Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 18 May 2010
It's a great film and the BD looks and sounds excellent to me.


On the Amazon order page it said 2 discs. As the US version also had two discs I mistakenly thought they were the same editions. It turns out that this edition (Steelbook) has 1 BD disc and 1 Digital Copy disc.

As the feature film on the US version (according to DVD Beaver) takes up over 47.000 GB and thus fills a whole disc, how can this version have all the extras on the same disc as the feature without the transfer of the feature film being inferior to the US?

Has anybody made an actual comparison? Can you actually see a difference?

The packaging is great - but I do feel cheated finding out that the 2 discs mentioned was actually just 1 BD + digital copy and not 2 BDs.

Any comments, please?
55 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2016
I must point out that all credits goes to people of 'avforums.com', where you also can find a deeper review about quality of transfers and so on. I was simply interested on the extras of this 'Special Edition'..
"There's a lot of material into this 2-disc presentation, although with the main feature dominating the first platter, all the special features are to be found over on the second one.
Spielberg still doesn't provide us with a commentary, but we do get a 34-minute interactive interview with the filmmaker in The Future According to Steven Spielberg , which has been edited and re-ordered for this Blu-ray release from a session he gave on the eve of the film's premier. Forthright and engaging, the interview is broken down into a plethora of topics and further dissected and detailed with a U-Control style selection of further featurettes on everything from Dick's writing, the casting of Cruise, the filming techniques, the visual FX and the stunts, to the props, the ethics and the morality of the issues that the story raises, with behind-the-scenes and on-set footage, concept art and extensive further interviews.
I'm not going to waffle on endlessly about all the individual featurettes on the film's look, its story, its adaptation from Dick's short tale, the visual effects breakdowns, the science and technology that Spielberg and ILM employed and the stunts and conceptual artwork that provided the foundation for the future world and the society that inhabits it because it would get boring and repetitious. But the fact is that whilst there is some inevitable overlap and repetition throughout the smorgasbord of special features, this is about as comprehensive a set of extras that you could wish for, barring that ever-elusive chat-track from the 'Berg. The film is deconstructed in terms of theme, context, visuals and design and genuine adherence to credibility and a convincing look at future-tech and sensibility is rammed-home by all participants.
You get storyboards and pre-viz material. There's a nifty promotional fake EPK for Pre-Crime and what it can do for you, that takes you, the concerned citizen, behind the scenes at the project's HQ. There is also plenty of extensive coverage of the film's key action sequences - notably the jet-pack chase, the car factory and the Spyders. It is a great selection, of course, with the majority of these featurettes running between five and ten minutes".
(End quote).
Trust this information helps to anybody, if anybody find it at Amazon, just let me know and I'll delete it straight away, This is not a review so, please, don't complain abuot.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2016
OK. Sci-fi is generally not my thing. One of the reasons why it has taken many years for me to even decide to see this. My general impression and experience of Steven Spielberg is that I find him to be far more in his element, and a far better story-teller, with projects like Schindler's List, Lincoln, Saving Private Ryan or The Color Purple rather than Minority Report or A.I. - Artificial Intelligence (which I couldn't even sit through, after about an hour I just aborted the mission, thought it was absolute rubbish).

The first half I found didn't hold my attention all that well, too many gadgets for my liking, the plot itself quite clumsy, Colin Farrell's character superfluous and unnecessary except for token baddie and red herring.

I persevered, and by the end I wasn't as disappointed. The story brought pasts and futures together well, some twists and turns quite well placed too, so in the end it was a reasonable adventure, but nothing wonderful by any stretch of the imagination. In fact really it's main fault is that it is too much of a stretch of the imagination.

Still, not nearly as awful as A.I. but also not nearly as good as Spielberg's "proper" films. For diehard sci-fi fans only really.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2016
Minority Report is one of the best ‘real’ science fiction movies of all time; by ‘real sci-fi’ I mean a film that looks intelligently at the world of tomorrow and asks thought-provoking questions, rather than simply blowing up spaceships. This is hardly surprising since it’s based on a short story by the philosophical sci-fi novelist Philip K. Dick, whose works were the inspiration for the equally brilliant Blade Runner and the distinctly daft Total Recall, amongst others. The set-up here is that three ‘Pre-Cogs’ are able to see murders before they take place, allowing Pre-Crime officers to arrest killers before they can commit the crime. Tom Cruise is the poster boy Pre-Crime cop who has secretly become a drug addict following the abduction of his son, Max von Sydow is the boss of Pre-Crime who will do anything to expand the experiment across the whole of the US, and Colin Farrell is the hotshot Attorney General agent trying to find flaws in the Pre-Crime system. When the Pre-Cogs predict that Cruise himself is going to commit a murder he is forced to go on the run. As he tries to find proof that he is not a future murderer he encounters various weird and wonderful characters and ultimately discovers that Pre-Crime is not the infallible system he thought it was.

