Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
413
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2008
This looks an awesome game, and i was annoyed i hadnt pre-ordered earlier, however GAME online are in stock, but the catch is you have to buy it in a bundle with either: - Sixaxis or 360 controller, or Kane and Lynch, or Devil May Cry 4. But hey, if your needing a new game or controller its great, £59.99 i believe which if you need/want the other stuff its £20.00 saving. Cant wait!!!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2008
For those of you who have played any of the previous GTA games, this is an obvious must have, in fact you've probably already bought it.

For those who have never played any of the series this would make a great entry point. Fantastic graphics and open ended gameplay, so many things to see and do while remaining very user friendly walking you through old and new features. Make no mistakes, it is a violent game, and you do play a bad (good) guy, but it's not the all out mind corrupting that some make it out to be.

It's a smart, clever and stylish game with a plot that Hollywood would be happy to use. It's difficult to explain how much there is to this game and how much is available to you as the player but I would really reccomend it as one of, if not the, best in the series so far.

Great, great game. A must have for any PS3 owner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
I am a 30+ year veteran in computer and video + arcade games. Trust me when I say I KNOW what makes a good game and a bad game.
I used to think GTA San Andreas was the peak of gaming - the ultimate in story telling, gameplay variation, downright enjoyability, activities galore, a sprawling tri-metropolis, albeit lacking in the visuals. GTA:SA had a lot of enjoyable games genres (if not all?) built into one title, stuck together with a great gangster movie style delivery.
Well now GTA 4 comes along and knocks San Andreas off its perch. It has everything SA does (although maybe not as many overall activities, including those of the 'LC stories' and 'VC stories' spinoffs) but puts everything together in a more seamless way than SA did for some reason.
Plus, the one area the GTA titles have been lacking in has been mostly addressed. The visuals. Looking across the new Liberty City skyline is one of the most stunning things I've witnessed in a game. RS have gone to the effort of making the city more visible over a distance. Take the helicopter rides and just fly around - you'll love it!
I say mostly, because it doesnt hit the pinnacle of sheer visual quality, that honour goes to, maybe, Crysis on the PC. Also the frame rate can drop dramatically. But lets not lose perspective - the game is rendering a complete city - we can afford Rockstar some leeway!
Also some visual aspects dont look totally 'next-gen', but expected from a title of this magnitude. For instance, the mocap character animations sometimes look a bit odd, but they have gone all out to represent voice lipsync and general facial animation well, for a new level of character believability. Again applauded because aside from these aspects the game is simply VAST in every respect.
Liberty City is more representative of a real city, more main streets, much more back alleyways, more residential roads, more industrial areas, this makes the city infinitely more believable than any previous GTA title. This title provides an even more sprawling metropolis split over several islands. It includes, as far as I can work out, every aspect of a real city, including the rubbish (garbage) trucks.
All the different ways of getting around the new LC show how much RS have thought about keeping the player interested, the subway system alone is well defined for any game, and they've even thrown in a skycar!
Ladies and Gentleman, I dont at all think I'm being overzealous by stating that, this is, without a shadow of a doubt, the 'best video game' ever created. On any system.
Dont believe me? Look at ALL the aspects of the title - game environment, storyline+movielike delivery, wide variety of well defined gameplay activities (including using a mobile phone, computer, police computer, TV, radio etc!), all the rest - compare them in a totally unbiased way with ANY other title on ANY other system. GTA 4 wins on every count - its quite simple.
This title will go down in history as being at the top - I am sure its sales will reflect that too.
If you were to split the whole concept in twain, you would have its overall technical achievement - which is phenomenal, I dread to think the amount of effort gone into the production - and you would have its emotional and enjoyment aspects - also phenomenal.
This title clearly betters that of anything out of the 20th century, and that of the 21st so far. Lets see what else Rockstar have to bring in the 21st? I for one would love to see a similar make over done on Vice City!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Grandsons ate well happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Good item fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2009
When I first played this game I was a little bit iffy about it as I was playing saints row 2 and loving it. But when I started to play it, it was brilliant! The Protagonist is called Niko Bellic, an eastern european immigrant persuaded to go to liberty city by his gambling addicted cousin, Roman. The storyline and graphics and gameplay and the characters are all great. I especially like the choice that in missions you can either kill that person or let them live, or choose who to kill between two people. You can also watch tv, take girlfriends on dates take friends out and go on the in game internet.

Storyline - 10/10

Graphics - 9/10

Gameplay - 9/10

Characters - 10/10 (This guy called Brucie is crazy!)

Overall this is a fantastic game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
GREAT GAME GREAT PRICE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
A present, well liked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2009
Endless, endless, endless hours of fun on this game! GTA has come along way since I played it for the first time on PC, GOURANGA! There are a few things that could be improved upon, like being able to import your own music, even though the selection on gta is quite good, I would love to be able to listen to my own music whilst playing. You can't go in to that many buildings which is very taunting, it's like serving plastic chocolate to a chocoholic, so tantalising! There's the game ghost, where you can walk in to walls but it's improved upon. They also left out a lot of gold from San Andreas which does suck, but hey ho. I would recommend getting cheats for the game to enable you more freedom to roam the map.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
Have had this game on both PC and PS3 now and I can say straight away that its much much better on PC than on PS3.
The Graphics are blury and the game has a very low fps at certain points(ie when there are numerous explosions or a number of police cars chasing you)
The PC however has much better graphics with the option of definition which take the blur away. The PC version also lets you adjust the LOD and actualy view distance itself to way more than the PS3 can handle.

Really would recommend this game to anyone, but would tend to say to get it on PC rather than on console.
Even my mid-range laptop can run the game better than the PS3, but on saying that the multiplayer on the PS3 is a lot better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)