Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
33
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2007
Considering that Daft Punk have only released three albums, it would have been easy to make this compilation a proper singles collection. If you dropped the album tracks and the remixes from this issue, there would be plenty of room to include Burnin' (you would think that with 5 tracks from Homework that they would have covered all the singles!) and the two missing singles from Discovery (Digital Love and Aerodynamic) as well as The Prime Time of Your Life from Human After All. To add insult to injury, the booklet features cover shots of the first three missing singles just to remind you of what you're missing.

The three remixes might justify the purchase of the album for some but they sound more like filler to me. Having all the singles in one place and maybe an additional Homework era b-side (Assault) would have justified it a lot more.

The music being what it is, I have to at least give the album three stars but I can't give anything more to this compilation that feels to me like a missed opportunity.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
This is definitley a great compilation, however there are three great songs missing. Aerodynamic- one of their best songs with the amazing guitar part, without a doubt, almost all daft punk fans will say that that would be their favourite song. The other is Digital love, another great catchy song from daft punk from the discovery era where they came back to reclaim the crown of dance music. The other is, Burnin, from the Homework album, a really catchy song, much more worthy of a place on the compilation, rather than rollin and scratchin which wasn't even released as a single.
But, that aside its a very good collection of songs from the two french house wizzards. The first song on it- Musique, I had never heard it before and to be honest, it was the only reason I bought this CD. It was worth it though, as it is just amazing!! Dangerously addictive house, which I can't get enough of. No doubt that song that song paved the way for a great musical future for them.
The other three songs are quite good, I like the mothership connection and chord memory remixes. Though the remix of Gabrielle's forget about the world is just OK. It has a strange noise of changing her voice to sound higher, and loads of kids screaming at the start..
Anyway though, this collection would be perfect if it had those other 3 songs, but, the final verdict is just: Quite Good
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2006
This latest release from Daft Punk might seem like it's nothing more than a cash-in before they go touring again in summer 06. However, if you're a hardcore fan, then there's some stuff on here you probably won't want to pass up.
The CD is mainly stuff from the past three albums (most of it from Homework, and 3 songs a piece from Discovery and Human After All). It's a decent CD to listen to if you can't be bothered setting up a playlist with your favourite tracks, but otherwise, the majority of it is nothing new. There are 3 Daft Punk remixes as well, but none of them stood out as particularly amazing, and they did kinda seem tagged on as filler. The best part of the CD for me was the inclusion of "Musique" - the B side to Da Funk, which I bought back in 97, but then I lost the cassette and forgot how much I missed untill now.
It's also worth noting that there are some very odd choices of tracks (or lack thereof) - there's no "Digital Love" or "Aerodynamic" for example, two of the best tracks from the awesome Discovery.
The real highlight of this, however, is the DVD - it's got 5 videos of Homework tracks, three from Discovery/Interstella 555, and four from Human After All, including the immense "Robot Rock Maximum Overdrive" - which, if you're into glitch or cutup music is a real treat, though I can imagine it won't appeal to everyone's taste. But seeing the videos all in one place, collected together is such a treat. Daft Punk's videos are some of the best of recent years, if not all time. Definatley worth a look.
All in all, I'd say, if you're a fan you'd be daft not to pick this up (apologies for the terrible, terrible pun).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2007
...just four words you could use to describe Daft Punk i the face of most other dance acts around today. This best of just reminds you how slick, impressive and downright FUN Daft Punk are - something missing from a great deal of dance acts today. The highlights are obviously One More Time, Around The World and the aforementioned Harder Better Faster Stronger - all perfect reminders of amazing club nights gone by. A great place to start for those that are new to Daft Punk - you'll be amazed by how many songs you actually know. Go and buy it immediately.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
The enigmatic duo of Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo - otherwise known as the critically-acclaimed, club- and chart-friendly French House act Daft Punk - weren't exactly the most diligent of artists in the nineties and noughties. They released a mere three studio albums between 1993 and 2005: Homework; Discovery, and Human After All. This cumbersomely titled, chronological anthology of singles, album tracks, B-sides, and remixes looks to bring together some of their best material from that leisurely era.