Minority Report is brilliant in every regard from script to acting and from design to visual effects, all expertly marshalled by Steven Spielberg who skilfully combines the intricate, intelligent plot with dramatic action sequences. Cruise has never been better and the supporting cast is also superb, with Samantha Morton especially excellent as the Pre-Cog Agatha. There are also some really creepy sequences, such as the spyders and the eye surgeon. My only gripe is the way Cruise has to explain what has been going on rather than allowing the audience to work things out for themselves.

The film looks and sounds fantastic on Blu Ray, but I have some minor gripes about the bonus features. The good news is that all the material from the previous DVD release has been carried over, though bizarrely while you can pause these featurettes you cannot scan forwards or backwards, so if you miss something that someone has said you’ll have to start from the beginning! There are some very good new retrospective documentaries looking at the life of Philip K. Dick, the props, and the real world application of the movement-controlled computer interface. There is also some behind the scenes and previz footage from various key action sequences. One featurette I could have done without though is the Pre-Crime ‘mockumentary’.

Aside from not being to the control the old DVD extras this is an excellent collection of bonus material, but when you first click on ‘Extras’ the first option you see is an ‘interactive’ interview with Steven Spielberg. The interview runs for 34 minutes but along the way you have the option to watch various related interviews and photo montages and it took me a good couple of hours to get through everything. Then, to my dismay, I discovered that *everything* here is included in the other bonus material on the disc, apart from a few seconds of the Spielberg interview. In fact the vast majority of the disc’s bonus material can actually be watched via the rather cumbersome interactive pop-ups. I would suggest that you watch the Spielberg interview but don’t brother with the pop-ups, and then watch all the bonus material separately.

Minority Report is a brilliant film and aside from some niggles about the bonus features this is an excellent Blu Ray and absolute must-buy for any sci-fi movie fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2011
- Loving the steelbook cover design, at least it was nicer a lot than normal UK edition or US edition which I found it look ugly. UK edition was release by Fox where the US edition was release by Paramount.
- Include 5 exclusive art cards, well printed and nice.
- BD is region Free which cover 3 regions A, B & C.
- Additional Digital Copy disc is included for iPod/iPhone or Windows Media format, you need a valid UK iTunes account before you can redeem on it for iPod/iPhone format.

- For me this is by far the greatest movie act by Tom Cruise before he gone mad on Scientology.
- One of the best Steven Spielberg directing film.

Extra Features
- All new features is in HD quality and well done, I specifically loving the new added "The Future According to Steven Spielberg".
- "Minority Report: Commercials of the Future" is another nonsense but fun extra features, it did well like World of Precrime is really exist. ha! ha
- Old DVD features is included in SD quality as well in two categories "2002 features" & "archive".

Picture Quality
- Extremely well transfer in BD, even though this UK release is only 27GB for film itself & include the extra features in same disc which is by far means lower bit rate use than in US edition as film itself already hock up to 47GB and extra features all in 2nd disc.
- From web review, it seems not a big different in PQ at both conversion which you hardly notice the differences thus UK edition even eliminate a top & bottom "tramline" issue in US release. Well done Fox.
Slightly grain in acceptable level and best suite to the film.
- The color in overall has been change compare with what I seen previously on theater or DVD. Less bluish but well tones in overall, the new recolor which even more outstanding the film feel.

Audio Quality
- I don't own any HT or even a HTiB, Ops! , but the sound is already crazy outstanding even out only from TV speaker itself. Loving it!
- Ops! maybe I not qualified judge on this

A must have in BD collection. 10 out of 10 score.
review imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 February 2014
If you could see the future, could you prevent it from happening? Or would events somehow conspire to make it come true?

