Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2010
The secret wireless war is two films about the secret war waged against Germany during World war two.
The first film is about the work of the amateur radio enthusiast who were asked to help in the fight against Germans spies and more, and ties into the work at Bletchley's Government code and cypher school along with some details about 'Station X'. It discusses some of the work done there, but it also covers the work done by agents in Europe.

The second film covers the work of the propaganda stations against Germany and the vital work done to demoralize the Third Reich's forces and civilian population. This was a real eye opener covering much information that has only become available recently.

Both of the films were entertaining and very informative. A very good source of history on the subject and well produced. I only wish there was a similar film covering the duties of the various 'Y' stations around the country to fill in the gaps. We now know much about Bletchley park, but not too much about the people who listened and fed the information to GCCS.

Recommended if you are at all interested in Military History and/or the history of Radio.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2008
Not much detail could be added to the comprehensive first review except to say that this is compulsive viewing for anyone interested in radio, espionage and WWII - especially for radio amateurs. Conducted in a sober, factual, non-sensational way, this documentary reminds you of what the BBC used to able to do before "dumbing down".
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2011
This excellent and informative film (in two parts)gives credit to those who labored in silence during and after the war to accomplish what some believed to be an impossible task. Much credit goes to the producers who have fashioned a story which all should know. It is especially interesting for radio enthusiasts and radio amateurs, many of whom will remember this era.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
This dvd is brilliant. Got it yesterday. Didn't get chance to look at it straight away so put it on this morning. Was trying to finish the last page of a magazine at the same time when I heard Arkley View off Barnet Rd. I grew up in Barnet and my attention was riveted. Magazine now ignored I restarted the dvd again. What a fascinating, informative and interesting true story covering the outskirts of London, in the Home Counties. Never read about it in Barnet's history. Never saw it in Barnet Library in Stapleton Rd either but I will be watching it again and again. Well done Debra and the Rixon family. 20/10 for content sorry but it knocks your Footloose vids, which I love, into the long grass. More of these please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
This DVD includes two films.
The first one shows how Ham Radio operators in the UK got involved in monitoring and reporting all the traffic they were able to intercept and the big intelligence machinery working behind the scenes who took all those reports, decoded them and extracted every useful piece of information.
Equipment used by the allied spies in occupied Europe is also shown briefly.

Second film is about the black propaganda campaign mounted in England that broadcasted to occupied Europe.

Both films are a must to see for any Ham Radio enthusiast who likes to work low power and who also likes history as the equipment shown here is now recognized as the very first QRP (low power) equipment ever made.

Last but not least... this is a tribute to all the radio operators, allied spies and also Ham Radio enthusiasts, who helped to win the war.
Their effort has now recently been recognized, publicly, as it was forbidden to even talk about it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
If you are interested in Bletchley Park and the British Secret Service, this is information here which isn't given elsewhere. There are interviews with the actual radio operators who listened to enemy broadcasts and quite a lot of interesting information about the ways the secret service used to influence the enemy into surrendering by feeding him false or misleading information. The interviewer Ms Debra Rixon speaks well the clearly throughout both films. A lot of the equipment used is shown The Dvd is divided into two documentaries, one entitled 'Beyond Bletchley Park', the other 'Black Propaganda'. Both documentaries are about one hour long. It would have been interesting to hear more of the actual propaganda broadcasts to the enemy. But only a few short examples are given.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
I bought this DVD many years ago but somehow managed to lose it. I am glad I have replaced it as I had forgotten how excellent it is. But of course all Debra & David's tours are excellent. My wife & I have been fans for years. Have all their DVD 's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
my father was in the raf reserve at later bit of ww2 we then lived at wendling in norfolk, a car used to come and pick him up some evenings a blue humber or a black austin 12 i think. and take him to wymondham in norfolk.he also had his own short wave radio set send and recive type.so your dvd on the wireless war was very interesting to me i now know probably what he got up to. yours john lovewell.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
i found the DVD every thing i expected it to be. it was knowledgeable
and filled in for me many questions that i have had over the years
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
Very good informative pair of films on one disc. Interviews with those who were took part in these very useful communications at the time of WWII were well done by a good-looking woman who was well informed and asked sensible questions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)