Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
107
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 August 2017
In this 2002 social drama, Slim (Jennifer Lopez) marries Mitch Hiller (Billy Campbell), and they have a child, Gracie (Tessa Allen) but his controlling behaviour goes unnoticed. Skip years later and Slim finds out Mitch has been cheating on her but he admits it and becomes violent, slapping and punching her in the face when she threatens to leave. So the question is, what will Slim do now?
This gets to the point within 15 minutes and what follows is a harrowing tale of a strong willed woman who wants out but is held in check by the menacing attitude of the husband. The strength of this is that the first third follows a plausible path but then stupidity apparently takes over [lose a *] and the ‘stupids’ pile up which does make things more interesting in ‘An Enemy of the State’ manner mixed with ‘Sleeping With the Enemy’. There are some nice twists in this –provided you haven’t read too many reviews [regain a *] and its nice to see the much under-rated Juliette Lewis in a support role.
The single disc immediately offers audio set-up [English, Russian, Hungarian], subtitles [English, English commentary 1&2, English captions, Russian, Czech, Arabic], scene selection, special features [2 commentaries, deleted scenes, Max on the set] and trailers [5 of]. Rated 15 this contains some minor cussing and plenty of threatening violence but no nudity or sex. I actually wanted to mark this down but found it doing its task –being entertaining and tense, although I personally didn’t support the dubious morally and legally flawed ending –sorry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
How this got a few bad reviews, I will never know. I don't often leave a review for most DVDs, But this one deserves some attention. 5 Stars al the way for this. Had me and my wife glued to the TV the whole time. If it's action, and suspense you are after, Then here it is. I wish al the DVDs I bought were as good as this one.
Go for it, You will not go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
This is such a good movie especially the unexpected ending. The way an abused wife solved her problem. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
thank you so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
This films good and shows how women can escape violent relationships
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Really good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2005
To be honest, i can't even remember why i bought this film but i'm definately glad i did! I'm generally a fan of Jennifer Lopez as she's put out some good music, however, before 'Enough' i hadn't bothered with her as an actress due to being under the impression that all her films were basic romantic comedies! BUT then i stumbled upon this!
Although at the very start of the film you may be drawn into thinking this is another slushy love story - it suddenly takes a simple, yet clever and dramatic change in direction when it moves into a story based around issues surrounding 'violence in the home' and 'child custody'!
The story begins when Slim, a single waitress (played by Lopez) falls for a seemingly perfect catch - the charming Mitch! They soon marry and all is well, until a few years after the birth of their daughter when Slim finds Mitch in bed with another woman! From that moment she discovers his dark and aggressive side which he begins to use on her! Slim decides to run to escape her terrifying situation so takes her daughter and goes to find her long-lost father! With his support she finds a martial arts expert from whom she learns how to fight and defend herself! By changing her name and appearance she finds herself constantly on the run from Mitch, until she decides its time for her to fight back!
This is a great film and i would recommend people forget what you would expect a Jennifer Lopez film to be like (if you would be expecting it to be a bore) and go and find this as its a fast-moving and interesting movie!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
When you think Jennifer Lopez, you think cheesy rom-com films such as 'The Wedding Planner' and 'Maid in Manhattan'. Suprisingly enough this film is not only fantastic but it very inspirational!
The film follows Slim (j.lo) a waitress, who serves a man trying to bed her for a bet and ends up marrying the man who interfers and tells her about the bet. Everything is picture perfect - she get married, has a kid and live in a huge house.
But the fantasy starts to go wrong....
She discovers that Mitch (her husband)is cheating on her, you all think 'why the hell would you stay with him?'
however when she confronts him about it he is physically violent with her and beats her up, threatening her if she leaves him or tries to take his daughter away.
Juilette lewis co-stars as slim's friend who, one night, helps her to escape
Slim lives her life on the run with a false identity, trying to keep her and her daughter safe, however no restraining orders will stop her violent husband, and with a friend in the police he tracks her down. Again on the run she realises that you can run but you can't hide and no restraining orders will stop her violent husband, therefore she must fightback....
This film is very inspirational with a strong message;
"you have a divine animal right to protect the lives of yourself and your offspring"
If you like thrillers or films with a really good plot this is the film for you but also...
!!!!! IF YOU ARE A WOMAN - WATCH THIS FILM !!!!!!!
It empowers women, and shows women fighting back against rat-bag men, it inspires women to stand up for themselves and what to do when we come across (which we all will once in our lives) either a cheater or a violent man.
Over all a very powerful film with a great story, J.lo is perfect for the lead and it will grab your emotions to the highs and the lows!!!!
buy it!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2003
I was given this DVD to watch and being a fan of jennifer lopez i thought id give it a watch. I was gripped for the next 90 minutes. It is a story of a young woman named Slim who meets a charming guy and marries him and has his child. He then turns abusive. Slim takes it into her hands to protect herself and her daughter only to begin a life on the run. When she decides she's had "enough" she takes it into her own hands. Jennifer lopez is brilliant in this film and looks stunning. A great film whether you are a j.lo fan or not.I'd recommend it to anyone. Excellent.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)