That's the question -- never quite answered -- that lies at the heart of "Minority Report," a tightly-plotted, well-acted sci-fi movie that dabbles in chronophilosophy when it isn't bouncing through intertwined murder mysteries. Steven Spielberg's direction is tight and dramatic, the actors all do excellent jobs, and the one downside is the lackluster fight scenes.

In the not-too-distant future (next Sunday A.D.), murder is no longer a problem in the Washington DC area. The PreCrime Unit uses three "precogs" to predict where and when a murder will happen, and apprehend the murderers before they have a chance to kill.

Ever since his son was kidnapped, Captain John Anderton (Tom Cruise) has thrown himself into his PreCrime work. His faith in it is absolute, even when the justice of it is questioned by a clever young auditer, Danny Witwer (Colin Farrell). But then one of the precogs sees a vision of Anderton committing a crime: in 36 hours, he will shoot a man he has never even met before.

Like anyone else, Anderton immediately goes on the run, hoping that there is some way that the precogs could be mistaken about what will happen. His former partners and coworkers are all trying to hunt him down before he kills, but they aren't able to keep him from kidnapping the precog Agatha (Samantha Morton). Is Anderton doomed to his fate, or is the future not what PreCrime thinks it is? And who has set him up?

You can't really have a story about knowing the future without delving into the whole "free will vs. determinism" debate -- are we masters of our own fate, or will the future unfold as it was foretold? While it only lightly touches on the debate itself, "Minority Report" hinges entirely on those questions -- and while obviously it can't answer them entirely, it wraps the story in twists and double-twists that swing it both ways.

Spielberg's direction is tight, sleek and fast-moving, and he tosses in casually cruel touches (the eye-scanning spiders) that show the lack of real justice in PreCrime's world. He also shows that he's pretty amazing at making a murder mystery, twisting together some seemingly unconnected murders with a truly plausible precog-related motive. Everything makes sense by the end.

The movie's biggest problem is that the action scenes just aren't that good. The most ludicrous one is Cruise and Farrell fistfighting in a car factory as giant deadly robot arms assemble a car AROUND CRUISE, followed by Cruise simply driving out of the building. Yeah, that won't need fuel or anything.

As for Cruise, he's pretty good here. He's playing the same character he usually plays -- a pure-hearted yet tormented man fighting against the Big Bad System, and his flaws (addiction to a drug I didn't really understand) don't detract from his heroism.

Honestly, I was more intrigued by Colin Farrell's subtle performance as Danny Witwer -- a quiet, religious, intense man whose sense of justice is needled by the existence of PreCrime, and whose hunt for Anderton makes him realize that there's more going on here.. And there's a ring of other excellent performances -- Samantha Morton's ethereal Agatha, Max von Sydow, Neal McDonough, and the wildly underused Kathryn Morris as Anderton's estranged wife.

"Minority Report" is a solid, sleek action movie draped in a mantle of philosophical ponderings, and only the clumsy action sequences bog it down. Even if you're not a fan of Cruise, this movie should be seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2010
Languages: English DTS-HD 5.1; Italiano DTS 5.1; Castellano DTS 5.1.

Subtitles: English HOH; Italiano; Castellano; Greek; Dansk; Suomi; Norsk; Svenska; Hrvatski; Slovenski; Russian; Islenska; Hebrew.
33 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2009
I purchased this DVD after reading about the "definitive edition" on the Fox website. This is just a re-packaging exercise, the two discs it contains are exactly the same as the 2 disc version of the DVD released back in December 2002 but with different printing, so much for "Definitive Editions boast best-ever picture quality along with state-of-the-art audio, exploiting the entire range of DVD sound!" this is of course exactly the same sound and picture quality as the 2002 version but 5 years on (at the time of release).

Had I known the above at the time of purchase I would not have gone ahead with buy.Minority Report - Definitive Edition [DVD] [2002]

I have noted the fact that the "definitive editions" are no longer available as a "steelbook" is pointed out by Amazon on their page.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2014
Murder is virtually eliminated, thanks to an elite law enforcing squad.

They use three gifted humans("Pre-Cogs") with psychic powers to see into the future and predict crimes beforehand.

John Anderton heads the unit and believes in the system's flawlessness. But the Pre-Cogs predict that Anderton will commit a murder himself in the next 36 hours.

But Anderton doesn't even know the victim. He decides to get to the mystery's core by finding out the titular report which means the prediction of the female Pre-Cog Agatha that might tell a different story and prove Anderton innocent.

After the opening scene, you begin to realise that this isn't your normal Spielberg summer movie. In fact, next to War Of The Worlds, this is his darkest blockbuster.

From the dystopian setting, which is ironic considering the whole concept, to the bleached film stock, it isn't the most joyous summer movie, but it's a lot of fun, if it is twenty minutes too long.

As soon as Andertons name is etched on to the ball, it doesn't let up until he meets Crowe, who subliminally is his maker.

As with the majority of Spielberg summer films, nuclear family, or the concept of the nuclear family, is a big part of the film, and the Director gets the loss of Andertons son to be a pivotal part of the film.

Cruise excels as the desperate father, and he isn't the character you'd expect him to be. Here he is an addict, desperate, but at the same time,exudes an air of wanting to give up at certain points.

Standout scenes are the chase that ends with a yoga position, the search for Anderton with the spiders, and the jet pack sequence.

the camera-work is wonderful here, and some of the images stay with you a longtime after the film, like when Anderton is holding Agatha in the hotel foyer, just beautiful.

There is a lot of exposition in the film, hence the weighty length of the film, it didn't need to be this long, and the scene with Sydow and Farrell is ripped straight from L.A Confidential.

But all in all, it's an effective thriller, Cruise is brilliant, and Spielberg breathes a Hitchcockian element into the whole proceedings
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 December 2011
The year is 2054 and the murder rate in Washington is zero, the reason? Three Pre-Cognitives whose combined abilities witness murders before they actually occur. Apparently faultless, it's then something of a surprise to Pre-Crime chief John Anderton (Tom Cruise) when the Pre-Cogs predict he is to murder a man named Leo Crow. Forced to go on the run, and haunted by a family tragedy, Anderton must evade the system he so perfectly executed himself. Can he find a flaw? Or is he actually about to commit a murder?

Everybody Runs! That was the tag line that accompanied the explosive trailer for Steven Spielberg's, Tom Cruise starer, Minority Report. This marketing tool indicated that the great bearded one had adapted from the Phillip K Dick short story and created an action monster? He hadn't, he had in fact created something far far better than popcorn fodder.

Minority Report was the next project for Spielberg following the equally dark and intriguing AI: Artificial Intelligence, both films serving to note that Spielberg was capable of thought provoking science fiction outside of the crowd pleasers that many critics love to decry. In fact, it's arguable that Spielberg may have hit his creative peak with Minority Report, for the messages and crawling dystopian bleakness on show paint a picture not so much as a future far away in our lives, but of one we live in now. Big thematic points of reference dot themselves throughout the piece. Such as the changing of eye balls, or that in these post 9/11 years we yearn, and always will, to be safer.

Here in this bleached shadowy world, a world of metallic tones and visual stings (ace cinematographer Janusz Kaminski on duty), we are safe under Pre-Crime, yet still it's a world without soul, it has no heart, it's almost as if inhuman in itself, suggesting that the World's problems are not easily vanquished by technology - a total sacrifice of the World's inhabitant's souls. Spielberg of course is well served by the supreme professionals he has at his disposal, he has also managed to garner a great performance from Tom Cruise, something that critic and fan favourite directors have not managed to do previously. Believable grief, action work as strong as ever, it is however with his ability to imbue a tortured film noir protagonist where Cruise excels the most.

Alongside Cruise and operating with great impact, are Samantha Morton as Pre-Cog Agatha, and Max Von Sydow, who adds that touch of experienced know how needed for his particularly important character. the odd casting choice appeared to be Colin Farrell as the meddling, almost vindictive Danny Witwer, but he plays well off of Cruise, this even if he veers dangerously close to comic book villainy at times (check out a holy smoke Batman scene). What action there is is first rate, from a jet back pack pursuit, to car jumping heroics, the sequences are crafted with Spielberg's deft eye for an action sequence. While the sick sticks (yes you read right) metal spiders and a brilliant Peter Stormare cameo should hopefully have you squirming and grinning in equal measure.

Which brings us to the finale, an ending that may not be a complete surprise (yet it still doesn't cop-out in context to Anderton's tragedy), but things are rounded off in true classic noir tradition, closing down a thinking man's tech-noir. Superb. 9/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse