Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 November 2017
This is a quick and dirty review for the UHD (4K) release:

The picture is a little sharper than the existing BluRay although there is not a huge amount in it - particularly if you happen to have a decent UHD player with a good up-scaler. Where this latest release excels is with the depth of colour and the improved blacks and whites. The blacks look rich and dark without looking 'crushed', and the whites look brighter without looking blown out. All the colours look richer and more saturated. This is particularly noticeable in lighter scenes, but overall the blues look better (with far more distinction between the shades and hues); the same is also true with the reds, and the greens in of the grass and leaves on the trees really pop. All skin ones also look much more natural and realistic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 October 2016
Amazon's film description covers everything and more I can say about the plot. Really dig this release of the mid-90's blockbuster due to the inclusion of the directors or extended cut of the film, which helps give more of the characters background and rectifies a few plot holes and awkwardly cut scenes from the theatrical release.

Disc also contains a plethora of extras such as gag reels, behind the scenes and making of documentaries.

An easy five stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2016
Great remaster of the original ID4, looks like it was filmed yesterday, the bluray never looked better!
Crisp, great sound. What better way to watch my favourite cheesey alien invasion film from the 90's?

Oooh and just in the time for the sequel (which is the same cheese ball - yet enjoyabe all the same).

Definitely no brainer films that you are meant to suspend belief, and simply enjoy!
So go enjoy! Dont read this! ENJOY!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2017
Decided to buy this again now I have a 4K HDR TV. The film is what it is, a bit of fun. I wasn't impressed with the picture quality though. Inside scenes looks good in 4K, but it has horrible film grain added to pretty much all the outside scenes unfortunately. I think some film buffs prefer it, but it looks really jarring going from crystal clear 4K HDR to graino-vision.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2016
Bought at a low price and is in "as new" condition. It is the latest 2016 blu-ray version including the extended version (also the theatrical version) which was only avaliable on the special edition DVD of some years ago. The other older BD version with Will Smith and other cast members on the cover is not complete with the extended version so be careful before you buy. Look for this cover and you won't go wrong, or if you buy the BD steelbook version make sure it has the 20th anniversary edition printed on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2018
4* for the film, but this 4k transfer is very disappointing. Played on an Oppo UDP-205 to a Sony A1 OLED, the bit rate is barely an improvement over the standard blu ray edition and in parts the film suffers from significant amounts of grain. Not what you expect from a 4k disc and perhaps proof that companies are jumping on the bandwagon in releasing 4k discs of legacy films, without bothering to spend any money for a true visuals upgrade. More fool me for wasting my money on this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2014
Ronald Emmerich many not be known for making great movies on a regular basis, but Independence Day is definitely his stand out movie. This is the movie that made Will Smith a big movie star and while he may have fallen of the radar as of late, it allowed him to make other blockbuster hits like Men in Black. Jeff Goldblum and Bill Pullman also give great performances and while the special effects may be a little dated, this still stands out as one of the best disaster movies ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2015
Arrived in good time and excellently packaged (as always with Amazon), love Will Smith so loved this film, it has everything, humour, great effects, love interest and action scenes, this is a great film to watch with family or friends, would highly recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2016
Bought before watching the new film Independence Day Resurgence - or should that be Regurgitation? - this is an excellent HD remaster, and reminds me of just how much fun it was when it first screened at the cinema. By contrast the sequel is simply awful and utterly pointless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2016
I have not looked at the extensive extras, but I rarely do. Personally I just wanted the same extended version that I had on DVD.

The movie is as good as it ever was, and now finally released on blu ray with the extra scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse