive. It totally kills the excitement.

And as if the plot wasn't flimsy enough, the narrative just completely shatters and will leave you disorientated and lost among the brawling and battling. Characters come and go with no explanation, sub-plots are abandoned and the film is totally void of a denouement or climax. There's no satisfaction in the silly story being wrapped up.

All Transporter 2 really does is showcase a bunch of totally far-fetched fight scenes, while failing at everything else that could have made the film a contender. Even the relentlessly silly Danny the Dog did better than this.

Even though it's made by a European director and producer and funded with European money, something that gave the first such a unique feel, this feels an awful lot like a Hollywood trash flick. It's a shame the series had to stumble so soon. Since the end hints a third, one can only hope that Leterrier and Besson get their act together. What began as a series made in the style of Taxi, Ronin and Kiss of the Dragon has ended up tumbling into world where movies like Stealth and SWAT live. And that ain't good.

The movies presented here are not the uncut versions found on the French Blu-rays. The first movie doesn't have a very good picture but the sequel looks better. Both are in 2.35:1 1080p. The DTS HD-MA soundtracks are good enough. There are a fair amount of extras.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 17 January 2014
Frank Martin (Jason Statham) lives a quiet and unassuming life in the French Riviera as a self employed delivery driver with a difference. He doesn't wear a uniform, you won't find him in the yellow pages and he doesn't work out of a depot. He delivers items that no other delivery company would dare to handle and there are no consignment notes or paperwork to fill in.

Frank has 3 rules; 1 Never change the deal. 2 No names. 3 Never look in the package. He adheres to these rules until one day he notices a package happens to be moving. Eventually he breaks rule 3 to find a young woman inside the package. The recipient of said package now has to make sure that Frank is silenced.

In the second film Frank relocates to Miami and is working for a wealthy family to transport their young son to and from school. The young boy is kidnapped and Frank sets out to recue him. The kidnappers have another plan to release a virus and Frank has to rely on his special forces skills to get the job done.

Both films have plenty of chase and fight action and will satisfy the needs of most action film fans and at the current price of 5GBP it is an absolute bargain to be had.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
I really like both these films. Action all the way and Jason Statham is a really good actor he's got such a great acting voice aswell. If you like your action films they don't get any better than this.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)