It works pretty well.

In examining their first dozen years the compilers have sensibly included the lion share of their 12" they put out. This is understandable when you consider that virtually all of Daft Punk's best releases were singles. Hearing energetic, floor-filling classics like 'One More Time', 'Around The World', and 'Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger' strung together back-to-back on a single disc is impressive. They provide a pointed reminder of why Daft Punk - with their funky bass-lines, repetitive lyrics, vocoded vocals, and banging beats - are one of only a handful of dance acts who have managed to acquire mainstream success whilst distancing themselves from the more pejorative, wrongheaded associations about the type of music they play (Bacardi Breezers, glow sticks and Ibizan night clubs). The inclusion of the opener 'Musique' - the B-side to 'Da Funk'- which gives this collection its title is a welcome bonus. With its raw production values, insistent disco rhythm, and treated vocals it is the better side of one of their best singles.

There are only a couple of things wrong with this 2006 release from the group's former label Virgin Records. Curiously, three of the group's most well-liked singles are omitted (the trio of 'Aerodynamic', 'Burnin'', and 'Digital Love'). Whilst, somewhat dispiritingly, the overly slushy electro-ballad 'Something About Us', and three second-rate tracks from the critically-panned 2005 album, Human After All are included. These two errors are compounded by the inclusion of three competent but inessential Daft Punk remixes of tracks by Scott Grooves, Ian Pooley, and Gabrielle at the untidy conclusion of this collection.

Nonetheless, in the absence of any competition the nearly-CD filling, 75 minute Musique Vol. 1 1993 - 2005 seems worth owning if you want an accurate introductory survey of Daft Punk's slightly inconsistent, small body of work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2007
This should be a must for any techno/house fans. Many belive that those genres are dead and just something for dance clubs in Ibiza, but Daft Punk continues to make something fresh. It loses a mark because this is not with the DVD. And it doesn't have Digital Love, which is a very feelgood song that would have put more variation into this album. But, if you don't want to spend too much money (Musique Vol. 1 CD+DVD) or want a more complete Daft Punk history (Homework/Discovery/Human after all), buy this.

...

Now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2006
The French duo Daft Punk helped shape 90s dance and intensely influenced club music, producing the floor filling tunes we recognise today. If you're familiar with Daft Punk, and perhaps own 1997s Homework and the synth-pop style club hits found in Discovery, perhaps Musique Vol 1 is not for you. Not due to lack of brilliance, but of consistent repetition. This is a first class compilation beginning with underground electro, house and techno, moving to dance floor classics such as One More Time. Musique Vol 1 oozes the fresh, euphoric sound that is unmistakably Daft Punk.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2007
daft punk are iconic electronica proformers and this album collects some of there greatest songs together for an amazing cd

with human after all and around the world included. this is a great cd to start with if you are new to daft punk and would like to check them out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Musique Vol. 1 (1993-2005) by Daft Punk contains a pristine music collection of electronic hits such as Harder Better Faster Stronger, Robot Rock, and One More Time. I admit that I forgot which song I first heard by them, yet I at least remember hearing Around The World by Daft Punk back around 2001/2002 when I was still in Japan and I eventually made the connection (as with many others) that Kanye West’s Stronger is inspired by Daft Punk’s Harder Faster Stronger (not that there is anything wrong with that especially since I’m guessing West probably got permission to sample Harder Faster Stronger by Daft Punk for his Stronger song).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
NICE PACKAGING - DIGIPACK.
DVD = 13 TRACKS
NO ACTUAL SONG TITLE SELECTION JUST PICTURE.
LPCM 2 CHANNEL AUDIO
(POOR - MORE LIKE DOLBY DIGITAL COMPRESSED)
GRAINY PICTURE - POOR FOR NTSC.
CD = GOOD.!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here