Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 September 2016
Item arrived packaged, however U could see case was cracked, when plastic wrap was removed, crack was more obvious, when CD was opened it just fell apart, the CD playback itself was poor quality, only played it once, as wanted to expose my DD to this music as we are going to see the musical. Couldn't be bothered returning it!
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2008
Ok, so what's wrong with this release?
The sleeve notes are inaccurate, for example Charlie Hodge's presence is postulated as a possibility, however Elvis didn't meet Charlie until they were both in the army some time later.
The running order is wrong.
But what about the bonus CD?
This stuff is really cheaply available elsewhere, I recently bought a cd box set of sun release at a co op for £2.
What should I buy instead?
The Sony BMG Complete "Million Dollar Quartet" (with correct running order, excellent photos and sleeve notes and fantastic sound) for around the same price and a good Sun compilation.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2006
This album is absolutely great value for money, you get a 41 track CD of the session in '56 completely uncut, and then ANOTHER CD with a further 32 tracks of some of the 4 artist's best Sun Records.

This is especially a great buy for Elvis Presley fans as he is clearly the ring leader in the famous jam-session, as he sings in every song many of which he sings on his own as the other 3 play instrumental roles.

The first thing that hit me about the session CD of this great album was teh outstanding quality. Considering this was recorded on tape 50 years ago it sounds perfect, excusing the occassional quieting voice as the artists presumabley leave the mics pick-up range.

Despite some reports I can confirm that Johnny Cash does indeed sing and play during this recording - confirmed in his autobiography, and how quickly they each pick up each song is a tribute to their outstanding talent.

It's one of those albums that made me pick up my acoustic guitar to play along to because you really get into it. It's great value for money and absorbing to listen to them enjoying music. It's real music, and these men were the pioneers.

Highly reccommended.
44 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
The current West End top musical of the same name was inspired by this. Another title might have been The Secret Sun Session because as far as all participants are concerned it was a pure jam session. We have to thank the sound engineer who had the caution to slyly flip the Record button for this. Forget silly Dolly Mixture comment - this is the best value version with the bonus 1950s CD track of the four stars but sans the Xmas stuff, no loss I say.

It's so great to hear the pure sounds of these talents, including mistakes (catch new boy Jerry Lee gently correcting Elvis's lyrical error on track 5). Here Elvis comes across a real person as never elsewhere, laughing and joshing with the guys - yet always with the ingrained southern politeness, calling people Sir and his girlfriend Ma'am. Jerry Lee meets Elvis here - at the goodbye track you hear him say "Nice to meet you". Yet they harmonise like an established duo, a remarkable sign of both their greatness. Incidently, they both made a proper studio session with backing later on but I imagine that never officially saw light of day thanks to copyright barriers - and just imagine what Tom Parker would have done if he had known about this recording! I can't actually make out Johnny Cash's voice, I think he might have been a bit overawed by the talent around him.

Sound quality, now cleaned since it became legal, has made great improvement. Only Jerry Lee's vocal on Track 36 is off.

Altogether a CD no popular music fan should miss.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
having just come back from memphis where we went to the sun studios it is great to have both of these cds to listen to bringing back memories of the great music of that time, the cover showing that now famous picture of elvis,jerry,carl ,and jonny is brilliant as well as having a booklet inside telling you all about the session really good value.the class of 55 also has roy orbison
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Fantastick cd. At the same time 4 legendry music stars in the Famous Sun studios just jamming. Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis,Carl Perkins and Johnny Cash. Listen to them all live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
I saw the original poster in Sun Studios 14 years ago
and was so pleased to have the oportunity to buy this cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Brilliant CD which was bought as a present and well received by an avid Elvis and Rock and roll fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
EXCELLENT PRODUCT. SUPER FAST DELIVERY. RECOMMEND THIS SUPER SELLER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Excellent album for fans of Presley,Cash,Lewis and Perkins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Class Of '55
£4.97
The Essential Recordings
£6.70

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)