Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2006
I was lucky enough to be in Madrid earlier this year and managed to pick up a copy of Techari before it's UK release date. But unlucky enough to miss their Madrid concert by days!
Techari is an excellent album and will undoubtedly make Ojos De Brujos even more popular and well known this year in the UK. Now given that their London concert on 8th April this year is already sold out this heightened popularity might not be such a good thing for those of us desperate to see their live dynamism.

There are a number of really great tracks on Techari. The brilliant Todo Tiende is likely to become to Techari what Ventilator R-80 was to Bari but there are many more delights to be found on this album. Check out the wonderful jazz vibe in Track 8 - No somos Maquinas and the laid back reggae beat found in track 10 - Corre lora corre. And many more.

Ojos de Brujo continue to produce truly exciting and original music and will surely go from strength to strength. I for one will make sure I catch them on their Techari tour even if I have to have another holiday to Spain in order to do it!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2006
Musically, ODB don't stray too far from the territory covered on Bari, and I for one am very thankful for this. Sultinas De Merkaillo is the absolute killer cut for me, so far - although it has to be said, that other bits of magic are emerging with each new listen. The CD-rom has an absolutely beautiful video and a film of the band in Havana - all good stuff. However, it's the artwork on this limited edition package which makes it stand out. It is absolutely beautiful. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2006
OK so this is not my first time listening to Flamenco or Flamenco influenced music but i still should like this. Firstly i prefer the traditional forms of flamenco to alot of this modern-fusion stuff turning up these days, secondly i also hate hip-hop. Thus on the surface i should not like Ojos De Brujo because they are a fusion band with a base of rumba flamenco, and worse than that they often fuse with hip-hop amongst other forms of music. Nonetheless it works! The music has a powerful energy with interesting twists and turn, the vocals are great the words have meaning (rare for hip-hop songs on MTV)and it never gets boring. This is better than Bari and i'm sure this band could go far, if like me you doubted that you would find them listenable when you heard a description of them.....give them the benefit of any doubt and give it a try. INFECTIOUS!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2006
Now a fan - was looking for some spanish guitar music in HMV and heard this in the background. Loved it. Bought it. Can't stop playing it. Great combo of cultural and funk/hiphop sounds with superb production to boot.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2006
Like another reviewer I was lucky enough to see Ojos de Brujo live and I was absolutely blown away. The sheer energy of the group was incredible. I had never heard of them before but seeing the amount of people queuing in the hope there might still be tickets free even though it had been sold out for weeks made me realise this band was something not to be missed.

This CD captures some of that incredible presence they have on stage. I would seriously recommend this to anyone, even if you've never listened to this type of music.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2007
AWESOME package!!!

book.... briliant, with fantastic artwork!!.

ALL songs are printed alongside beautiful, eclectic images. The visual alone is wonderful... quality paper!! (each song is translated on the CDROM into loads of languages!!)

CDrom... again geat stuff, has animated & graphic renditions (one is a time lapse graffiti, start to finish, as the visual). Band footage, all very interesting and again all well done...

but the best bit..... well the tunes!!! for me... I just shake my head and smile, I am pround to be associated (same species!) with such brilliance!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
It's so rare to find music in the modern industry that haven't become tainted by 'popular culture demands' and instead stick to traditional flamenco latin jazz roots, the result is a refreshingly original group with a unique sound. Any fan of latin/nu-jazz I would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
Hip Hop with a little flamenco is how Ojos de brujo (Eyes of the Wizard) describe themselves.Well,I'd call it alternative Flamenco with a hip hop flair...yes there are scratchings,beats and the occassional rapped verse but there is definitely a world sensibility ranging from afro beat to Hindi Sitars to reggae and a little soft rock.I was pleasantly surprised,you do not have to know a lick of spanish to enjoy this album,remember good music transcends language barriers and this does...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
Good product and was sent on time. I had this as a great Christmas present, and had an affordable price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Prompt delivery and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£2.98
£17.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)