Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2011
I love the songs, i love the art work, even the smell of the paper they used!!:)

When the cd starts playing I press the replay button, you can hear the whole album 2 or 3 times and won't get bored. This means two things, that the tracks are well chosen and placed in the right order in the album and that they have a very similar and connecting sound (someone could say that they didn't really experiment on this album). Well, that is probably true, you won't find a hard rock track next to a ballad (like in MUSE) but the band clearly loves alternative music and they make the audience love it too. I would put Funeral in my 100 best alternative songs of all time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
After listening to their second album until i'd pretty much worn out the disk, i was really looking foward to experiencing their first album, especially since all the other reviews on here claim that its the best thing Band of Horses have ever done.
Alas, I'm really sorry but i found it a very disappointing album. Possibly because my expectations were so high. But everything that i liked about 'Cease to Begin' seems to be missing here. Few of the tracks stand out as interesting or distinctive. Ive listened to the album maybe 10 times in the last week and no track grabs me or remains memorable. Ben Bridwell's voice verges on annoying, especially on tracks like The Wedding, where the repetitions seem to go nowhere.
Overall, the album lacks the overwhelming intensity of sound that i love on Cease to Begin.

Guess i'm going to be the only one to rate 'Everything all the time' with 3 stars!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2006
All the reviews here give a good synopsis of what this album is about. The vocals and melodies are top notch. Fans of My Morning Jacket, Grandaddy etc will love this. I bought the album on the strength of the song 'Funeral' which was on an Uncut free CD. Great variety of songs too. From the epic soaring Funeral, Great Salk Lake to the beautiful album closer, St Augustine. Its almost perfect.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2006
There's a wistful melancholic air to much of the album characterised by some downbeat lyrics and angst ridden vocals, and yet the songs are sung with such verve, that despite the nature of the lyics, they end up sounding almost triumphant. This combined with soaring guitars, and an alt country edge, makes this my album of the year so far. Favs are Monsters, and the jaunty Weed Party. Can't wait for the tour!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2006
This was a present given to me by someone very special, i'm so glad they saw fit to buy me this wonderful Cd, it is very special.

When you see the Subpop label you straight away think lots of different things, will it be loud in your face, or will it truely be alternative to the extent of you wishing it could fly out of your Cd player faster than you put it in.

From the first to the last track i was taken on a wonderful journey, i doubt i was ready for what i heard from Guitarist/vocalist Ben Bridwell and guitarist Mat Brooke. As with most groups around they have risen like the phoenix when they formed Band of Horses in 2004, after the break up (or was it a well timed exit for something not quit happening?)of Carissas Wierd. Carissas Wierd like lots of other groups around produced sad but beautiful pop music (think Dakota Suite and others), their songs told stories of heartbreak and loss.

The music on this wonderful Cd oooozes dreamy songs filled with tension and hope, is there a better world out there? This isnt just another pop record, this is the start of something very big. I doubt that you will see them on the TV trying to sell you this Cd, it's going to be one of those that you get to hear about from friends or hear someone playing and ask "who's that", well just remember one thing, you hear about here.

Stand out tracks for me just have to be 1 - 10 .... isnt that just what a Cd is surpose to give you? There are of course stand out tracks like "track 4 - The Funeral", "track 6 - The Great Salt Lake" and the very last track "St. Augustine"

Everything All the Time is an album that you really can't miss out on, so do yourself a favour AND BUY IT.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2009
I heard ' The Funeral' by chance on a youtube clip and then started to listen to some more tracks by Band of Horses and couldn't believe it when almost every song was of the same quality.
I took a chance and bought the 2 cd's they have put out and i can't recommend them highly enough- they are sublime musical masterpieces.The songs are fantastic and have a hauntingly sad quality to the slower number while the uptempo songs are just as brillaint.
If you love quality music take a chance on this cd- my personal choices of great songs of this are the Great Salt Lake,I Go To The Barn.... and the superb St. Augustine.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
watch and be amazed\

[...]

Danny MacAskill

genius

the music works brilliantly

best thing i ever saw on youtube by a distance

Al Doomn
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
great band, great album, sound brilliant, made for vinyl. no skipping songs,just listen all the way through no bad songs
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
very good cd well worth taking a punt on quality tunes performed to a high standard and would make me interested in finding others by this band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
The best album I have heard by the band yet,guitar riffs are great and songs are well constructed with great harmonies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£4.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)