Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
113
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

We just watched this 37-year-old film again last night and I can't believe how funny it still is. In fact, knowing it by heart means that we start laughing BEFORE each of the best scenes!

Peter Sellers was a comic genius and this is timeless classic comedy. Of course, some of the gags are a little transparent but there is so much humour that even the lame jokes are forgiveable. Personally, I find the Cato attack sequences a little overdone, but then comes a gem like the bank robbery skit, or the telephone repairman scene, or the vacuum cleaner débâcle and the feud with the parrot (swine bird!) or the suave antics of Guy Gadois which render his co-star Catherine Schell incapable of getting through a scene without dissolving into giggling fits.

The early scene of the stealing of the Pink Panther is extremely well filmed and was, at the time, quite inventive and Bond-like in its stark night-time setting. Christopher Plummer is less wooden than usual as Lord Litton and copes convincingly with all the physical action, but the cloak-and-dagger sub-plot is clearly just an excuse for Sellers to let loose the force of nature that is Inspector Clouseau while abusing the French language. The supporting cast do a fine job, but inevitably Sellers steals every scene he's in.

I'm not sure what other people are watching but my 2006 DVD has very reasonable picture quality for an older movie (albeit in 4:3 format) and there are six (fully dubbed) language options and subtitles in fourteen languages. So, surrender to the silliness and have a good clean laugh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
For my money the best of the PInk Panther films with the still very funny bank robbery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Good condition. I enjoyed the film. Funny. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Is one of my favorite pink panthers and also a shot in the dark. Bit dated but well worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Brilliant thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Great Movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Excellent product and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2007
I haven't, in truth, watched this film for years, but I remember it as being one of the funniest in the Pink Panther series (A Shot In The Dark being, overall, the best film per se.)

I thought it might be useful to say to Sellers collectors that this film is not included in the Pink Panther box set in the UK. I think this is because the home video distribution rights were sold to another company, away from UA. So, if you want the complete Pink Panther, you need to get this disc as well.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I continue to watch this film from time to time having seen it probably more times than I care to remember. The series overall was somewhat mixed (esp with the later attempts) and many felt the first whilst good spent too much time on David Niven, and not enough on the bumbling Inspector Jacques Clouseau. Subsequent films corrected this, but there was quite a gap between this and the previous instalment, but it was a welcome return for Sellers in this iconic role.

The story continues with the notorious master thief Sir Charles Lytton (Christopher Plummer) suspected of stealing the Pink Panther diamond from under the noses of security guards in a museum in Lugash. The opening scene is very well done with the robbery being shown in typical Blake Edwards style, then it's onto the main event Clouseau and here we see Sellers pack in a fine set of gags with some very memorable scenes.

All the usual supporting cast members are here Herbert Lom as Chief Inspector Dreyfus, Seller's long time friend Graham Stark as Pepi, and of course Burt Kwouk as Cato. In addition Catherine Schell plays Lady Claudine Lytton and though in some scenes she has difficulty keeping a straight face, she fits the part pretty well as the wife of Charles.
Gags wise everything you expect from a Peter Sellers Clouseau film is here, and whilst some might feel comedy has moved on a bit, you can't help but smile and laugh at the simple yet undeniably clean fun you get presented with. The screenplay isn't just a side show to the comedy events (an area previous films left some viewers wanting), it ticks along quite nicely and the plot is actually pretty good as the series gets a decent storyline to go with the gags.

Some memorable scenes including the well known door bell, Clouseau and Kato with their over the top fighting scenes, the blind bank robber many classic moments of screen comedy in just this one picture. It could be argued by some that the series became a bit over the top slap stick wise and less subtle, but for many they will feel this is one of the best in the series in terms of laughs.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)