Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2006
I originally had this as an LP back in 1983.
It was at the time the only album to feature the studio recordings of Strange Town, When you are young, All around the World, Bitterest Pill, News of the World, Beat Surrender, Funeral Pyre, Absolute Beginners and that all time classic Going Underground.
There have been since several 'Hits' and 'best of packages'even an edited version of SNAP! just including the singles, but this is the one to have.
The Jam were a great singles band, but hidden on LP's were some terrific tracks, Thick as Thieves, Man in the Corner Shop.
But some wonderful B sides Butterfly Collector, Smithers-Jones and the classic B side that should have been an A side Tales From the Riverbank.
If you only ever own one Jam album, make it this one.
All the essential stuff is here for under a Tenner.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Snap is perfect for a new generation to get into one of the greatest bands in history. From the coolest of covers to the well considered track listing, this was always one of the best 'greatest hits' (and beyond) albums. Cited as a major influence by Noel Gallagher no less.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2010
I bought this on cassette when it first came out. As a Jam fan the 2 CD is the best collection of Jam Material available.Paul Weller went on to have success with The Style Council and as a solo artist. However in my opinion The Jam was Weller at his best. All the 21 singles are here from "In the City" to "Beat Surrender". As well as the singles there are some really great "B" sides. How they never made it as singles heaven knows. Particular favourites of mine include, "Away from the Numbers" "Billy Hunt" and "Thick as Thieves"
Not a duff track on this C.D. If you want the definitive collection of the Jams work then go with this 2 C.D. Set. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 May 2008
If you grew up in the 70s / 80s this should be an essential part of the soundtrack of your youth.

Starting from 'In the City' it is phenomenal to hear how clean the Jam sounded from the start, and how they quickly progressed to the many hits that were the mainstay of their career.

Pleasing also is that amongst the 29 tracks you also get such album classics as A Bomb and English Rose.

Overall this is a good alternative to buying the back catalogue if you want more than just the top 20 version of the band.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Originally bought the classic album collection (All six albums box set). Only to discover that some of The Jam's best singles were never album tracks. Such as 'Strange Town' - 'Beat Surrender' and the brilliant 'Going Underground.'

So bought - Snap, and now my collection is complete.

If your a Jam fan of old looking for a blast down memory lane, then buy this, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
There was an article in the NME in 1977, entitled "All Change, and back to 1964" This excellent piece introduced The Jam to people like me, who had really only heard them through John Peel, the "live at the Vortex" compilation and In The City. With sharp suits, just-so hair, skinny ties and Rickenbacker guitars, they unashamedly wore their 60s influences- The Kinks, and The Who, mainly- on their immaculately tailored sleeves. Paul was eminently quoteable, this is where the "I might just vote Conservative" riff came from, and the whole article painted a picture of a band who knew where they were going, and weren't gonna hang about getting there.I was sold and eagerly sought them out.The sixties sensibility infused with punk aggression and teen frustration, and with more than a modicum of F.U attitude and ego,gave birth to a band we would cherish, and we watched as they grew to be the biggest band in the UK.

Right from the beginning they had the attitude of doing it their way. Check out the lyrics to second single "All Around the World" "Modern World" had Weller snarling and spitting with rage about journalists teachers and everyone he perceived as having put him down. 3 Singles in, and it was already clear. The Jam were a truly great band, and Weller a genuine phenomenon. His songwriting, and musicianship was exceptional.His delivery just spot on. The Jam started to be recognised as the true heirs to the English pop throne, and the glut of quality singles just kept spilling out. "When Youre Young" "Strange Town" "Tube station", every one a masterpiece of description wrapped in explosive white boy pop guitar."Eton Rifles," "A Bomb," even the homage to the Kinks "David Watts", a steady stream of unforgettable, irresistable pop nuggets. "Underground," straight in at number one, cemented their reputation as THE band of the moment.

Then, something happened. Keyboards to be precise. Paul was moving on. The next few singles weren't too immediate, like Absolute beginners, and Malice, and Funeral Pyre, some even had brass bits. Weller had grew tired with the three chords and the truth format, and broke out."Bitterest Pill", "That's entertainment"the wonderful "5 o clock hero" and the sign off of "Beat Surrender" proved beyond any doubt that Paul had set his sights on other things, but also that he was a truly brilliant observer of life with a sensational talent for articulating his view on it.

Paul is a true gem, an English songwriter that we should truly celebrate. I haven't mentioned Rick or Bruce, the glue that held them together. Understandable maybe, but wrong. I apologise. I haven't quoted any lyrics here, there are so many great ones. As a way of sampling the best English White Boy Guitar Pop there is, this is unbeatable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the definitive Paul Weller product for me. The Jam were one of the finest bands ever and this just shows their worth perfectly.

In The City? Tubestation? Wardour Street? Nah, the finest moments on here are The Butterfly Collector and The Dreams of Children. Beautiful, Paul, beautiful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
This really is the best of the Jam and that is VERY good indeed. Everything there and everything excellent. What more could you want?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2006
Having bought the Double LP, then the cassette, which was much easier to listen to, no turning and swapping records over!!! Then came the CD, but had 8 Tracks ommitted, big disappointment, cos i loved all of those Songs. Finally, the Full Album on 2CDs, way too long a wait, for it to be released, but at least, it has been. I have waited along time, like other Fans for this to be Released, Well Done Polydor, but you could of released it alot of Years, earlier. Brilliant Album and alot of listening for me to get through, several times. It's BRILLIANT.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
I've been reading Polydor record industry executive Dennis Munday's account of his time working for The Jam and Paul Weller - Shout To The Top. I can't say that I particularly enjoyed reading this sloppily-edited, if well-intentioned book. However, I did find the title of chapter 8 particularly interesting - it is light-heartedly entitled: 'The Last Jam Compilation Until The Next One!' The author opens it by acknowledging that, "Many fans have griped about the compilations released since the demise of The Jam." He offers a pragmatic explanation for the way their back catalogue has been used as a cash-cow:

"Since the early seventies Polydor have released around a dozen Best Of/Greatest Hits compilation by The Who and it's now industry practice to release a hits compilation of their best selling artists every two years. As long as Paul is still at the top and whether we like it or not, the same will happen to The Jam and The Style Council, this is the nature of the modern record business - it is just a big money-go-round."

I suspect there would be a lot less griping amongst Jam fans if they were all just as professional as this chronological double-album from 1983.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)